We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Can we please sit inside next time?”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Maiya's - CLOSED

Maiya's
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: American, Italian, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Oak Street
Garland, Texas
Level Contributor
29 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Can we please sit inside next time?”
Reviewed March 19, 2012

Stopped in at Maiya's on a whim on an early Thursday evening in Marfa. We were asked if we had reservations and when we said no, we were given the option of dining at one lone table on the sidewalk out front. Fortunately it was pleasant out, and there was no breeze, and we were hungry. Ordered a glass of red wine but it immediately began attracting gnats, so many that we were swatting at them. Finally sent the wine back, to the dismay of the gnats.

Despite the rocky start (especially in light of the fact that there were so many empty tables inside), our food was fantastic. The server brought wonderful rustic bread to the table and we shared a caprese salad with capers. My entree was penne pesto and my husband had lasagna Florentine. We ate till the world looked level--both dishes were absolutely delicious. Wish Maiya's wasn't such a long way from Dallas. Maybe next time we'll get to sit inside.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dalpop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

109 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    42
    22
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Arizona
Level Contributor
43 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Very good but unexceptional”
Reviewed March 18, 2012

Like most of Marfa, pretentious in a spare & lonely sort of way and would not be outstanding in an urban area. Very noisy. As all tables were booked, an apparently common occurence, we ate at the bar. Very difficult to get the bartender to warm up and $9 for a gin & tonic. A local was charged $4 for a drink. Ok, nice to give locals a discount. Menu is mainly pasta dishes. My penne pasta was much too al dente but the pesto sauce was quite good. Nice bread served with a frozen pat of butter still in its foil wrap - just not classy and not helpful for butter to be frozen and non-spreadable. Was it a $20 entree? Sure wouldn't have been anywhere there is competition. I'm told rents are very high in Marfa so that may also be a factor. Yes, I recommend this restaurant, partially because there aren't many other choices, partially because it is a nice enough place.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank BlindDogAZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“More good food in Marfa”
Reviewed March 16, 2012

My final meal in Marfa and the place I'd thought looked scruffy when shut was awesome when open! Full of the artsy and posh (and moneyed) of Marfa but just really good Italian food.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank chloerfowler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“breath of fresh air”
Reviewed March 13, 2012

Great food, service and wonderful ambience. Our waiter was extremely pleasant and helpful. The food was delicious and perfectly cooked. The ambience was "urban-chic", a great, unexpected surprise in Marfa. Will definitely go back.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank cgvdmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
1 review
“I wish Marfa wasn't so far from Austin”
Reviewed February 28, 2012

I was visiting Marfa with my girlfriend and we wanted a nice romantic evening. Maiya's was the perfect place. The food was out of this world. The caprese salad we had was amazing. All of the ingredients were super fresh and we could not ask for a better meal. The staff was friendly and very on top of it. Definitely going back on our next trip out to West Texas.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
Thank Alec H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maiya's also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing