We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“brrrrr”
Review of El Cosmico

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
El Cosmico
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 31, 2013

If you are a college student, cold weather camper or a polar bear, this is the place for you.
While the funky vibe is here, sleeping in 30 degrees is not much fun for a geezer like me.
The heater is not efficient. This place must be a blast when the weather is nice, but in sub-freezing nights, stay somewhere else in Marfa for much less.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Gary E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (192)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

162 - 168 of 192 reviews

Reviewed January 13, 2013

If you're visiting Marfa you probably don't expect the usual and El Cosmico is unique.
We stayed in one of the trailers, Cozy Coach, in early January, 2012. We arrived just before dark and carted our belongings from the car to the trailer, a distance of 50 yards or so through slush and mud (6" snow had fallen the day before), no big deal unless you expected a porter to take them to your room. The trailer is nicely refurbished, but it is a trailer, and cozy indeed. There were two portable heaters running, as it was about 30 degrees outside and dropping, one of them under the sink where the water supply was and the other in the bed area, but it was still cold inside. We kept our jackets on as we got settled in, no big deal, unless you're expecting the Cozy Coach to be truly cozy.
The outdoor shower was of no interest to us given the temperatures, so we went 'scuzzy' for a couple of days. There was no hot water inside the trailer for the first 24 hrs of our stay as the pipe must have been frozen. No big deal, unless you like to wash up with warm water.
Our bed was comfortable, with plenty of soft down and wool to cover up in. Especially good if you like to snuggle with someone else.
Kind of pricey, too, for what you get. But that seemed to be true of Marfa, in general.
The main building is a nice refuge, with a sitting area, good internet, morning coffee, and space to socialize.
This must be a really cool place to stay when the weather is reasonable.
Despite it all we enjoyed our stay.
Really.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank JLK1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2013

Wonderful set up for camping and experiencing the sky in Marfa. The campground is set up so you never feel crowded or too close to other campers. They have hot showers which was a very pleasant surprise in late December/early January. And the main office/lounge area is welcoming and open...including strong WiFi. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SteveSgIn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2013

By the time I got around to booking, all the campers were full--so I stayed in one of the safari tents. It was clean, pretty, and special--if spartan, and (on that night) VERY cold. The beds have heated mattress pads, and that meant it was possible to survive the night, but... The glass of water set out by my bed turned into a slushy, and the lack of hot water in the out door (!) bathrooms was--in winter--a drag. I bet it's all fabulous in summer, and certainly the place itself was! There was an "end of the world" party the night I stayed, and the beer was cheap and the crowd was uber-cool. I went away with fond, and really unique, memories--and I'll be back (if there's a trailer free) (or it's warm). (The tent--I should note--was a good price...)

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SubjectTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2012

Well, I can't say it was too different than advertised in terms of the accommodation. We stayed in the Vagabond trailer. It was restored in the interior and pretty nice except for a ridiculously small bathroom. If you are a "large" person, forget it. And as my companion said "there is no way I'm even going to try to shower here". It got really cold that night (it was 16 degrees at 8am) and couldn't have been more than 40 in the trailer despite the heaters. The two things that put me off the most were (a) having to put all your stuff into a cart and haul it over to the trailer as you can't drive to it (I suspect it would kick up too much dust) and (b) the fact the area was completely featureless and just an open field next to the highway (noisy). I wouldn't go back, there are nicer places in the area. And, if you want to stay in a place in a nearby town, you can get there quickly as the roads are open, speed limits are high, and traffic is low.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank funlonghorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2012

Had the good fortune of spending a few nights in one of their re-furbished campers, a first for me. The set up couldnt have been better. Inside toilet, outside shower (pretty much attached to our unit) and wifi at their office. El Cosmico is a "go with the flow" type of place and we found it a fitting place during our stay in Marfa. For those who like to camp, they have tents and tee-pees and sites for your own tent. Loved it.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ohayomountain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2012

We had heard about Marfa and thought glamping seemed a fun way to experience it. It was. We arrived on Wednesday afternoon after a 3 hour drive from Midland/ Odessa. We stayed in the 1953 Vagabond and were not disappointed. There was a serious rain storm Thursday night and our trailer didn't budge. Very glad I was not in tent. We purchased food at a local market and cooked a couple of dinners and breakfasts. Some cooking utensils, but not many so verify what you need before shopping, i.e. no can opener. Our bathroom was adequate and the outdoor shower fantastic! Our activities included reading, cooking, and more reading. A stroll into town and the DQ for excitement!

Our reservation was screwed up for our third night. The staff was quite apologetic and El Cosmico booked and put us up at The Thunderbird. Although an error occurred, it was handled in the best possible way. El Cosmico is not a hotel and not for everyone. But we loved it, met some fun co-glampers, enjoyed the experience and wold definitely return.

Room Tip: Toilet inside and shower outside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Romcl2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marfa
0.5 mi away
Hotel Saint George
Hotel Saint George
#1 of 4 in Marfa
303 reviews
22.6 mi away
The Maverick Inn
The Maverick Inn
#3 of 13 in Alpine
423 reviews
19.6 mi away
Quarter Circle 7 Hotel
Quarter Circle 7 Hotel
#4 of 13 in Alpine
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.8 mi away
Holland Hotel
Holland Hotel
#2 of 13 in Alpine
520 reviews
23.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Alpine Southeast
19.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Alpine
Hampton Inn Alpine
#1 of 13 in Alpine
585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Cosmico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Cosmico

Address: 802 S. Highland Ave., Marfa, TX 79843
Location: United States > Texas > Marfa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Marfa
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
El Cosmico is an 21 acre nomadic hotel and campground in Marfa, Texas. In keeping with the belief that life should be a balance of adventure and do-nothingness we offer shelter, occasional entertainment, opportunity for learning/doing/making, and access to the majesty of the high plains desert. From its wide open spaces to the vast canopy of stars above, El Cosmico provides temporary liberation from the built world. It is second home to intrepid travelers and wanderers from all corners of the planet. Accommodations at El Cosmico include renovated vintage trailers, safari and scout tents, Sioux-style tepees, a Mongolian yurt, and tent campsites. The property also offers several communal spaces for guests - a hammock grove, an outdoor kitchen and dining area, a community lounge and mercantile, an outdoor stage, a reading room. We rent wood-fired hot tubs as the burn ban allows, and bikes for exploring Marfa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your El Cosmico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Cosmico Marfa, Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing