We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Oasis in the middle of nowhere!”
Review of Gage Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Gage Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Marathon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 7, 2014

On a recent road trip to West Texas, friends and I spent a night at the Gage Hotel. Wow - what a nice surprise in an otherwise sleepy town. The hotel has such an old, historic, rustic vibe to it. The rooms are beautifully done. Two of my friends stayed in a room in the main hotel and it was a large room with cool amenities. The rest of us stayed in the lodge-style rooms that all surrounded a beautiful courtyard. My room was a very large room with a king bed and its own fireplace. One thing to note is none of the rooms have televisions. The staff was excellent and we loved our short stay at the hotel. Also, if you are staying in Marathon DEFINITELY get dinner reservations at the 12 Gage Restaurant (associated with the hotel). Our meal was amazing - all of our dishes were top notch and the quality rivaled some of the nice restaurants we are used to in Houston! Regarding price - on the pricey end for a Marathon, TX… but overall I would say worth the price.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Justin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (503)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

300 - 306 of 503 reviews

Reviewed January 1, 2014

We stayed at the Gage on our way to Big Bend National Park. We were pleasantly surprised by this charming, historic hotel. We had a room in the courtyard which was very well appointed and comfortable. The rooms are decorated in Texas rustic. The shower was absolutely awesome - I want one in my house! No TV or phones in the room but good WiFi connections. Loved experiencing this hotel. If you plan a stay longer than 1 night, be prepared - Marathon is basically a small smear on Hwy 90. Typical west Texas town but not much to do outside of the Gage. That said, great place to stay before a morning entry into Big Bend which is still 1 - 2 hours away.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ljtraveler_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2014

On a long stretch of highway, the Gage rises above the tumbleweeds, like a beautifully appointed oasis in the desert. This hotel brings together old west charm with new world comfort. Relax in the oversized rocking chairs on the front porch, with a cool beverage and watch a brilliant sunset. I had an amazing sea scallop salad at the 12 Gage restaurant, and the Road King's tenderloin was melt in the mouth delicious. The wine menu offers plenty of choices to pair with any of the eclectic big city menu offerings. We enjoyed a cocktail at the White Buffalo afterwards. An intimate gathering spot, where hotel goers share tales of that day's far west adventures. The shower in our room was beautifully crafted, and we found the goat head fountain at the pool fascinating. The attention to detail defies the rustic facade of this charming gateway to Big Bend.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cruisegal2533
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2013 via mobile

The Gage is an impressive architectural example of a historic hotel preserved with period art work and furnishings in a comfortable, relaxed atmosphere. The dining room and bar are both excellent and each provides its own special experience for eating and drinking. What a pleasant surprise while visiting Big Bend National Park.
Upon arrival, we initially had a difficult situation with our room. The hotel manager, Carol, resolved the problem swiftly, graciously and to our satisfaction. Due to her professionalism, our overall experience was very positive.
Thank you Carol!

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Moreauds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2013

I have visited several historic hotels in the scenic Big Bend area. The Gage, however, has stolen my heart. The food is so delicious. (unexpected, adventurous and eclectic combinations) The drinks are perfectly concocted, as well! The staff is beyond accommodating. I've never been made to feel so welcome at any other hotel. This is a phenomenal place to relax and disconnect from the hectic lifestyle I live at home. I'm thrilled to visit this enchanting hotel again!

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank E-Sledge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2013

Marathon lacks sufficient services for any length of stay. This hotel only creates a false sense of security if you choose to stay in Marathon while visiting Big Bend NP.

No microwave or television in the Los Portales rooms. The Wifi didn't work for the first two days of our 3 day stay. So the only means of getting weather/travel advisories was to sit in the bar in the evenings or other common room to watch the television there.

The only option for dinner in Marathon is the 12-Gage Restaurant and White Buffalo Bar (both in the Gage Hotel). They don't start serving until 6 PM. The bar's menu offers mostly appetizers with a cheese burger as the only meal selection. The restaurant's entrees start at $17 for Chicken Fried Steak and go up to $37. Extremely unreasonable menu for a traveler looking for basic food.

There are only three choices for breakfast & lunch (Marathon Coffee Shop, Shirley's Burnt Biscuit Bakery & Johnny B's). See their individual reviews but don't rely on any of them for breakfast.

The pool and grounds were nice & well cared for. The pool is out door so no use in cold weather like during our stay.

The hotel accepts dogs but their pet policy is not very friendly. The pet fee is $20/day/pet. They offer nothing for this fee except to allow pets to stay there. The floor in our room Los Portales was tile so there couldn't be much cleaning required even if a pet creates a mess. There is some areas near the hotel to walk dogs.

You expect to pay a little more when there are limited services, but the prices here are out of this world for what little they provide! Recommend staying in Alpine as it is only about 30 miles from Marathon and there are a few more choices and prices are a little more reasonable in Alpine.

Room Tip: The Los Portales rooms with a King bed have a nice fireplace that comes with a daily supply of firew...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Barb B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2013

My brother and I toured Big Bend National Park and stayed here on the way out. I stayed here before with my wife. The bar and the restaurant are wonderful . You just don't expect food this good out here. This trip,I discovered the gardens and running track. Beautiful views of flowers.
They also have a new gym and conference center that they renovated out of an old building. They have redone other buildings for hotel rooms. This is an historical hotel.

Room Tip: The regular rooms are small. We upgraded and were very happy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chuck_and_trudy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Gage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gage Hotel

Address: 102 E US Highway 90, Marathon, TX 79842-9800
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Marathon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Marathon
Price Range: $160 - $271 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Texas Mountain Region, the Gage Hotel offers elegant accommodations to those wishing to escape the mundane. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire so you can book your Gage Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gage Hotel Marathon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing