We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"not so hot"”
Review of Ralph & Kacoo's

Ralph & Kacoo's
Ranked #10 of 118 Restaurants in Lufkin
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $30
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
The Woodlands, Texas
1 review
“"not so hot"”
Reviewed April 17, 2013

This was our second, (and last) visit to this place. We arrived thirty minutes prior to closing, our first mistake,
however issues thereafter was theirs. We were served warm baked rolls after our order was placed, which
was in fact the best aspect of our dinner. Everyone's food seemed leftover or frozen. We asked for additional
rolls to accompany our dinner and our party of four was given two rolls and told they had ran out. How does
a resturant run out out of bread? I ordered chopped sirloin which was over cooked, under seasoned,and cold.
Overall the food reminded me of D....ny's or a hospital.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank j b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    68
    43
    12
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lufkin, Texas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good food, lovely presentation”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Service was good and the food was delicious. My husband and I ate with a group, celebrating a birthday. The staff accommodated our large group and we brought our own cake and once again, the staff was very accommodating. (brought us extra plates and silverware.)

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longview, Texas
Level Contributor
60 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Class Place”
Reviewed April 4, 2013 via mobile

Stop here while traveling, txt a friend from Lufkin for a restaurant choice. Wow what a surprise, the place is beautiful with many fish tanks. Food is New Orleans style, had steak and shrimp. Desert was all made on site and great. This place is the best of big city dinning but in a small town

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Eric B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Wasn't as remembered”
Reviewed March 25, 2013

Having been to Ralph & Kakoo's December 2011, we were looking forward to another opportunity as we had such great memories; especially the wonderful rolls. Our hosts brought us from Nacogdoches and we were all eager. The rolls while tasty, hot and crispy were not the ones from before and not as memorable. One at our table had the grilled catfish and steamed vegetables which were outstanding. Another had the sirloin steak and reported it was good though only average. The other couple did not have such positive experiences. They will go back another time, but were disappointed that their "favorites" had declined and would order something else.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MN_Chill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
337 reviews
278 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Always Good”
Reviewed March 12, 2013

When working in Lufkin I always have to eat at this restaurant at least once during the week. Do not consider this the best Cajun around but the food is consistently good from my perspective. Our waiter was excellent and very attentive. I enjoyed the oysters on the half shell and followed up with their grilled Mahi. My guest enjoyed their all you can eat shrimp special for that night and we topped it off with the bread pudding. Their draft beers are fairly priced (stick with the talls for the best value) and they had an acceptable selection. Be back next time I am in town.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CheshireTurkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ralph & Kacoo's also viewed

 

Been to Ralph & Kacoo's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing