We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“A forgettable experience !” 3 of 5 stars
Review of La Quinta Inn Lubbock - Downtown Civic Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added La Quinta Inn Lubbock - Downtown Civic Center to your Saves list
La Quinta Inn Lubbock - Downtown Civic Center
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   601 Ave Q, Lubbock, TX 79401-2613   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 25%
Ranked #42 of 62 Hotels in Lubbock
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
97 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“A forgettable experience !”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

The hotel was acceptable though I can't think of any notable (good or bad ) to say about it.
It was a hotel I know I stayed at but can barely think of anything that happened there. I remember thinking priced down by of $8.00 or so may have made it better value.
As for Lubbock. The hotel is in easy reach of The Buddy Holly museum and Buddy's grave site (get directions from the museum people). Check out Lubbock's Depot District. Lots of restaurant's and live music but it was September, 60f and raining when I was though so any charm it may have had was lost in a cold North wind !

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wilkesworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    65
    70
    47
    60
See reviews for
130
40
25
55
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Lublin, Poland
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

I'm currently staying at this motel. The room looks like it's been remodeled too many times and poorly with poor paint and surface wiring. The bed's been mashed into a triple-tapped outlet and has exposed some of the prongs of the plugged-in devices. The door seals poorly; if you have a teacup breed, it'll pass for a doggy door. The door safety latch is missing one of two pins and won't hold an intruder at bay. Better than M6, though.

Room Tip: Get a room nearest to the office, away from the back side where there is little traffic and a higher...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Helpful?
Thank Aqua F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Millstone, New Jersey
Level Contributor
52 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

I read the other negative reviews and almost canceled my reservation - but I didn't. First thing I did was take a big sniff for smoke when I opened the door - nothing!

L-shaped two-story property all with outdoor entrances.My room was on the first floor along the short side of the "L" - it the back of the building, The area was well lit at night but I wasn't too happy about the location.

The room was clean as was the bathroom. It's an older property so don't go looking for 'newness.' It's a place to stay while visiting - not a place to hang out with kids on a rainy day unless the kids bring their own electronic entertainment. Did not use the WiFi, The flat screen TV was new - 30 channels - king bed - clean sheets. Bathroom towels need to be replaced with fluffier ones. Iron and ironing board were all OK. There's a pool but I did not use it. Friendly staff. I got what i paid for.

Room Tip: Do not take a room on the short side of the building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Wayne, Indiana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

I travel extensively due to the nature of my businesses. Having stated this, I have seen and stayed at a myriad of hotels. The amount of effort put into this review will mirror that of the effort I received from the staff.....meager, at best.

* If you have children, continue driving.
* If you travel alone and are cautious as to your security settings, continue driving.
* If you want anything remotely close to a breakfast, continue driving.
* If you hope to stay in a non-smoking room, given the nature of your reservation, continue driving.

Room Tip: Simply stated, keep driving down the road, OR, sleep in your car if need be. Suffice it to stay, yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Serial_Entrepreneur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midland, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

We stay often at La Quinta’s across Texas, this has to be the absolute worst. Thinking a motel close to the Civic Center would be nice I booked a weekend away for my wife & myself. Room smelled heavily of smoke the bathroom particularly the toilet was filthy (poop). Called the front desk requested the room be cleaned as we went to dinner three hours later the room is still filthy. Called the desk and they sent a lady from housekeeping to clean the bathroom, after she left I had to get a live roach from the floor so my wife could use the restroom. Went to front desk to complain and was told I would be credited $25 on my bill. I informed them I would be checking out in the morning as my wife wanted to leave immediately. The next morning the TV didn’t work and when I checked out I was only credited $20. What a joke La Quinta needs to take this place back under corporate ownership it is a black eye on their name. I will continue to stay at La Quinta’s but never again at this one!!!
Terry K.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tkirk99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

Always stay at La Quinta Lubbock, TX on our way to/from Taos, NM each year. Service /room are always excellent. Checking in/out is easy and the staff is very helpful. For some reason our two Labs (Bella and Bruno) love staying their maybe because La Quinta is pet friendly.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lubbock hotels
2.9 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Lubbock West Medical Center
0.1 mi away
MCM Elegante Hotel & Suites
3.9 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Lubbock North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#35 of 62 in Lubbock
3.5 of 5 stars 82 reviews
3.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Lubbock Windsor Inn
2.7 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Lubbock Near Texas Tech
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Quinta Inn Lubbock - Downtown Civic Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn Lubbock - Downtown Civic Center

Property: La Quinta Inn Lubbock - Downtown Civic Center
Address: 601 Ave Q, Lubbock, TX 79401-2613
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Lubbock
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 62 Hotels in Lubbock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Quinta Inn Lubbock - Downtown Civic Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 137
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LaQuinta, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Hotwire, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your La Quinta Inn Lubbock - Downtown Civic Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lubbock La Quinta
La Quinta Lubbock

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing