We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The animals are up close and personal!”
Review of Ellen Trout Zoo

Ellen Trout Zoo
Ranked #1 of 13 things to do in Lufkin
Certificate of Excellence
Texas
Level Contributor
153 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“The animals are up close and personal!”
Reviewed November 25, 2013

By far the zoo is my favorite place to take folks visiting Lufkin. The zoo has an outstanding collection of animals, including giraffes, lemurs, lions, hippos, birds and more. Great picnic spots scattered throughout. And be sure to ride the Z&OO train around the Ellen Trout Lake. (Yes, I still enjoy it even though my kids are grown!)

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Cotney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    132
    42
    13
    5
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Galveston Island, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“fun!”
Reviewed September 29, 2013

Never knew this was here! The kids ages 2 & 5 had a wonderful time. Perfect for our group, without having to go to a larger city. We spent the afternoon and rode the little train as well.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank OklahomaGirl2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NM
Level Contributor
29 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Very Nice and inexpensive”
Reviewed September 11, 2013

I took my granddaughter to this zoo last week. There were lots of trees shading the area so we remained cool throughout our visit. It was very nice, clean and no crowds, making it possible to get very good views of the animals. The fees are very reasonable, $5 adults, and $2.50 children. There are lots of peacocks roaming about and quite a few animals. Also there is a small train to ride around and through the trees for another $2.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank ducksmama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitehouse, Texas
Level Contributor
161 reviews
55 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Nice zoo!”
Reviewed September 5, 2013

We had a lot of fun when we visited this zoo. There are many different kinds of animals and it exceeded my expectations especially with how small it is. Very affordable and a fun way to spend the morning or afternoon.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Oriley2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lufkin, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“nice excursion in a hot environment”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

the Ellen Trout Zoo is a fun excursion -- especially if you have younger children who like animals.... it's also a nice, leisurely walk for older people who may not have the energy for a vast zoo experience.... though TX is wildly hot, the shade at the zoo makes this a most tolerable way to enjoy wildlife......

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank E L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ellen Trout Zoo also viewed

 

Been to Ellen Trout Zoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing