We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Woodbine Hotel and Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Madisonville
Reviewed August 15, 2013

I love this place!!! We go here all the time for Ghost Hunting weekends. Definitely recommend it if you love Ghosts, History, and Old Bed and Breakfasts!! Went with Houston Ghost Tour many times to perform paranormal investigations. The food is to die for, and Susan the owner is awesome!!!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eterna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaxW06, Owner at Woodbine Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2013

Wow - fantastic. We have so much fun with the Ghost Investigations. Always interesting and intriguing people who come. They always find something on each visit - like Jane this time, our newest addition to the hotel. Looking forward to future investigations and the Murder Mystery Dinner Plays in November!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (49)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

29 - 35 of 49 reviews

Reviewed May 19, 2013

Just returned today from a quilting retreat weekend at the Woodbine. What a fun time. Susan and her staff did everything they could to make our stay wonderful. Having 14 friends spend 5 days sewing in the upstairs parlor is a treat. The food is awesome. From the French toast for breakfast, the specials for lunch, the tilapia for dinner then followed by the fabulous brunch on Sunday, you will not go away hungry. It is soothing to the soul to be able to sit outside in the late evening or the early morning listening to the quiet of the area, the splash of the pond or the croaking of the frogs. It was good for me to be with 13 special friends to share a love of quilting, laughing and time together. We are already booked for next year and we know Susan and her team will help to make our time there special.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Linda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2013

The Woodbine Hotel is a beautiful and charming place and seems to fit perfectly in this small town. Overall, our weekend stay was a good, with a few glitches.

Pro: The breakfast is delicious (the pecan-crusted French toast is awesome), the rooms have a wonderful antique look and feel and the second floor parlor is a great place to congregate if other family and friends are staying in rooms as well. There are books and games in the parlor, a refrigerator and microwave. The grounds are beautiful and a couple of the rooms open to the outside to the back courtyard where the fish pond is. (I was in the Eastlake Suite and it is one of those).

Con: While the pond is pretty to look at, it is noisy at night. There are several frogs around the pond and althoug they cannot be seen, they are heard and they start croaking as the sun goes down and will do so until sunrise. They can be pretty loud and can disrupt sleep or make it hard to go to sleep (if you are a light sleeper). The antique furniture in the rooms and the common areas is very pretty but not comfortable so sit on for long periods of time. The wardrobes in the rooms did not have hangers. If you are staying in Madisonville for a dressy occasion (i.e. graduaton at A&M, etc.) be sure to bring your own hangers for dress clothes.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lodging_Guru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2013

The grounds are beautiful, and if you love historical places, check this one out. All the furnishings and decorations are antiques and very charming. I particularly love the Madison suite, I have stayed in it twice now for week-long stays. They are pet friendly which is always a plus, and the breakfast part of the B&B is wonderful. Be sure to try the Rattlesnake Ranch Pecan Waffles. It's clean, priced very reasonably, and the staff is warm and welcoming.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank J C S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2013 via mobile

The Woodbine is truly a gem in Madisonville. Susan was a wonderfully hospitable and gracious host for our group. The food selections were so delicious and really showcased local ingredients. In addition to all of this, the house itself is a treasure. Over 100 years old and offers so much character during your stay. You won't regret giving this place a try!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lsubridget
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Woodbine just to get away for a day or so. It is practically local to our home in Conroe, so I could not believe I had never heard of it. Our stay exceeded our expectations in more than one way. First of all, we were looking to do absolutely nothing. No busy schedule, no time to keep. Perfect! The nice porches and the gazebo in the garden met our order. Our room, not unlike the hotel as a whole, took us back in time (with modern conveniences of course!) We had dinner at the restaurant, and the food was unbelievable. The care given to the preparation could not have been more obvious, and the flavors were impeccable. Breakfast the next morning was just as good, showing the same personal touch as dinner the night before. Susan was very friendly and she and her staff very accommodating. Before we ever left, we were looking for a reason to head back to Madisonville as soon as possible; then we realized that Woodbine itself is a good enough reason! We will make the hour or so drive just for the food, and hopefully will find the time to stay another night or two….

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Scott P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Woodbine for a night to split a journey from Houston to Dallas. We picked the hotel for its good location but also because it was independent and not linked to a chain. The building is old (1904) and very charming. Each of the rooms is dressed differently and we were in the East Turret with a entry off of the main porch of the building. Some of the decor is starting to get tired - but it adds to the character of the place.
The owners were great. They had a evening function as we arrived - but came to the hotel to check us in.
Dinner was not available as it was their winter break - but breakfast was excellent. My wife wants to return to try dinner.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GightRunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madisonville hotels
2.4 mi away
Madisonville Inn
Madisonville Inn
#2 of 5 in Madisonville
12 reviews
2.4 mi away
Best Western Executive Inn & Suites
1.9 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Madisonville
Days Inn & Suites Madisonville
#3 of 5 in Madisonville
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Woodbine Hotel and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woodbine Hotel and Restaurant

Address: 209 N Madison St, Madisonville, TX 77864-1509 (Formerly Woodbine Hotel and Museum)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Madisonville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Madisonville
Price Range: $109 - $157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Woodbine Hotel and Restaurant 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is a 1904 Victorian-Eastlake Historic Landmark featuring wrap-around porches and gorgeous gardens. World-class restaurant and full service bar serves lunch Tuesday - from 11 am to 2 pm, dinner Tuesday - Saturday from 6 - 8 pm and Sunday buffet from 11 am - 2 pm. Eight romantic rooms with king or queen beds, private baths, whirlpool tubs, flat screen TV's, movie channels, wireless internet, and full breakfast create the perfect romantic getaway half-way between Dallas, Houston and Austin. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire and Orbitz so you can book your Woodbine Hotel and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Woodbine Hotel Madisonville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing