We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“High Priced, low quality hotel”
Review of Gage Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Gage Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Marathon
Certificate of Excellence
Corpus Christi
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“High Priced, low quality hotel”
Reviewed April 18, 2010

We stayed here while visiting the Big Bend Area. My advice would be to avoid this place if at all possible.
I should have known this would be a problematic experience when the hotel charged my credit card at the time of my reservation, over one month before my actual stay.
This was a disappointing experience from arrival, where we were met by a disinterested to sullen hotel clerk to departure.
The hotel has attractive grounds and I would recommend you walk around and view them, before heading to where you will stay in another town.
The rooms are overpriced, extremely small and lacking any conventional amenities. The restaurant prices are exorbitant (Chicken Fried Steak for $22), probably because it is virtually the "only game" in town.
If visiting Big Bend , I would recommend consideration of Lajitas as a place to stay rather than here. It is much more attractive, has far more amenities and is more reasonably priced. Avoid the Gage Hotel, or pay the (exorbitant) price for a very poor experience.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ccfoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

478 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    291
    126
    35
    14
    12
See reviews for
85
251
20
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, TX
Level Contributor
193 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2010

We stayed at the Gage Hotel after being in Big Bend. We stayed in the older historic part with a bath. It was very nicely furnished. It was fun to walk around the Portalles section ( a coutyard area of rooms) where the rooms were quite a bit more expensive. It was fun to walk up and down the street where the Gage is located. I wish we had had more time for this. We had checked in around four and the shops closed at 6. It would have been nice if the shops were open later.

Our room was small, which we expected. The decor was very authentic. The bathroom was a good size. The lighting could have been better.

Breakfast was included. It was a continental variety.

Our biggest problem was that the pillows were pancake thin. We should have complained and seen whether more pillows or better pillows were available but we didn't. The rooms were furnished so lovely you would have thought that they would have taken better care in making sure that the pillows were comfortable.

I enjoyed staying there once. But I am not sure if I would return.
A good night's sleep was important after just spending the week hiking in Big Bend.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank winepourer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, D.C.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2010

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Gage the night before heading into Big Bend N.P., and we happened upon it by chance late at night. What luck! We got the last room available, which was beautifully, rustically decorated. There was no bathroom in this room, but other rooms have them. We used the shared bathrooms down the hall, and with the provided bathrobes, this was not even an issue. The bed was comfortable, and the room did have a sink. We got there too late for the restaurant, but the bar staff was kind enough to let us order some food there (and held the kitchen open for us.) The bison burger was fantastic, and the green chili salsa was perfect. The bar employees were very friendly, and we felt we couldn't have chanced upon a nicer place to stay. In the morning there was a free breakfast, and we had a nice time walking around the grounds. I loved the decor of the whole place, and we took a bunch of pictures. It's kind-of in the middle of nowhere, but it's an hour outside of Big Bend so, for us, perfectly placed. I did have an extra charge that I didn't notice until a couple weeks after I paid the bill, and when I called, I was taken care of immediately. I would happily stay at the Gage Hotel again, and would recommend it to any friends. Can't say enough nice things about it.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emakton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boerne TX
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2010

This hotel is totally misrepresented in its ads as a luxury historic hotel. From the disinterested front desk clerk on arrival till we left, the service staff never said thanks or if we needed anything more. The sheets smelled musty and the mattress had lumps and bumps. We had a rollaway that should have been in a garage sale. The yeast rolls at dinner were undercooked and the chicken-fried steak was so spicy it was inedible.

The hotel rates should have been more in line with its poor quality and service. Don't be fooled by the photographs.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FiveOaksDiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
104 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2010

Charming hotel; bathrooms were modern and comfortable; bed mattress was comfortable; the hotel staff was helpful and friendly. It was pricey for a hotel in the middle of nowhere.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Basketballfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2010

The Gage is legendary in West Texas for a reason. The first question that comes to mind, of course, is "WHY on earth would someone put a hotel here?!" It really is in the middle of nowhere. The town - and by "town" I mean three streets - is surprisingly lively considering the entire population could probably fit in my living room. There's a small grocery around the corner, a couple of houses behind the hotel that can be rented out to larger groups, and of course the main (old) hotel with the adjacent courtyard Portales rooms. As I'm not a fan of the shared bath concept, I'd always go for the Portales room - request one with a (kiva) fireplace. Just magical. Iron beds with serapi blankets, saltillo tile - really like something out of a magazine! Marathon is one of the quietest places I've ever been, though there is a little bar across the way - and a wonderful place to visit with someone you really like to talk to. The hotel's restaurant is very nice, but after that, there isn't a ton to do beyond enjoying nature, conversation, and stillness.

  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chalupacabra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
79 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2009

Most recently, we were in Big Bend for the Marathon 2 Marathon which was, you guessed it, a marathon (or half or 10K) from Alpine to, well, Marathon. The Gage was the "host" hotel, and the weekend was great fun! The hotel has such a nice rustic charm and a wonderful relaxed feel. On this visit, we had our pugs with us (a first!), and I was impressed with the hotel staff's warm greetings each time the doggies and I passed through the lobby. We'll be back on Dec. 31 for New Year's, and I'm counting the days...

This hotel may set you back more than some, but there aren't a lot of options in this part of the state, and staying at The Gage is a great indulgence. It's a perfect jumping off point for entry into and exit from BBNP when you're just not in the mood for a sleeping bag or cold shower. The restaurant, Cafe Cenizo, is fantastic but not cheap. Again, worth it! As for the occasional noise you may hear from a passing train, consider it atmosphere at no extra charge--all part of the adventure.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GAYLACP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Gage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gage Hotel

Property: Gage Hotel
Address: 102 E US Highway 90, Marathon, TX 79842-9800
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Marathon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Marathon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Texas Mountain Region, the Gage Hotel offers elegant accommodations to those wishing to escape the mundane. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire so you can book your Gage Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gage Hotel Marathon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing