We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Vintage interior, Phoebe, great authentic Mexican breakfast - yum!!”
Review of Johnny B's

Johnny B's
Ranked #8 of 13 Restaurants in Marathon
Cuisines: American
Description: It is next door to Cafe Cenzio, Marathon, TX. It is a hamburger and soda shop.
Restaurant details
Description: It is next door to Cafe Cenzio, Marathon, TX. It is a hamburger and soda shop.
Dallas, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
126 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Vintage interior, Phoebe, great authentic Mexican breakfast - yum!!”
Reviewed October 16, 2012

After a wonderful experience at Big Bend National Park hiking with good friends we stopped at Johnny B's for breakfast on the way to the Midland airport. We had stopped at The Gage for dinner on way down and were hoping to repeat the great experience only to learn they do not serve breakfast. They recommended Johnny B's. It was great.

It is right next door to The Gage Hotel. It is small with a kitschy interior loaded with vintage metal signs. The bar is made of tin tiles. Phoebe was our waitress and she had a sweet, friendly and fun personality -- very patient with the 8 of us. She kept the coffee coming while we dawdled over our orders. We all loved what we had. I strongly recommend the migas and blueberry pancakes. It was inexpensive, delicious and authentic. (It should be so close to Mexico). Worth a trip out of your way to go there.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lplsally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    41
    11
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cheyenne, Wyoming
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Great local flavor”
Reviewed August 9, 2012

Service is a tad slow but that's typical of a small town diner. Sit back and drink in the local flavor. Portions are large and the service consistent. Enjoy.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AMPWyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas, United States
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great Place”
Reviewed August 8, 2012

Wonderful staff and a great place for any meal. We went over for breakfast twice and enjoyed the quiet morning atmosphere. Really a neat place.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kathyadamsclark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maxe1lab
Level 6 Contributor
305 reviews
161 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“Good breakfast”
Reviewed March 17, 2012

Good , quick breakfast, good value. Waitress was kind and friendly, she kept my coffee hot and my cup full. We had the breakfast burrito and it was a large serving and very good. I had the blueberry pancakes and bacon, the bacon was crisp and not greasy the pancakes were a little soggy .

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank maxe1lab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plano, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
356 reviews
214 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 202 helpful votes
“Good Burger in Old Fashion Soda Fountain”
Reviewed January 10, 2012

Stopped here on a Sunday on way from Lajiitas Resort and Big Bend driving home to Dallas area. Not much open on a Sunday. We got the cheeseburger cooked to order good flavor with curly fries. I had a root beer float, Darlene chocolate shake all of them good old fashioned style. Friendly service. We would return again if driving through. Did a walk through of the Historic Gage Hotel close by was well worth it to see and imagine how things used to be. If in this part of West Texas keep your gas tank full lots of miles and country in between small towns and gas stations. Farm/Ranch roads great hard to not drive above 75 mph speed limit. We are active seniors Johnnys reminded us of soda fountains we went to years ago. Good Food in a Friendly Family setting.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RichDar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Johnny B's also viewed

 

Been to Johnny B's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing