We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“THE place for breakfast!”

Ranked #2 of 2 Coffee & Tea in Marathon
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Description: List on this site http://www.marathontexas.com/dining/#
Restaurant details
Description: List on this site http://www.marathontexas.com/dining/#
Austin, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“THE place for breakfast!”
Reviewed April 13, 2014

Our family had breakfast here after a camping trip in Big Bend. What a great place! From the pancakes, to the migas and breakfast enchiladas, we enjoyed everything! The waitstaff was fun and engaging.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kathy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    29
    13
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Long wait for sub-par food”
Reviewed March 8, 2014

We waited an hour for our food and it was not worth the wait. We ordered the chicken fried steak. It was just ok. Luckily I had asked that they put the gravy on the side, because the gravy was awful. Potato salad wasn't good either. We were very patient until we saw people being served that had come in long after we did. When I asked the waitress if our food was coming out soon she curtly said that there were lots of orders ahead of ours and we would just have to wait. If this hadn't been the only place open we would have left. Apparently they decided to give their stressed staff a few days off before the busy season so they shut down for the next several days. No loss there. Johnny B's down the road was better anyway.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank llassocs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Alabama
Level 6 Contributor
804 reviews
166 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 313 helpful votes
“Boy - I Wish I Lived in Marathon to Eat Here Often”
Reviewed March 6, 2014

After a night at the Marathon Motel we were looking for breakfast and found a gem. The coffee shop has a great atmosphere with 80s country music playing and a super "cook" behind the counter and friendly server. Coffee was only $1.50 and it included free refills - are you kidding? They had vanilla creamer and the coffee was very good (could have been stronger but I was satisfied). We had pancakes and they were wonderful. A single pancake filled me up and the thing cost $2.25!! My husband had a couple of blueberry pancakes and he agreed they were delicious. He also enjoyed sausage patties. I noticed several other diners with full plates of food. Each plate contained eggs of some type and other breakfast goodies and each plate was topped with a nice sized, whole, fresh jalapeño. They looked great and I wished I was spending another night in town as I walked out. I will be back the next time I am back in this part of Texas.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank AGoingGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Always stop here on my way to Big Bend!”
Reviewed December 21, 2013

Love this dive! Nothing fancy, just very friendly folks and tasty food! I always stop here for lunch heading into the park, or breakfast on the day I leave (if they are open).

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Daddy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jefferson, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Closed Tuesday & Wednesday”
Reviewed November 25, 2013

According to another website, they are open 7 to 3 everyday. That information is wrong. The hours posted on the business show they are open 7 to 3, Thursday through Monday. We didn't get to eat there due to our schedule conflicting with theirs. It is right across the street from the Gage Hotel.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Barb B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Marathon Coffee Shop also viewed

 

Been to Marathon Coffee Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing