We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Seafood Entrees”
Review of Ralph & Kacoo's

Ralph & Kacoo's
Ranked #9 of 119 Restaurants in Lufkin
Price range: $15 - $30
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Northeast Texas
Level Contributor
46 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Wonderful Seafood Entrees”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

My daughter took me to Ralph & Kakoo's Cajun Seafood Restuarant for my birthday.
I had the stuffed crab and fried Shrimp on the Delta Double. My daughter ordered the Shrimp & Oysters also on the Delta Double. For dessert I received a free complimentary Bread Pudding
with a Walnut sauce. Everything was deliceous. And our server was great.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TejanaNortheastTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    67
    42
    10
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Houston
Level Contributor
55 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“A fun place to eat.”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

The restaurant has a real nice feel to it. Very clean and classy, with aquariums and fun Cajun music. The food is more of a blend of Texas meets Louisiana. The lunch menu has several selections under $10.
If you are wanting real authentic Creole cuisine, not so much here. But great food, easy to get to and a very pleasant dining experience.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank StevieGee82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
664 reviews
244 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 305 helpful votes
“Best Cajun on 59”
Reviewed August 17, 2013

This is one of the best of a chain of restaurants started in New Roads, LA along the False River. I have stopped at the Lufkin location many times in route between Houston and North Louisiana and have never had anything other than a wonderful meal. Ralph's may be a little more expensive than some seafood restaurants, but the food is always fresh and the portions are large enough that most leave with a "go-box". Onion rings, crab claws, gator, and fried pickles as appetizers are our favorites.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SaintVitas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
147 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
“Good Overall”
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Comfortable atmosphere and nicely decorated. We were seated immediately. Service was good and the menu included a good selection of seafood offerings - especially for being located in Lufkin. Our meal was delivered in a timely manner and the food was good. A little pricey but not bad considering it was seafood ( I spent a little over $20 for my entree). I'm guessing this is a place that excels in preparing certain menu items and that my experience would have been better if I had known what was best to order here. You might want to ask your server what the freshest and best items for the day are. Good overall and I will consider returning again when in the area. And on another note - this is billed as a Cajun place so please Turn Up the Zydeco!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AustinMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sugar Land, Texas
Level Contributor
255 reviews
169 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“"Get your creole on in Lufkin"”
Reviewed June 29, 2013

Met friends for lunch at Ralph & Kacoo's, right off Highway 59 before you reach the loop in Lufkin. This is your Cajun food restaurant in Lufkin, with the atmosphere to match. The lunch menu is extensive. We tried the gumbo and salads, both very good. The remoulade sauce for dressing is a must. Service was excellent, not a glass went empty. While not the best Cajun, we are from Houston, home to many superb creole restaurants, Ralph and Kacoo's is worth a visit in Lufkin. Enjoy!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Shuttrrbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ralph & Kacoo's also viewed

 

Been to Ralph & Kacoo's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing