We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming, rustic, enchanting”
Review of Gage Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Gage Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Marathon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 27, 2013

I have visited several historic hotels in the scenic Big Bend area. The Gage, however, has stolen my heart. The food is so delicious. (unexpected, adventurous and eclectic combinations) The drinks are perfectly concocted, as well! The staff is beyond accommodating. I've never been made to feel so welcome at any other hotel. This is a phenomenal place to relax and disconnect from the hectic lifestyle I live at home. I'm thrilled to visit this enchanting hotel again!

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank E-Sledge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (504)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

305 - 311 of 504 reviews

Reviewed November 25, 2013

Marathon lacks sufficient services for any length of stay. This hotel only creates a false sense of security if you choose to stay in Marathon while visiting Big Bend NP.

No microwave or television in the Los Portales rooms. The Wifi didn't work for the first two days of our 3 day stay. So the only means of getting weather/travel advisories was to sit in the bar in the evenings or other common room to watch the television there.

The only option for dinner in Marathon is the 12-Gage Restaurant and White Buffalo Bar (both in the Gage Hotel). They don't start serving until 6 PM. The bar's menu offers mostly appetizers with a cheese burger as the only meal selection. The restaurant's entrees start at $17 for Chicken Fried Steak and go up to $37. Extremely unreasonable menu for a traveler looking for basic food.

There are only three choices for breakfast & lunch (Marathon Coffee Shop, Shirley's Burnt Biscuit Bakery & Johnny B's). See their individual reviews but don't rely on any of them for breakfast.

The pool and grounds were nice & well cared for. The pool is out door so no use in cold weather like during our stay.

The hotel accepts dogs but their pet policy is not very friendly. The pet fee is $20/day/pet. They offer nothing for this fee except to allow pets to stay there. The floor in our room Los Portales was tile so there couldn't be much cleaning required even if a pet creates a mess. There is some areas near the hotel to walk dogs.

You expect to pay a little more when there are limited services, but the prices here are out of this world for what little they provide! Recommend staying in Alpine as it is only about 30 miles from Marathon and there are a few more choices and prices are a little more reasonable in Alpine.

Room Tip: The Los Portales rooms with a King bed have a nice fireplace that comes with a daily supply of firew...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Barb B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2013

My brother and I toured Big Bend National Park and stayed here on the way out. I stayed here before with my wife. The bar and the restaurant are wonderful . You just don't expect food this good out here. This trip,I discovered the gardens and running track. Beautiful views of flowers.
They also have a new gym and conference center that they renovated out of an old building. They have redone other buildings for hotel rooms. This is an historical hotel.

Room Tip: The regular rooms are small. We upgraded and were very happy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chuck_and_trudy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2013

I have mixed feelings about this place. Beautiful hotel, very friendly and helpful staff in the hotel. Restaurant help was poor. Waitresses (we ate there for two dinners) were rather unattentive, although not very busy. Restaurant is overpriced in my opinion. (They are the ONLY place in Marathon or within about 25 miles to eat, and they know it. They have a beautiful landscaped garden nearby which is an absolute oasis in the middle of the desert. The room was nice, newly redone (in the main hotel building) but (and this is my personal problem) the bed is ultra soft and the pilklows are ultra thin and fluffy.....so I woke up with a back ache. The bathroom was very wierd. The shower was apparently designed by someone who has never ever taken a shower......There's no shower door so water sprayed all over the floor, and absolutely positively no place in the shower or within reach of the shower to set a bar of soap, a bottle of shampoo, or a washcloth. You either drop them on the floor, step out and put them on the sink (while dripping wet and naked!!) or you try to hold them all while showering. The computer in the lobby has a sign saying guests can ONLY use it to make airline reservations or print boarding passes, but if you complain they tell you its OK to use it for anything you want (huh????). Bar is nice. Very rustic and has good beer on tap and a friendly bar tender.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JohnandJaneS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2013

A great hotel to stay in on your way to Big Bend National Park. Located about 7 hrs from San Antonio, Austin and DFW. Located in Marathon TX about one hour from the park.
Older hotel, nicely remodeled, but has thin walls. Next door is the only restaurant and lounge within 20 miles. But it is great. Good food and wonderful atmosphere.
Staff was excellent.

Big Bend NP is the largest of the nations parks and well worth the visit

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Glenn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2013

We rolled into a Marathon and we happily surprised by the lovely Gage Hotel. Beautiful grounds, authentic western decor, comfortable luxurious rooms, dog friendly, and an excellent restaurant. If you want that fifth star, Walkways need better lighting and some help with our bags would have been nice. But I'm really not complaining!

Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
Thank Mntngurl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013

If you're planning a trip to Marathon, you'll know by now that the choice of hotels is pretty limited! That being said, although we didn't have much choice in where to stay, I'm glad we picked The Gage Hotel.
Rooms are nice, with good bathroom facilities and interesting decor, however ours could have done with a bit of a clean - floor wasn't particularly clean (which you noticed if you walked round in bare feet) and things like the alarm clock looked like they hadn't been dusted in weeks. That being said, the bed was very comfortable, and the room was well-stocked with a coffee machine and fridge etc.
Had dinner at the main restaurant (called "12 Gage" I believe) and this was SUPERB. We were heading into Big Bend to go camping the next day and so wanted a nice meal before having to live off rice and beans for 3 days, and the food we got was outstanding. It's not particularly cheap, but it was well worth the price.
Also, hotel has a swimming pool which looked nice, but sadly we were only staying 1 night so didn't get to use it - shame.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travels_ahoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Gage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gage Hotel

Address: 102 E US Highway 90, Marathon, TX 79842-9800
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Marathon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Marathon
Price Range: $194 - $271 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Texas Mountain Region, the Gage Hotel offers elegant accommodations to those wishing to escape the mundane. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire and Booking.com so you can book your Gage Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gage Hotel Marathon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing