We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Ainsworth House Inn
Nearby Hotels
$90
BestWestern.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$76
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Luling Inn(Luling)
$50
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Coachway Inn(Luling)
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (34)
Filter reviews
34 results
Traveler rating
32
2
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
32
2
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshighly recommend a staythis past weekendnext morningthe general managerwould stay here againweddingtxlinensaccommodations
Filter
Updating list...
26 - 31 of 34 reviews
Reviewed November 10, 2013

My boyfriend and I needed to get out of the hustle-and-bustle of Austin and a quick getaway was the trick. He found this house in Luling and we were sold. We love small town visits where you aren't distracted by huge events or hundreds of bars like Austin. We checked in, ordered a pizza and watched football and movies in our room the whole time. Loved every minute of it!

Very private space - excellent for couples. The house has 4 or 5 rooms, each very private and charming in their own way. Great coffee and tea - continental breakfast AND a hot breakfast prepared and served. Gives you a chance to meet others staying at the Inn. Cable, internet, nice bathrooms, extra everything (pillows, coffee, blankets, even candles for a nice bath together!)

I would recommend to any couple wanting a night alone with a cozy feel and a 5 star experience.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Lydia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2013

We stayed one night at the B&B and had a great time. We especially loved the huge porches & balconies to sit outside and enjoy the weather. It was also a lot of fun to hear about the history of the house.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Ljshutter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2013

We've dined at the 1896 Tavern Restaurant twice, first with a large group to celebrate an anniversary and second, an intimate meal with a few close friends. The ambience is one of relaxed elegance in a preserved historic home, with several small dining nooks, each with only a few tables. Live music completes the charm. The privacy is ideal whether you're looking for a romantic dinner for two or laughs with a bunch of friends, this is the place.
It's located in small town Luling but serves the cuisine you would expect to have in an upscale Austin establishment. The flavors, variety, and execution of all our dishes were excellent, including the wine list. Whether knocking back burgers and brews or lingering over your entree and a bottle of wine, you'll enjoy the 1896 Tavern Restaurant as we did.

Room Tip: We've only dined here. But the owner will show you around the available rooms for you to pick from.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RomanticCountryGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

The ‘1896 Tavern’ restaurant is located on the first floor of the Francis Ainsworth House and is open to the public. My husband recently chose the ‘The 1896 Tavern’, to host a nice family dinner for my birthday. We enjoyed a private room decorated in vintage décor and relaxed with our wine selections hearing wonderful music playing in the background. The restaurant menu was impressive with many things to choose from for everyone in our family. The food was served and presented very attractively, with generous portions, and it tasted as good as it looked. My adult family and I were very pleased with the birthday dining experience and we will definitely travel and return to the '1896 Tavern' for another nice dining evening at the Francis Ainsworth House. - Thank you Don !
- JB

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JBenTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2011

This turn of the century house, set in the heart of Luling, TX, is full of charm. We stayed in "Sarah's Suite" which was just off the upstairs side veranda (very cool). It had a welcoming big king sized bed that was quite cozy, a cheerful yellow bathroom, and all was very clean.

It was a beautiful fall day so my friends and I sat on the front veranda that stretched across the entire front of the house, and then later we sat at one of the picnic tables in the expansive front yard with it's beautiful shade trees.

There was quite a crowd for dinner. The 1876 tavern serves a varied menu, so we had a lot of interesting choices. I had the pork medallions and they were delicious, along with the tasty sides and salad. We all enjoyed our meals and the service was excellent.

The Tavern's Sunday Brunch starts at 11:30 in the morning, and is great. Their prices are so reasonable, the food yummy, portions are generous, and again the service was terrific. I had the sausage, bacon, potato cakes, and perfectly scrambled eggs. They've just started the Sunday Brunches. As the word spreads they're sure to have a line out the door.

Great for a little getaway.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caliegal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews