We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Great Dining Experience at the Francis-Ainsworth B&B - 11/3/12” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Ainsworth House Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Ainsworth House Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Luling B&B and Inns
Harwood, TX
1 review
“A Great Dining Experience at the Francis-Ainsworth B&B - 11/3/12”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

The ‘1896 Tavern’ restaurant is located on the first floor of the Francis Ainsworth House and is open to the public. My husband recently chose the ‘The 1896 Tavern’, to host a nice family dinner for my birthday. We enjoyed a private room decorated in vintage décor and relaxed with our wine selections hearing wonderful music playing in the background. The restaurant menu was impressive with many things to choose from for everyone in our family. The food was served and presented very attractively, with generous portions, and it tasted as good as it looked. My adult family and I were very pleased with the birthday dining experience and we will definitely travel and return to the '1896 Tavern' for another nice dining evening at the Francis Ainsworth House. - Thank you Don !
- JB

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JBenTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
14
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Venice Ca
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2011

This turn of the century house, set in the heart of Luling, TX, is full of charm. We stayed in "Sarah's Suite" which was just off the upstairs side veranda (very cool). It had a welcoming big king sized bed that was quite cozy, a cheerful yellow bathroom, and all was very clean.

It was a beautiful fall day so my friends and I sat on the front veranda that stretched across the entire front of the house, and then later we sat at one of the picnic tables in the expansive front yard with it's beautiful shade trees.

There was quite a crowd for dinner. The 1876 tavern serves a varied menu, so we had a lot of interesting choices. I had the pork medallions and they were delicious, along with the tasty sides and salad. We all enjoyed our meals and the service was excellent.

The Tavern's Sunday Brunch starts at 11:30 in the morning, and is great. Their prices are so reasonable, the food yummy, portions are generous, and again the service was terrific. I had the sausage, bacon, potato cakes, and perfectly scrambled eggs. They've just started the Sunday Brunches. As the word spreads they're sure to have a line out the door.

Great for a little getaway.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Caliegal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wylie, Texas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2011

The place was anything but a massacre. Don is a very pleasant person and likable, however his dog didn't like me but liked my wife. Dallas traffic and one accident in Waco made our 4.5 hr trip 6 hrs but he was available as soon as we arrived. We had a golf tournament benefiting the Wounded Warrior Project that Saturday morning so we missed breakfast and lunch but we did make a dinner and it was very good. Not something you'd think Luling Texas would have because it's known for the famous City Market BBQ so it was a surprise. That Saturday night they had a band playing all sorts of hits from the 80's 90's and then the movie played on the lawn. We meet some of the original cast members including Marilyn Burns. Our room was nice and had both old and new feelings with antique furniture and flat screen tv. If a B&B is supposed to be new age then I'd never stay at one. This one however I will stay at over and over. I now know people from there and they are thinking that they will make the golf outing an annual event, so we are in. Don't change a thing, there is no need to. If you do, replace with other antique but never the modernization of a hotel. Family no, couples most definitely. Watch for the events and make one. We also missed the Sunday brunch but heard it was great.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gator007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
usa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2011

This B & B Inn served as the home base for my daughters dream wedding, in the small town of Luling. The Bridal Luncheon was excellent. The people in Luling are "small town wonderful". The rooms at the Francis Ainsworth House met my expectations, the service was outstanding, the value was outstanding, and the cleanliness was outstanding. It was great having a restaurant right inside the B & B.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SatisfiedUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
usa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2010

What a place to stay. Myself and two friends stayed at the B & B in June of 2010. It was charming, elegant, quaint. The service was friendly and above all standards. The house itself is beautiful and decorated nicely. The dining room was fantastic and the food very good. We understand that the B & B is coming into a minor remodeling and updating, we can't wait to see how they can make it better. I highly recommend the B & B to all others and be sure to visit the Palmetto state park with in just a few miles away, great hiking trails.

Lazaro

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SatisfiedUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2010

Did not have a chance to stay at this B&B, but was allowed to take photos of my own of the place. The daily special in their restaurant was wonderful- not only were the portions very generous but very delicious and you're seated at and surrounded by lovely antiques.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ina__10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Luling hotels
3.7 mi away
Longhorn Inn & Suites
3.9 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Luling
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ainsworth House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ainsworth House Inn

Property: The Ainsworth House Inn
Address: 214 South Pecan, Luling, TX 78648 (Formerly Francis-Ainsworth House)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Luling
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Luling
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Ainsworth House Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Deep in the Heart of Luling, you will find the finest little jewel Central Texas has to offer. We have the best place to hang your hat, put your feet up, kick back, and enjoy a cold one. Our wrap-around porches provide the ideal spot to feel the cool breezes, relax, and just get away. Let us be your home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your The Ainsworth House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing