We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place to stop.”
Review of Marathon Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Marathon
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Marathon Motel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Marathon
Level 5 Contributor
96 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Good place to stop.”
Reviewed October 3, 2013 via mobile

Very comfortable place near Big Bend. Great place to spend a night after a long drive from Dallas to get to Big Bend. The train can be a little loud as the horn blows at night but you'll hear that in most Texas towns in the area. The local restaurant at the Gage hotel was great

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Woody59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    56
    18
    11
    2
See reviews for
25
74
10
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Kerrville, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2013

Wow ! This was the perfect overnight stop on an exhausting business trip. Comfortable, luxurious bed, great shower and clean, updated well-designed motel in the desert ! Staff was very welcoming, I loved the sounds of the passing trains (didn't keep me up, just loved hearing that distant railroad cry at night) They issue dissposible earplugs if the trains are too much for you, but for me, a light sleeper, they never woke me. It was part of the ambience, the openness of the desert. Air conditioner was perfect and I slept like a rock. I definitely will make Marathon Motel my first pick in that area again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BRIAN H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas, United States
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2013

My bride and I have been staying at the Marathon Motel for years and love it so much, we rented the entire place out for 3 days to house our family for our wedding. Everyone loved the place, especially the outside patios and the dark starry nights. The rooms aren't fancy but neither are we. Dan and Mindy, the owners, have put an amazing amount of work into the place, and the TLC shows. The Gage hotel down the street is also wonderful, but unless your last name is Rockefeller, this is the place to stay, and you will be charmed like we have. Highly recommended for motorcycle enthusiasts as well.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Angelo, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2013

Have stayed here countless times...a couple of times solo in the cozy room with one bed, numerous times in a regular room with the hubby (and sometimes with our pupdogs), and now several times in the RV park. Have also stayed a couple of times in the other "big name place" in Marathon, but this continues to be my favorite :)

Room Tip: my personal favorite room is #5 with the windmill in back ... loved hearing it working through the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HappySoloCamper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, MD
2 reviews
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Not many choices of accommodations in this part of Texas and didn't know what to expect when I book 3 rooms. The Marathon Hotel and RV Park turned out to be a real pleasure. Basic but very clean rooms, great landscaping and open meeting area, great views of the Texas desert and of course wonderful West Texas hospitality. We plan to go out of our way to stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Stockton, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed June 23, 2013

If your looking for peace and quiet with a gorgeous view this is the place. The only down fall even if you consider it a downfall is the train that goes through town at about 6:30am but the Motel does provide earplugs as well. Other than that is very peaceful with a beautiful view..

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cntryldybgkat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abilene, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2013

We stayed at this hotel in cabin number 8. The bed was so comfortable and the bed linens were very nice. Great air conditioning and television had lots of channels. Beautiful courtyard right outside our cabin with green grass, fire pit, fireplace, seating, water fall, plants all surrounded by a unique adobe style surround. Innkeeper was extremely hospitable. They provide ear plugs if the train passing by bothers you; however, I didn't need to us mine. Reasonably priced. Pet friendly but be sure to declare your pet for a charge of $15.00 because if you don't they will charge you $100.00.

Helpful?
2 Thank agertojl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marathon
0.0 mi away
Davis Mountains Inn
Davis Mountains Inn
#5 of 7 in Fort Davis
84 reviews
46.6 mi away
Fort Davis Inn And Rv Park
Fort Davis Inn And Rv Park
#6 of 9 in Fort Davis
71 reviews
0.5 mi away
Gage Hotel
Gage Hotel
#1 of 2 in Marathon
483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marathon Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marathon Motel

Property: Marathon Motel
Address: W. Hwy 90, Marathon, TX 79842
Location: United States > Texas > Marathon
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Marathon
Number of rooms: 11
Also Known As:
Marathon Hotel Marathon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing