We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sit Back and Enjoy”
Review of City Market

City Market
Ranked #2 of 23 Restaurants in Luling
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Takeout
Houston, TX
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Sit Back and Enjoy”
Reviewed July 26, 2013

May be the best bbq in Texas. Bring cash, work your way to the back room on the right and get a big pile of links, brisket and ribs. Pick up some orange sauce, some cheese and a drink on your way up front. Sit down, try a bit of everything and enjoy. You will be thinking of this place for a long time, and wondering how you can make your way back for another taste!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bob C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

365 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    228
    90
    30
    8
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newton
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing BBQ!”
Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

Was in the area and stumbled across this place and decided to give it a try....best BBQ I've had in a very long time! A+ all the way. A must if you are near!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Joshua S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria. TX
2 reviews
“GOOD BBQ”
Reviewed July 17, 2013

The line at lunch time was long but moved relatively quickly. The "dark room" was great and harkened back to how BBQ should be. Side items were great especially the pinto beans, just like mom makes.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sam V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boerne, Texas
Level Contributor
34 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Best brisket ever”
Reviewed July 15, 2013

We stopped here on a day trip and only had a taste because we had already eaten at another barbecue place in Lockhart. I wish we had come here first. We tried only the brisket, but will be back to try everything else. It was the best brisket I've ever had. Moist, tender, and very tasty. Great smokey taste. The restaurant is old and quaint, but clean and comfortable. There was only a short wait (less than five minutes) for service. The staff was efficient and very friendly. We will definitely be back.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank vhdvhd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Euless, Texas
Level Contributor
92 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Best Sausage Ever!”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

My friends and I went on a BBQ tour through south Texas (stopped here, Smittie's in Lockhart, and Salt Lick) and this place definitely had the best sausage! Their prices were about 20% higher than Smitties, but totally worth it. The area that it is in is super cute, and don't let the long lines scare you off! They move really quickly!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nikki M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed City Market also viewed

 

Been to City Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing