We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid the place if you are a traveler. Hit or miss on how you get treated.”

The Armadillo Farm Campground
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Luckenbach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Armadillo Farm Campground
Pine Knot, Kentucky
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Avoid the place if you are a traveler. Hit or miss on how you get treated.”
Reviewed May 15, 2014

after reading other reviews now i understand why she got mad when i asked if she was ever in the army.... i rode 1200 miles on a bike just to catch attitude from this lady.... after talking to the locals at the bar.... she gets alot of complaints and ppl only tolerate her, miserable .... if it wasnt next to a party spot nationally known she would get no business at all ... no wonder the place isnt full of full time rv'ers ..... it should be packed yr round........ i wish id known about the KOA nearby but i came in the back way and didnt know any better...... stay somewhere else where estrogen deficiency isnt an issue. and ..... BIKERS beware... i found 3 huge nails in front of my cabin. I left them on the porch steps Gaye so you know im not lying. How dare I bother you to ask about the town after closing hours....... worst RV park ive ever been to and i travel ALOT.

Room Tip: Its hit or miss on how she treats you, I had discussions with the locals after dealing with this wom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    5
    1
    5
    11
See reviews for
7
20
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
BROWNSVILLE
1 review
Reviewed January 6, 2014

My first encounter with the proprietor was a little scary, Now I want to hug her, she's not mean , she is just a Texan... God Bless her and her Dog....We are known as the MILD HOGS Motorcycle gang. I am 70 and one of the youngest one in the group. This place has character like you would not believe. The more times you go there the more it grows on you. Not real fancy but like I said, it has lot's of character.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jack J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2013

after having one beer at Luckenbach (all day), I called it a nite and got a spot at the Armadillo Farm which is 600 feet away. It was a cool evening, a sandwich and coke at my picnic table to enjoy a quiet spot under the stars. the neighbors were friendly and invited my to a birthday party, thanks Jeff. I wold recommend the location and the quiet location when traveling to Luckenbach or Fredricksburg area.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LanceMerrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona, United States
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2013

My husband and I stay every year for 2 weeks with our RV and that since 6 years now. Gay Jenkins is a very sweet and helpful lady who wants to make your stay an excellent experience. We always had our dogs (since 2 years we have two of them) with us and never had any problems with other customers staying there at the time. We also had friends of ours one year with us who were staying there ione of the very beautiful cabins. They also loved it very much. And as we are regulars by now we have lots of friends at the Armadillo Farm Campground who are permanent residents there. Thank you Gay! Manfred and Marlene from Tucson, AZ

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marlene F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 6, 2013

We stayed here for Octoberfest in the westy's place cottage. It was a fun experience and we were pleasantly surprised at how clean the cabin was. Perfect for a single or couple. We loved the fresh air and outdoorsy feel. The owner was very friendly and very helpful as to all the attractions in the area. We had the best time at Luckenbach, which was walking distance. We will be back again for sure!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jacksy04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tomball, Texas
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We stayed at Westy's Place,,, very clean, comfortable for the 2 of us.. had everything we needed and was very quiet and enjoyable.. out in the beautiful country... but close enough to town to run back and forth.. the best part is location.. right beside Luckenbach..thank you for an enjoyable weekend!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Darla G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Braunfels, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 25, 2013

My husband and I retired to New Braunfels, TX after living in Alaska for 16+ years. We decided to make a conscientious effort to explore Texas in our motor home this summer. We spent the fourth of July 2013 at The Armadillo Farm Campground which is located approximately a half mile just south of Luckenbach. We couldn't have had a better experience.

Our motor home site was very nice, and the owner, Gay, is very good about spacing her guests out around the park as opposed to placing the motor homes right next door to each other while there are multiple spots still open. In fact, we were given a choice of several camp spots to choose from. From our motor home travel experiences, that is not the norm. We truly appreciated having the option to choose a spot that we felt would work best for us.

The campground is clean and well taken care of. The shower house was charming, and the showers were great. We enjoyed hiking the area, and later found out that if your lucky, you may even meet some of The Armadillo Farm Campground resident musicians who play at Luckenbach.

Gay is very helpful and informative and goes out of her way to make you feel comfortable during your stay. She was more than willing to share with us the history of Luckenbach, and even gave us suggestions of other areas in the area that we might find interesting.

We will definitely make The Armadillo Farm Campground an annual 4th of July event!

Patty

Room Tip: We stayed in our motor home on a site with full hook-ups.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Piddlequeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Luckenbach
9.0 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#13 of 25 in Fredericksburg
255 reviews
7.8 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Fredericksburg
9.4 mi away
Inn on Barons Creek
Inn on Barons Creek
#4 of 25 in Fredericksburg
830 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Fredericksburg
9.3 mi away
Fredericksburg Inn & Suites
Fredericksburg Inn & Suites
#3 of 25 in Fredericksburg
810 reviews
0.4 mi away
Full Moon Inn
Full Moon Inn
#14 of 80 in Fredericksburg
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Armadillo Farm Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Armadillo Farm Campground

Property: The Armadillo Farm Campground
Address: 4950 Ranch Road 1376, Luckenbach, TX 78624-7479
Location: United States > Texas > Luckenbach
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Luckenbach
Number of rooms: 120
Also Known As:
The Armadillo Farm Campground Hotel Luckenbach
The Armadillo Farm Campground Luckenbach, Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing