We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go On the First Saturday of the month!”

Ray's Drive In Cafe
Ranked #1 of 121 Restaurants in Lufkin
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Houston, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Go On the First Saturday of the month!”
Reviewed July 2, 2014

Nice little Classic/Muscle Car Show on the first Saturday of Every Month!! Great burgers and reasonably priced...A must see if youre in Lufkin!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Elie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    49
    14
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lufkin, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
305 reviews
209 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Bacon cheeseburger and onion rings keep me coming back!”
Reviewed April 12, 2014 via mobile

Ray's is a Lufkin institution! It's as good as a drive-in can get. Hamburgers are made to order, so don't get in a rush; just enjoy! My favorite is the bacon cheeseburger, but for heart disease prevention reasons, I can't enjoy one as often as I would like! But the REAL reason I keep coming back are those onion rings! A generous shake (or two!) of salt and some ketchup - the perfect side to a burger!

Helpful?
Thank LufkinSid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“No Ketchup :(”
Reviewed March 12, 2014

I got the rays special burger and an order of onion rings. The burger was good, but nothing special. The onion rings had no seasoning and we decided to take the food to the park nearby so my son could play. We realized they had forgotten our request for extra ketchup and given us none. Perhaps I could have eaten the onion rings if I had gotten ketchup. But since I didn't I don't recommend the onion rings. My son got fries, they were good, but lacked salt as well.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Marissa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lufkin, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Only Tried Once, But Made an Impression”
Reviewed January 29, 2014

The ladies who worked behind the counter were very sweet, helpful and patient with me. I ordered a burger, a shake and onion rings; all were very good! I would love to go back and try what else they have to offer, unfortunately I don't make it to that side of town much. :/

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lexi P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Disappointed!”
Reviewed August 22, 2013 via mobile

We heard great things about this burger place, but our family was not impressed. The chicken strips were good, but the burger was very plain, needed some seasoning. Maybe we just picked a bad day.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cpheller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ray's Drive In Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Ray's Drive In Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing