We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
On The Border Mexican Grill & Cantina
Ranked #58 of 159 Restaurants in Mansfield
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Outdoor Seating
Description: The spirit of sharing Border-Style food lives on today at On The Border.
rendon
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Meh”
Reviewed December 9, 2012

The bucks of chips are to much it almost seems wasteful to know they will be thrown away at the end of the meal. The food was average. Strangely there where long gaps in time between every ones food been delivered to the table. Are water was a nice guy, but the managers appeared to be angry about something the whole time we where there.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank rainscotty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    12
    6
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“We're a fan of On the Border, whether in California or Texas.”
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Each restaurant is instructed on meal content. e.g. not enough choriso in one of the dishes but it was prepared according to the chain's instructions, said the Manager in CA.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank ESD1836
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mansfield, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“It's On The Border”
Reviewed July 11, 2012

Nothing really new to say -- this is your typical On The Border. Food is average Tex Mex. Service is fine, and prices are reasonable. If you want some reasonably priced tex mex and a good margarita, On The Border can meet your needs.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank jaynerwilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dallas12345
Level 5 Contributor
97 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Please take the chips away before I get stuck in the booth!”
Reviewed June 13, 2012 via mobile

This is my favorite spot in town for Mexican. The chips have a unique texture and flavor that I look forward to enjoying wherever someone mentions going there. Value is so-so, as you can't get lunch for much under $12. I will be back!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dallas12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“This place needs to be wrapped up like a piñata and beaten back to acceptable company standards.”
Reviewed May 27, 2012

This review is for “On the Border Mexican Grill on Hwy 287 in Mansfield, TX

I knew our dining experience was doomed when we sat down at the table and the hostess threw down the menus and utensils (did not pass them around the table) and left in a flash.

This was followed by a long delay to order & receive food, wrong items brought to the table, constant requests to refill our beverages, and almost leaving without paying because the waitress dragged her feet to close out our tab.

The food was okay but the sauce tasted like it was from of generic brand label and it was warm and not hot. The tortilla container was “sealed” and would not open due to a steam vapor lock but was finally loosened by a member of the kitchen staff after he slammed it on the counter about 20 times.

I’m not fooled by phony door greeters and scripted thank you “exit lines” by uninterested employees. I focus on good table service and good food and neither was had by my group.

This place needs some serious attention by management.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank glb310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed On The Border Mexican Grill & Cantina also viewed

 

Been to On The Border Mexican Grill & Cantina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing