We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good pizza in Marathon...and it didn't cost an arm and a leg!!!”
Review of Guzzi Pizza - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Guzzi Pizza
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: Pizza
Description: Welcome to Guzzi Pizza located in Marathon, Texas (Big Bend Country). We offer quality pizzas at affordable prices. Locally owned and operated, servicing the needs of our community.
Restaurant details
Description: Welcome to Guzzi Pizza located in Marathon, Texas (Big Bend Country). We offer quality pizzas at affordable prices. Locally owned and operated, servicing the needs of our community.
Austin, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Good pizza in Marathon...and it didn't cost an arm and a leg!!!”
Reviewed July 8, 2012

Title says it all. We had a 16" meat lovers deluxe and it was something like $16 or $17 bucks. In this part of the world where a burger can be $12 that's pretty reasonable. And it was pretty darn good too!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank terrapinproud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

19 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    8
    1
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
NM
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great sandwich”
Reviewed June 2, 2012

Most places in Marathon are breakfast/lunch and close by 2pm. Guzzi was the only thing open and I was overwhelmed by the cleanliness and orderliness of the place. It is not big, but big enough. I did not try a pizza but the ones that others were enjoying looked great. I had the ham sandwich which came hot and on a folded dough crust. It was wonderful. They have a variety of mayonnaise dressings - I had the tomato-basil.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank derDicht
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level 6 Contributor
351 reviews
208 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 246 helpful votes
“Good Pizza on the Frontier”
Reviewed May 6, 2012

The rating reflects the location. It is great to have a decent pizza out in the middle of nowhere. There not not many choices in Marathon (one of the gateways to Big Bend National Park). The Gage is nice if you want to take out a second mortgage on your home.

The crust is a nicely done thin crust and the sauce is very nice Others have noted not enough cheese, but we thought that it was about right. We had the veggie and it had a nice amount of varied ingredients. We did a takeout but the dining space looked quite pleasant. When we got there to pick up our pizza they said that "it had burnt up" and was being redone. Not a problem, it did not take long. So, when in Marathon, give it a try. Open for lunch and dinner.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TexasTravelerGoGo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Pizza was tasty”
Reviewed April 9, 2012

There are very limited places to eat in Marathon, especially if you pass The Gage by. The pizza was fine at this little takeway.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Kippine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maxe1lab
Level 6 Contributor
309 reviews
163 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
“Yummy pizza”
Reviewed March 17, 2012

Hot,crisp, meaty pizza, lots of sauce, not much cheese. It took a while for the pizza to come out, but it was fresh. The waitress was kind,the place is small but quaint. They do not have any ice for your drinks.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank maxe1lab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Guzzi Pizza also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing