We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I should have known....”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel Marble Falls
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Marble Falls
Austin
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“I should have known....”
Reviewed September 9, 2013

I was panicked to get a reservation for an upcoming family wedding next month. I was too late to get the "special" wedding rate. The first two hotels I called were booked. I went online and got what I thought was a refundable rate from this location. Unfortunately, I didn't thoroughly read the cancellation policy, probably because the cheapest room said "non-refundable" and so I went to the next higher price, which said, "Must book at least 1 day in advance. A deposit of 1 night stay is due at the time of booking. Canceling your reservation ... will result in forfeiture of your deposit." I only needed the room for one-night so that my 88 year old mother in law (the eldest surving member in the family) could stay late and enjoy family(she only lives about 45 minutes away, but it is one of the unsafest -is that a word- roads in central texas to drive at night).

Within 24 hours I learned I needed to cancel the reservation and was surprised to find out that I would lose the entire payment over $200. Stupid, Stupid, Stupid. So, I thought I would call the hotel and see if they could cancel for me without charges. The front desk person told me this was impossible because it was billed on the "system." I asked for the customer service number and he gave me an email address. The response to my email was to wait 2-3 weeks to get a response. So, I found the 800 # and called. I was told that billing was up to the specific location and that I should call the hotel!!! UGH. I should have known!

I called back and spoke to the manager. Most hotel managers have the authority to handle something like this. My reservation wasn't even 24 hours old and it was still 4 weeks away. The best he could do was return all but $50 of my payment. So I am stuck with a $50 charge (as far as I know, it hasn't happened yet) for a room I will never use. I know this is the reason for "guaranteed" rates. This has only happened once to me before (about 4 years ago) and there was no problem cancelling my reservation without a charge.

I am most upset with the run-around and the time it took getting this resolved. I did received an offer to stay at a reduced rate that was still more than the wedding rate. I decided I did not want to do business with these people at all. Customer care is not just a new fresh building. I get tired of people saying it is out of their hands. I doubt that.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank D R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel Marble Falls, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear D R,

Thank you for taking the time to convey your comments regarding your recent experience with us. Let me take this opportunity to apologize for the misdemeanor you experienced. Your comments are being shared with the hotel management and appropriate action will be taken. We appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

354 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    279
    52
    6
    8
    9
See reviews for
111
94
22
65
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bryan, Texas, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Any time we travel to Marble Falls we stay at this Holiday Inn Express. The hotel is very clean and the staff are always friendly. A big thank you to Janice, Brianna, and the rest of the hotel staff for always making our experience a great one!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EAC_2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Great rooms and an enjoyable stay. The morning staff working the front desk and dining area were polite and just made the stay just that much better. Definitely will stay again and I recommend this hotel to anyone!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EddiePugh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oskaloosa, Kansas
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2013

After our awful experience at La Quinta we came here to get nice adjoining rooms. They had the rooms we needed and our family had a lovely stay. Perfect for large families. We had 2 adjoining rooms and every one had a bed. All the rooms have pull out sofa's and nice comfortable beds. The kids loved the pool in the evening. It was quiet and nice. Breakfast was good. The kids love the pancake machine. Several choices for breakfast. We will come here first next time.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amber B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katy,TX
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 30, 2013

This Marble Falls HIE ir highly rated for a reason. Our family reunion group was treated like family-Brandon(general mamager), Jesse, Janice, Tanner, Heather(front desk), Amie, Maria, Brianna, James K..(staff services), & Billy(maintenance man) were all very accomodating. They took care of our special needs, the rooms were clean, and the breakfast was excellent. We had 80 family members present throughout the weekend and they took care of everything we needed from the LBJ room for visiting to setting up the Vista Room for our catered dinner. We will be back year for our next reunion!! Thanks-they proved that excellent customer service is not a thing of the past!!

Room Tip: All rooms are suites so nice and roomy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JaniceMoodySijansky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
161 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013

The room and breakfast is what you would expect for a HIExpress. Nothing special. However, when we had an issue the staff was less than helpful. The issue was with the queen size beds. A member of our party who is older, short and has a back problem was unable to get up into the beds. While this is not a negative on the hotel, how the staff treated her was. The suggestion was a step stool (who with a back problem can twist off of a stool into a bed?!). The other suggestion was to sleep on a pull out sofa in the room (who with a back problem can sleep on that kind of a mattress?!). There was no apology and no offer for any kind of compensation. The staff was not rude but they were not helpful. Needless to say, we will not be staying there again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cocobear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel Marble Falls, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Dear Cocobear,

Thank you for writing a review about your recent stay with us. Guest comfort and satisfaction are of the utmost concern to us and our hotel is committed to making every possible effort to provide comfortable, clean and friendly accommodations. It is regrettable to hear your stay was negatively affected due to the some challenges you experienced with our staff. We want our guest to have a pleasant and professional experience when interacting with our team members. Rest assured that this isn't reflective of the high standards we usually pride ourselves. Your comments are being shared with the hotel management and appropriate action will be taken to improve our guest services.

We value you as our guest and hope you will continue to choose IHG for your future travel needs.

Sincerely,

Lera P
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anadarko, Oklahoma
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 25, 2013

We truly enjoyed our stay at this nice new Holiday Inn Express! The room was very spacious with sitting area and everything was very clean. The best thing was the breakfast . The staff was so nice and constantly cleaning and refilling the food and condiments. I don't remember when I have been so pleased and surprised with a hotel! :)

Room Tip: Rooms on the first floor do not require waiting for the elevator or using stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cookie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marble Falls
0.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Marble Falls
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Marble Falls-On The Lake
1.8 mi away
Best Western Marble Falls Inn
Best Western Marble Falls Inn
#3 of 7 in Marble Falls
249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.3 mi away
Lakeway Resort and Spa
13.7 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Burnet
23.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Lakeway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel Marble Falls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel Marble Falls

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel Marble Falls
Address: 714 Corazon, Marble Falls, TX 78654-6276
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Marble Falls
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Marble Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel Marble Falls 2.5*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Marble Falls’ Newest Hotel, the Holiday Inn Express Marble Falls, TX. Nestled in the heart of Texas Hill Country, this beautifully designed spacious hotel offers a rich Tuscan feel. The Holiday Inn Express Marble Falls is located only 45 minutes west of Austin and 80 miles north of San Antonio on Hwy 281 and Hwy 71. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel Marble Falls reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing