We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Gotta stop here if you are in West Texas..”
Review of Gage Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Gage Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Marathon
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Gotta stop here if you are in West Texas..”
Reviewed August 19, 2014

This area of West Texas is absolutely beautiful and while the Gage is in the middle of a town with no stoplights, it is worth a stop whether you are driving through or staying here to go to Big Bend. That hotel is charming and quaint and the decor is just perfect. Also, I recommend going to the restaurant - it is delicious. Pricey, but very good wild game menu plus some Texas favorites. We ate on the patio and had some Ranch Waters afterwards at the White Buffalo Bar. Visit the Gage Hotel Gardens too! While it nothing too special, the bright green grass and flowers are a site to see in the middle of the dry TX desert.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Blair B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

473 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    286
    126
    35
    14
    12
See reviews for
83
248
20
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 18, 2014

I love the Gage hotel but I am disturbed by the Gage gardens. When I was there at 10 a.m. there was heavy watering going on- and they've planted St. Augustine grass which requires at least 50" of rain a year. I am very surprised the Gage didn't put in a garden that teaches visitors about conserving water instead of excess watering in the middle of the desert.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2401Kathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Navi Mumbai, India
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2014

Awesome experience, excellent ambience, good food, elegant poolside, thematic rooms, scenic locale, warm hospitality of the staff members, gleaming nights all are at its best. I just loved the hotel and wish to come back again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TitanM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tomball, Texas, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2014

My husband and I have stayed here probably almost a dozen times in the last 25 years. Every visit has been amazing!!! We have stayed in several of the different guest houses but I always like to get back to Los Portales. Yes, the train runs by on a regular basis and I imagine wifi can be pretty spotty (gee, ya think? given it's location?) .

We are returning there in 2 weeks & I can't wait !!! If you're looking for a 24 hr,, wait on you hand and foot kind of place, go somewhere else !!! You get plenty of attention when you need it, and you can spend the rest of your visit experiencing the beauty of the area, which is really the reason you're there, right?

In my book, this place is tops for a rejuvenating, soul soothing, battery recharging vacation.

Room Tip: Casa de Jardin is great for a family of 4. I prefer the rooms on The Patio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lauri H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
51 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2014 via mobile

We stopped into this lovely step back in time as an afterthought; and we are glad we did. The historic hotel is charming and sweet. The restaurant and bar were great too. We will be back when we have some more time.

As an added note, we haven't stayed in a hotel without a TV in the room in years... Refreshing....

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Yaloo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plano, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2014

We lucked upon this hotel when we were travelling! I had not heard about this place, wish I had - would have planned for more time! Stay here if you can - you will not be disappointed. You can branch out here for Alpine and Fort Davis very easily.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kimberly D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tuscaloosa, Alabama
Level Contributor
58 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2014 via mobile

Traveling from SA to ELP we booked one night here. Very cool place and would stay again. Room decor is very stylish western decor. Hotel lobby was equally appealing. We had a king bed with a fireplace that was ample size. Our only issue was the fireplace smell. Not a deal breaker but noticeable. We enjoyed our room and the grounds.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank TideRider_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Gage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gage Hotel

Property: Gage Hotel
Address: 102 E US Highway 90, Marathon, TX 79842-9800
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Marathon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Marathon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Texas Mountain Region, the Gage Hotel offers elegant accommodations to those wishing to escape the mundane. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire so you can book your Gage Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gage Hotel Marathon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing