We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Gage Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Quality Inn(Alpine)(Great Value!)
$80
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$80
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Value Lodge(Alpine)
$51
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$120
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$114
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$56
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
$56
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$130
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (527)
Filter reviews
527 results
Traveler rating
326
133
39
16
13
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
326
133
39
16
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbig bendwest texaslos portaleshistoric hotelthe main hotelthe white buffalo barold westan oasis in the desertprivate patiowestern decorrailroad tracksfire pitputting greenrocking chairspool area isfort davisking bed
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
326 - 331 of 527 reviews
Reviewed December 1, 2013 via mobile

The Gage is an impressive architectural example of a historic hotel preserved with period art work and furnishings in a comfortable, relaxed atmosphere. The dining room and bar are both excellent and each provides its own special experience for eating and drinking. What a pleasant surprise while visiting Big Bend National Park.
Upon arrival, we initially had a difficult situation with our room. The hotel manager, Carol, resolved the problem swiftly, graciously and to our satisfaction. Due to her professionalism, our overall experience was very positive.
Thank you Carol!

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Moreauds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2013

I have visited several historic hotels in the scenic Big Bend area. The Gage, however, has stolen my heart. The food is so delicious. (unexpected, adventurous and eclectic combinations) The drinks are perfectly concocted, as well! The staff is beyond accommodating. I've never been made to feel so welcome at any other hotel. This is a phenomenal place to relax and disconnect from the hectic lifestyle I live at home. I'm thrilled to visit this enchanting hotel again!

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank E-Sledge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2013

Marathon lacks sufficient services for any length of stay. This hotel only creates a false sense of security if you choose to stay in Marathon while visiting Big Bend NP.

No microwave or television in the Los Portales rooms. The Wifi didn't work for the first two days of our 3 day stay. So the only means of getting weather/travel advisories was to sit in the bar in the evenings or other common room to watch the television there.

The only option for dinner in Marathon is the 12-Gage Restaurant and White Buffalo Bar (both in the Gage Hotel). They don't start serving until 6 PM. The bar's menu offers mostly appetizers with a cheese burger as the only meal selection. The restaurant's entrees start at $17 for Chicken Fried Steak and go up to $37. Extremely unreasonable menu for a traveler looking for basic food.

There are only three choices for breakfast & lunch (Marathon Coffee Shop, Shirley's Burnt Biscuit Bakery & Johnny B's). See their individual reviews but don't rely on any of them for breakfast.

The pool and grounds were nice & well cared for. The pool is out door so no use in cold weather like during our stay.

The hotel accepts dogs but their pet policy is not very friendly. The pet fee is $20/day/pet. They offer nothing for this fee except to allow pets to stay there. The floor in our room Los Portales was tile so there couldn't be much cleaning required even if a pet creates a mess. There is some areas near the hotel to walk dogs.

You expect to pay a little more when there are limited services, but the prices here are out of this world for what little they provide! Recommend staying in Alpine as it is only about 30 miles from Marathon and there are a few more choices and prices are a little more reasonable in Alpine.

Room Tip: The Los Portales rooms with a King bed have a nice fireplace that comes with a daily supply of firewood. The walk in shower with the soft bathrobes was great!
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Barb B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2013

My brother and I toured Big Bend National Park and stayed here on the way out. I stayed here before with my wife. The bar and the restaurant are wonderful . You just don't expect food this good out here. This trip,I discovered the gardens and running track. Beautiful views of flowers.
They also have a new gym and conference center that they renovated out of an old building. They have redone other buildings for hotel rooms. This is an historical hotel.

Room Tip: The regular rooms are small. We upgraded and were very happy.
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chuck_and_trudy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2013

I have mixed feelings about this place. Beautiful hotel, very friendly and helpful staff in the hotel. Restaurant help was poor. Waitresses (we ate there for two dinners) were rather unattentive, although not very busy. Restaurant is overpriced in my opinion. (They are the ONLY place in Marathon or within about 25 miles to eat, and they know it. They have a beautiful landscaped garden nearby which is an absolute oasis in the middle of the desert. The room was nice, newly redone (in the main hotel building) but (and this is my personal problem) the bed is ultra soft and the pilklows are ultra thin and fluffy.....so I woke up with a back ache. The bathroom was very wierd. The shower was apparently designed by someone who has never ever taken a shower......There's no shower door so water sprayed all over the floor, and absolutely positively no place in the shower or within reach of the shower to set a bar of soap, a bottle of shampoo, or a washcloth. You either drop them on the floor, step out and put them on the sink (while dripping wet and naked!!) or you try to hold them all while showering. The computer in the lobby has a sign saying guests can ONLY use it to make airline reservations or print boarding passes, but if you complain they tell you its OK to use it for anything you want (huh????). Bar is nice. Very rustic and has good beer on tap and a friendly bar tender.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JohnandJaneS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews