We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury in Marathon”
Review of Gage Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Gage Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Marathon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 28, 2014

This was our first stay at the Gage but it certainly won't be our last! My husband had been very interested in experiencing Big Bend first hand for some time and my enthusiasm on the subject was more tempered. The Gage Hotel was his way of ensuring my first trip to the area might provide for a return trip to Big Bend. He was right in his assessment. The Gage was like finding an oasis in the middle of the desert! On arrival I was immediately swept up in the history of the hotel, the beautiful lobby area and the warm greeting we received. Our room was located in the main hotel as we wanted a historical feel to our stay. Our room was both tasteful, clean and efficient. We had an attached bath that was both striking with it's special architectural fixtures and luxurious with soft robes provided (that I wished they sold!). The only downside to our room was the exterior noise from the front entry during the evening. I, however, had no trouble sleeping with this noise or that of the nearby train line. My husband was not quite as fortunate. We dined at the 12 Gage for dinner and thought it to be one of the best meals we've had. I had a vegetarian option while my husband enjoyed a wild game plate. I would recommend this hotel to anyone who asked me due to the many features, the well appointed and clean room, the delicious meal at the resaurant and the proximity to Big Bend.

Room Tip: If privacy/noise is a factor, you may want a room in the adjoining structure. If you want a histori...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Txtraveler H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (510)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

299 - 305 of 510 reviews

Reviewed March 27, 2014

We stumbled upon this hotel on our travels to Big Bend National Park. There are five of us: two adults and three kids (12, 9 & 7). We stayed in the Los Portales-connecting rooms (one king room and one double). It was a bit pricier than our typical road trip stay but well worth it! This may have been one of our most favorite stops in the 15 years we have been road triping. Here is why: clean, comfortable and beautiful rooms, beautiful property, a pool our kids loved, nice and accommodating staff and a fantastic restaurant.
Our reason for staying here was the park but it's a wonderful stop even if the park wasn't in your plans (but it should be). There is bocce ball, volleyball, a pool, a spa and loads of grass to run and play on for the kids. There were a lot of couples here, we were the only ones with kids, but we felt welcomed and the kids didn't seem to bother anyone.
The town is quiet; one breakfast place called johnnie b's and the hotel restaurant for dinner but both are very good so unless you are staying more than our three days, it's fine because it's delicious....especially dinner!
If you are looking for a small town feel with the comforts of a beautiful resort, The Gage will not disappoint!

Stayed: March 2014
Thank Lisa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2014 via mobile

We've been staying at the Gage for almost thirty years and now our 30+ year old son, his wife and their friends have adopted it as their West Texas retreat.

Not only are the accommodations first rate but the restaurant and bar are near infamous throughout the area. It's not uncommon to be dining with folks that have driven 50-100 miles just to come to dinner at the Gage and then turn around and drive home. You could say that this was because of the scarcity of good restaurants but that would be a disservice It's just a great restaurant.

When we first started coming to the Gage, there was only the one brick building. Some time ago, they added the adobe style enclave to the west. Both have their own style and charm. You'll have to decide which you like best.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2014

I totally agree with other reviewers. The restoration is amazing, you have to see it to appreciate the meticulous attention to detail. The rooms feel and look like they were built just recently but all the wood work is original. I loved the large roomy shower and soft comfy bed. Downstairs the porch and lounge chairs call to you tonjust sit awhile. The businesses in town go out of their way tomake you feel welcome. Everyone stopped to chat, pass the time of day and offer directions or help. Be sure to make reservations and try to get one of the rooms in thenhotel proper. Do save some of your vacation dollars for a restaurant splurge at the hotel restaurant, The 12 Gage. You will need a reservation but the food is very fresh, the menu is creatively southwest. It made a wonderful change from the burgers, tacos, and chicken fried aorta cloggers available at most of the desert diners we found!

Room Tip: In the old hotel is nice for the wild west feel of itnall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pickadilly1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2014

On a recent visit to Big Bend National Park, we stopped at the Gage for a one night stay. The hotel is beautifully restored gem of a bygone era. The main hotel is quite small, but the lobby and meeting rooms are filled with western period furniture, stuffed mountain lions, and mounted heads. Very comfortable and welcoming. Our friends stayed in a room in the main hotel, and while small, was straight out of an old western movie. Their only dislike was the narrow and short entrance to the small on suite bathroom. My wife and I stayed in one of the much larger courtyard rooms that was well appointed with a king bed, large two person shower, and small fireplace. The room was decorated in a western theme with chaps on the walls, western pictures, and lovely, fine quality linens. While there is no TV, most folks are coming to west Texas to get away from the rest of the world for a few days...wifi was available for those that need a fix of civilization. The hotel restaurant and bar is also a hot spot of local activity. The small bar is named about the large White Buffalo head that dominates the room, which the locals told us has been authenticated as a true, and very rare, beast by a Wyoming Indian tribe. The meals in the patio (or indoor) restaurant were very good. Room tip: take a room towards the back side of the hotel which is further away from the main street through town as well as the railroad tracks.

Room Tip: Ask for a room towards the back side of the hotel away from the main road and train tracks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rustycat83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2014 via mobile

Beautifully restored, comfortable, clean and dog friendly. We stayed for 2 nights in the courtyard rooms and enjoyed the peace and quiet. The restaurant was also very good and allowed the dogs on the patio, which was the spot to be. If I'm ever in that part of Texas again, I will be staying at the Gage! :-)

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hachitaeqs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2014

The Gage renovation is spot on. Beautifully done rooms with extremely nice linens and comfortable beds. Upon arrival, our deadbolt was inoperable, but one call to the desk had a maintenance man and a new lock within 15 minutes. One warning: ask about available rooms and corresponding rates. There was a total of 4 couples in our group last weekend and the rates differed more than $50 for comparable rooms. I guess the sunrise from my window was worth something, but for $50, I would gladly walk downstairs. Overall, nice but for the nearly $250, I would have rather had a less expensive room for two nights!

Room Tip: Always ask about rates in alternate rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Drrtsw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Gage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gage Hotel

Address: 102 E US Highway 90, Marathon, TX 79842-9800
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Marathon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Marathon
Price Range: $136 - $283 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Texas Mountain Region, the Gage Hotel offers elegant accommodations to those wishing to escape the mundane. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Gage Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gage Hotel Marathon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing