We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cool place to stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of El Cosmico

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Marfa
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
El Cosmico
Level Contributor
40 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Cool place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013 via mobile

This was a great place. The staff was super friendly and have us many recommendations of what to do and where to eat. We stayed in a safari rent one night. That night it rained very hard and we did not have one drop of rain inside. The bed and pillows were very comfy. The restrooms and showers are outside which I thought was very cool. Also the night we were here there was live music and it was so nice and relaxing. Live music and beer, nothing better. I'd definitely stay here again we really enjoyed it.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chelseanrtx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    50
    28
    16
    4
See reviews for
25
75
19
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

For three nights I stayed at the El Cosmico campground in Marfa, TX. It is a quite, easy-going campground close to Marfa's nr 1 attraction, the Chinati foundation (and to Marfa Burritos!). You can choose between bring-your-own-tent-camping, scout tents, Tipis or wonderful Trailers. I picked the "Little Pinky", perfect choice for one Person, great for a couple (if they like eachother a lot!). Small kitchen, Espresso maker, fridge, tuner, candles and a van. No A/C, but since it gets colder during the nights that was ok. Shower and toilet right next to the trailer, but that was okay for me, everything very clean and simple.
So, if you decide to come all the way to this wonderful city and you like it a bit different (you can ALWAYS stay in a Hotel/Motel) - go for it! Buy some food and beer, listen to Marfa public Radio (93.5) and just watch the stars in the sky.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2013

I pitched my tent here for 3 days. The campground isn't very atmospheric, but I liked the price. They need more trees! There are only two showers and toilets which are combined, so if there is a lot of campers, it can be a bit of a wait. I used this as a base camp for exploring the Davis mountains, Big Bend and the surrounding area. Didn't have the camping camaraderie at night that I was hoping for--perhaps this happens more in the high season. Nights were nice and cool for sleeping--even in Texas in July!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank booniepepper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013

i'm so glad that i got to experience El Cosmico and Marfa, TX. i was able to sleep in both the safari tent and the teepee. i'll have to return for the restored RV experience. liz lambert did an excellent job!

- well-kept, clean campground
- great service/management
- outdoor bathrooms/showers
- excellent bedding provided- i was cozy and warm at night.

i have no complaints for this place.

Marfa is a small, sleepy town with so much charm and beauty. (but i recommend going from Thur/Fri and on and to check business hours)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chupaann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013

We camped here on a trip to West Texas - my friend's first night in a tent! - and it was a fantastic experience. The outdoor showers and claw-foot bathtub are awesome. I met some pretty interesting folks while brushing my teeth at the outdoor sink! Coffee on the patio in the morning was excellent, a cold beer during the late afternoon was even better. The staff was friendly, chatty, and helpful.
I've heard some folks dismiss El Cosmico as a haven for hipsters - don't let it's rep deter you from visiting. It's a great place, and I'd recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank xiola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2013

Made it into the Best Hotels of the WORLD Book! A hoot to camp there. We had a tent. But there are vintage trailers, tents on platforms, teepees you can "camp" in. Inside and outside toilets. Outdoor showers, outdoor sink with big mirror. Enough about facilities--the people are also really nice. They sell ice and gifts and some snacks. Marfa is a neat place--hipsters stay at El Cosmico. Stuffier people seem to stay at El paisano hotel in town. El Cosmico can't be beat. Check it out at http://elcosmico.com/

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
Helpful?
3 Thank Claudia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, TX
Level Contributor
41 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2013

I booked El Royal trailer at El Cosmico and absolutely loved it! It was spacious, comfortable, and fun to be in. The queen sized bed had very comfortable pillows and a soft down cover. The toilet was tiny but clean and efficient. The kitchen had a full-sized electric stove, enough counterspace to work on, and a tiny refrigerator. The kitchen supplies were a little limited (one single pan and one pot, no cutting board or knives, no serving platters or utensils) but covered the basics. Be sure to bring EVERYTHING you are going to eat and drink, including salt, pepper, and sugar. Providing coffee and a stove top peculator was an unexpected delight. The dining and sitting areas were spacious. The private deck outside the door was perfect for our morning meal. Although we didn't use our private outdoor shower, it looked inviting. The wagon they provided to haul our things to the trailer was a big convenience. I loved the time I spent in this trailer with my travel companion and our big chocolate Lab.

Room Tip: El Royal is worth the little extra price
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank serrita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marfa
0.5 mi away
Hotel Saint George
Hotel Saint George
#1 of 4 in Marfa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
21.7 mi away
Holland Hotel
Holland Hotel
#2 of 13 in Alpine
4.5 of 5 bubbles 429 reviews
22.5 mi away
The Maverick Inn
The Maverick Inn
#3 of 13 in Alpine
4.5 of 5 bubbles 362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.3 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#6 of 13 in Alpine
4.0 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
19.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Alpine
Hampton Inn Alpine
#1 of 13 in Alpine
4.5 of 5 bubbles 509 reviews
23.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Alpine Southeast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Cosmico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Cosmico

Property: El Cosmico
Address: 802 S. Highland Ave., Marfa, TX 79843
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Marfa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Marfa
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
El Cosmico is an 21 acre nomadic hotel and campground in Marfa, Texas. In keeping with the belief that life should be a balance of adventure and do-nothingness we offer shelter, occasional entertainment, opportunity for learning/doing/making, and access to the majesty of the high plains desert. From its wide open spaces to the vast canopy of stars above, El Cosmico provides temporary liberation from the built world. It is second home to intrepid travelers and wanderers from all corners of the planet. Accommodations at El Cosmico include renovated vintage trailers, safari and scout tents, Sioux-style tepees, a Mongolian yurt, and tent campsites. The property also offers several communal spaces for guests - a hammock grove, an outdoor kitchen and dining area, a community lounge and mercantile, an outdoor stage, a reading room. We rent wood-fired hot tubs as the burn ban allows, and bikes for exploring Marfa. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
El Cosmico Marfa, Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing