We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun and Relaxing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Woodbine Hotel and Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Madisonville
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fun and Relaxing”
Reviewed July 28, 2011

We stayed one night at the Woodbine and ate at their restaurant on Saturday night and Sunday morning. I highly recommend the pecan pancakes! My husband had the omelette, and it was huge and delicious. On Saturday night we both had the prime rib. Other guests had various other dishes and they all commented that their food was good. I really do think it is the best place in town!

The service was great both at the hotel and at the restaurant. The owner of the Woodbine was able to accomodate the massage therapist from Lagniappe Massage Therapy in one of the upstairs suites when the air conditioner at her office wasn't working, so we were able to enjoy a massage just steps from our room.

The only thing that might be a bonus or a detraction depending on the guest, is that there was a rumor of a resident ghost named Clara. For me, that just added to the charm of this old hotel, but for others it might be scary. No sightings, but definitely a place with a lot of history! We enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: Stayed in the Eastlake suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank justimagineinc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    8
    5
    3
    6
See reviews for
10
17
3
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Conroe, Texas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2011

My husband and I stayed at Woodbine Hotel this past weekend. It had been listed in a Bed and Breakfast category. The room was nice and large with a king bed and large jacuzzi bath. However, the ceiling fan in the bedroom did not work. We were given no instructions on where to get bottled water or ice. The room had beautiful antiques, but no coasters to prevent drinks from leaving rings on the beautiful wood. There were some pretzels in a jar in the common area, but the paper towel dispenser was empty and no coffee maker. There was a microwave though. The host was very reserved and different from most hosts at the numberous bed and breakfast's we have stayed at. We had dinner at the restraurant. My husband's order was wrong, so they took both of our plates back. When mine was returned the prime rib was no longer medium and had obviously been re-heated or cooked longer. It was disappointing. They were out of most of the wine by the glass selections on the menu. It was just an "average" resturant experience. We were hoping for more after reading the advertisement.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gumbygrace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eddy, Texas
Level Contributor
257 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2011

My husband and I have stayed at the Woodbine Hotel many times and we have never been disappointed. We love relaxing and having chef prepared delicous meals and never leave the vintage hotel. We also love going with friends where we can enjoy a glass of wine, fabulous dinner, fun conversation or cards in the parlor and then a restful night. Besure and try the scrumptious pecan waffles for breakfast. The Woodbine is a delightful complete package and so affordable.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoyfulEddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, Louisiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2010

Where do I begin. From the moment I stepped into the door, I knew the place was special. After making it "home" for 7 weeks Sunday-Thursday, I regret having to leave. The building and grounds are an historic site to behold, in the middle of Madisonville, Texas. Surprisingly, it is not an old home converted into a hotel, but was actually built as a hotel in the late 1800's. All the rooms are furnished with authentic antiques from the era of when the hotel was built but also has jacuzzi tubs in each suite to provide the perfect weekend getaway. But as quaint, serene and historic as it is, it isn't a B&B. Each day the bed is made, towels are replaced and the room is tidied and kept by one of the staff, yes full service hotel treatment. Then each morning a made to order hot breakfast is served with whatever you request and however you request it. All menu items whether for Lunch and dinner are created with fresh, seasonal meats, produce, herbs and seasonings and are gourmet quality. You are called by first name and invited to join the owners, staff and other guests in the bar for an evening drink and familiar conversation. Bottom line, the Woodbine is as personal as home, as quaint and peaceful as a bed and breakfast and as accommodating and refined as a full service hotel.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank smiceli3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2010

The owner and chef, Susan, provided an absolutely fabulous experience for my colleagues and me. The rooms were invitingly comfortable, the whirlpool bath tub was the perfect end to a busy day, and the fresh hot breakfast was to die for! Who knew french toast could taste so much like heaven??!! Susan was more than accommodating of our needs and Max the chihuahua was an awesome co-host!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank angelfitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 25, 2010

I was part of the first quilting retreat held at the Woodbine Hotel. Upon arrival, our sewing tables were in place, electricity was arranged, ironing boards were up, and many snacks were provided to keep up our strength so that we could sew into the night.

The rooms were a vision of another life time in history. Each room had it's own personality and was full of artifacts from the past that included antique bathroom fixtures, furniture, drapes, ornate woodwork, and much more. I could close my eyes and envision life as my grandmother did as a child, young bride, mother and grandmother. It has inspired me to make many of the old time quilts that were used in the early 1900's.

Our Inn Keeper and Host, Susan, made sure we tasted the best cuisine imaginable. She served us prime rib, shrimp, fruits, salads, and so much more. Her rattlesnake ranch pecan coated french toast is superb! This was a treat to all of us. We did not have to cook any meals, or eat the retreat staples of cold cuts, salads, etc. We were treated royaly!

I had just undergone foot surgery seven days before our quilt retreat. The only negative experience for me was having to go up and down stairs. There is NO elevator. That said, I would crawl up the stairs to have another experience at the Woodbine Hotel. After the hotel was closed to the public for dining, Susan and her husband would come upstairs and visit with us. They have so many interesting stories to tell and share.

In conclusion, the room, utilities, food, service, and friendship was more than I could ask for. I give it a five-star rating and can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank memaflanagin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mont Belvieu, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2010

Wasn't sure what to expect after reading some of the previous reviews, but the pictures and descriptions on the website convinced us to give it a try. We arrived around 6PM and were able to check-in without any issues, everyone we spoke to were friendly and helpful. The hotel itself is an old historic building and as such is full of interesting architectural oddities and ornate moldings. Everything about the building and rooms was old and interesting and we enjoyed the uniqueness of the whole experience. Our room wasn't huge, but it was plenty big enough for the two of us and our motorcycle gear. Our dinner at the hotel restaurant was very good with a good selection of entrees. The portobello mushroom salad, prime rib salad and salmon entrees were well prepared and presented, total cost of our meals, with a bottle of local Texas wine and desert was $61, which we thought was very reasonable. The breakfast included with the room was complete and cooked to order, I had an omelet and the wife the pecan waffles, both of which were well prepared. The proprietor was our "waitress" and was most gracious. The room and building were clean and well kept but still had character and a unique ambiance. As we were leaving we asked the proprietor the location of the nearest hardware store as a odd sized metric screw had broken in one of our helmets and needed replacement. She summoned her husband who disappeared with the helmet and returned a few minutes later with new screw installed. Now that's service you won't get at any chain hotel. All the employees and staff we saw and spoke to were friendly and ready to help and/or show us all the nooks and crannies of the old building. If you are looking forward to staying in a sterile, cookie cutter hotel room this isn't the place for you, but if you are looking for something a little off the beaten path and with old time character I highly recommend the Woodbine. Our one night stay was very comfortable and we left refreshed, with every intention of returning in the near future.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nomadbiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Madisonville
2.4 mi away
Best Western Executive Inn & Suites
2.3 mi away
Madisonville Inn
Madisonville Inn
#3 of 5 in Madisonville
10 reviews
1.9 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Madisonville
Days Inn & Suites Madisonville
#4 of 5 in Madisonville
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.7 mi away
Days Inn Centerville
Days Inn Centerville
#1 of 2 in Centerville
18 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Woodbine Hotel and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woodbine Hotel and Restaurant

Property: Woodbine Hotel and Restaurant
Address: 209 N Madison St, Madisonville, TX 77864-1509 (Formerly Woodbine Hotel and Museum)
Location: United States > Texas > Madisonville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Madisonville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Woodbine Hotel and Restaurant 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is a 1904 Victorian-Eastlake Historic Landmark featuring wrap-around porches and gorgeous gardens. World-class restaurant and full service bar serves lunch Tuesday - from 11 am to 2 pm, dinner Tuesday - Saturday from 6 - 8 pm and Sunday buffet from 11 am - 2 pm. Eight romantic rooms with king or queen beds, private baths, whirlpool tubs, flat screen TV's, movie channels, wireless internet, and full breakfast create the perfect romantic getaway half-way between Dallas, Houston and Austin. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Woodbine Hotel and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Woodbine Hotel Madisonville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing