We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming small hotel”
Review of The Hotel Paisano

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Marfa
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Hotel Paisano
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Marfa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 25, 2008

The El Paisano is a charming small hotel in the middle of downtown Marfa, Texas. Keep in mind that Marfa has 2,000 or so residents! The hotel has a lovely courtyard with a fountain and tables outside to enjoy the nice weather. The desk was well manned with very helpful people. There is no elevator but there is help if needed with bags. Our room was very charming and quiet. It was very nicely appointed. The bathroom, however, was very small and not much room for toiletries. The lighting could have been a bit better--just more powerful light bulbs. There is wifi in the lobby which was nice. In the morning, there is coffee (but no decaf) in the lobby, and the fruit bowl is filled most of the time. We did not eat at the restaurant but it has received good reviews. A delightful place to rest your head.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mmissner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (490)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

462 - 468 of 490 reviews

Reviewed March 2, 2008

Pros:
Local, not a generic chain
Great price for a historic hotel ($99 night + $10 pet fee)
Takes dogs (no problem with our two big labs)
Newer mattresses, very comfortable
Great antique furnishings in the rooms
Beautiful lobby, loved the hotel shops, room dedicated to James Dean and era music
Fantastic looking bar and restaurant off the courtyard
Wine glasses and corkscrews in the room
Great water pressure and newer larger showerhead
Very non-smoking, $250 fine if smoking is suspected

Cons:
Stiff but 100% cotton sheets
TV was in front of the only mirror in the room other than in the bathroom (awkward getting ready if someone is watching tv)
No fan in the bathroom
No chain or bar locks on the door (only the key lock)
No breakfast onsite

Suggestions:
Ask for a courtyard or street view, we did a 'night of' reservation and they were very booked so we didn't mind, but our window overlooked the dumpster.

Restaurants Offsite;
(Breakfast only, we ate dinner at the Star Party at the Observatory)
Brown Recluse - Good menu, but was only serving coffee the day we were there.
Austin Street Cafe - A little pricey and euro-fare, but very kind and friendly staff

Overview:
We stayed in Marfa because all the places in Ft. Davis were booked and we were in the area to attend the Star Party at McDonald Observatory-highly recommended! After a BAD experience at The Gage in Marathon, TX we were leery of another historic hotel, but The Paisano turned out to be a fantastic experience.

The Paisano is a beautiful hotel . The courtyard is fantastic, reserve some time to enjoy coffee or a book near the fountain. There is a bookstore onsite in case you didn’t bring one. The other guest varied from dreadlocks, to senior citizens to ranchers, a very eclectic crowd.

I had never been to Marfa and was surprised by how “arty” the town was for West Texas, I really wish I had more time to spend in town to visit the galleries and shops. I will definitely go back and stay at the Paisano!

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Trvl_L0vr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2007

A four day trip to the Marfa Fort Davis area of Texas. Trying something a little different , we booked our stay here.
The small courtyards off our room was the highlight. Our room, was one of the smallest I can ever remember. Our girls got the big suite and it was very spacious. A tour of the halls gives you press clippings and memorabilia from the movie "Giant" that was filmed in this sleepy little town. And the cast stayed at this hotel.

For the most part the staff was helpful and polite. The rooms very dated but clean and tidy.

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank PermianPhoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2007

You can feel the history in this rennovated hotel from the 1930's.
I was there on a working trip but plan a return for a pleasure trip!
The staff was very friendly and helpful. Check in was easy and the lobby is so beautiful!
The hotel exudes a comfortable and romantic feeling. There was a beautiful sitting room with a cozy fireplace off the lobby.
In 1955 the movie Giant was filmed in Marfa. James Dean, Elizabeth Taylor and Rock Hudson made the hotel their headquarters.
My room was very comfortable and very beautiful. The bathroom was very tight but I survived it...for the sake of experiencing the beauty of the original architecture. The plumbing and tile in the bathroom seemed original. The bed was nice and comfy. I loved the pillow tops and covers that buried you up! So nice on a winter night. I shared a huge patio with another room. It was a bit chilly so there was no t much "sharing" going on. The patio looked onto the courtyard.
There was no phones in the room however they did provide a house phone down at the front desk which may come in handy because the cellular service is sketchy. They did have wireless internet.
There was a nice restaurant and bar in the hotel, (Jette's Grill)we had dinner there and the food was delicious but the service was not the best.
There was some high end shops and an art gallery inside the hotel. There is a small museum that related to the movie "Giant" and the stars that stayed there, off the lobby.
While I was there they were tearing out the original fountain in the center of the hotel's courtyard and replacing it. While I was there, during the afternoon, the jack hammers and Bobcat were loud but they cut the noise out by early evening. Otherwise it was amazingly quiet.
I was told in the warmer seasons the courtyard is very relaxing.
I had the opportunity to peek in at several of the rooms ...some had fireplaces outside on the patio, the suites were just fabulous, some complete with kitchens!
The place was just a treasure trove of Southwest artifacts and history!
I can't wait to get back!

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Susieq1047
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2007

As many of the previous reviewers have said, this is a beautiful old hotel with a lot of history. The courtyard and lobby areas are amazing, but the rooms themselves are a bit bland. Ours was small, but comfortable. There was a flat screen TV with satellite service, but it was very small, 13' at the most. The bath did have an updated shower with one of the great large waterfall type heads. Our room also had a small refrigerator. As noted below, there are no telephone in the rooms, but there is a courtesy phone downstairs at the front desk. The hotel should invest in new beds as the one in our room was squeaky and uncomfortable. The staff was not exceptionally friendly, but they were able to respond to our questions.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MrTed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2007

The Paisano is an architectural gem with a handsome lobby. We stayed in one of the suites with a kitchen and a balcony overlooking the beautiful courtyard. The kitchen came in handy for breakfast, but I would recommend eating dinner in the hotel's restaurant - Jett's Grill. The food was well prepared and creative.

  • Stayed: September 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank benbenton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2007

Nice clean and quiet hotel in the center of town. Not that the town is that big or has much action, mind you. Great place to relax for a few days. My room was a regular room, small but comfortable. I wasn't in the room much, but there was a radio tuned to the great local radio station. Polite and helpful staff. I had dinner at the restaurant one night, and it was quite good considering it's a hotel restaurant in a small town (but there actually were a few good restaurants to accommodate all the folks drawn to the town's art scene). Enjoyed my stay.

  • Stayed: September 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank esoesyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marfa
0.1 mi away
Hotel Saint George
Hotel Saint George
#1 of 4 in Marfa
261 reviews
22.5 mi away
The Maverick Inn
The Maverick Inn
#3 of 13 in Alpine
413 reviews
21.7 mi away
Holland Hotel
Holland Hotel
#1 of 13 in Alpine
497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.5 mi away
Quarter Circle 7 Hotel
Quarter Circle 7 Hotel
#5 of 13 in Alpine
64 reviews
23.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Alpine Southeast
19.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Alpine
Hampton Inn Alpine
#2 of 13 in Alpine
556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hotel Paisano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel Paisano

Address: 207 N. Highland Ave., Marfa, TX 79843
Location: United States > Texas > Marfa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Marfa
Price Range: $79 - $89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 40
Also Known As:
Paisano Hotel Marfa
Hotel Paisano
The Hotel Paisano Marfa, Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing