We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“you need a vaccine to stay here”
Review of Koko Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Koko Inn
Ranked #60 of 69 Hotels in Lubbock
Reviewed July 23, 2012

Had the misfortune of staying here with my mother, sister and two small nephews, and we were able to get adjoining rooms for the evening. My youngest nephew is crawling and we noticed the floor had tons of food particles, we asked the front desk attendant to have someone come vacuum, we were told that housekeeping was off for the day and to just keep the baby off the floor. My moms said NO just bring ME a vacuum and we would take care of it…so they did. Really, we should clean our own room? Come to find out they now rent this place by the hour, prostitutes roam about the atrium the and the staff’s children run the pool from 8am to 10pm. Upon pulling my mom’s bed back we were disgusted to see what appeared to be male body fluid all over the sheets, my sisters bed had crushed food particles between the fitted and top sheet and the box spring was broken. There was black mold on the walls in the bathroom, loose wiring hanging from the ceiling, the carpet was sticking and left your feet black, and the room smelled so bad I wanted to puke! ATTN Health department PLEASE MAKE A VISIT! I feel like I should have had some sort of vaccination after staying here…DISGUSTING!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dawna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gibi G, General Manager at Koko Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2012

Give me a break! Why would anyone stay in the place described for 5 min. less an entire night?
Freedom of speech is wonderful and should not be used for untruths. To have a problem and voice it is fine, but to write things that just are not true is wrong.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (54)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

27 - 33 of 54 reviews

Reviewed July 18, 2012

Awesome very safe and kid friendly. Love the pool and very good service and great view. Rooms are clean. And service is amazing

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Denverlover53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gibi G, Manager at Koko Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2012

We are so happy you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to serving you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2012

Felty and smelly room, hookers parking cars waiting for customers at night in front of the parking lot of the guest rooms. Noisy all night long from cars and people talking in front of the parking lot. Room very hot, AC smells, bath tub and sink stained and rusty. Carpet seemed never been vaccumed for months. There were bugs and blood stained on my sheet. Very sorry that I stayed due to all hotels booked for graduations that weekend and could not find any rooms. My room was pre paid with no refund. Dirty all around in the pool area and rooms. I got sick from stayed at this place. Health Department should check in on this place.

Room Tip: "a felty place"
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Whitesands451
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gibi G, Manager at Koko Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2012

We do not have a no refund policy at this hotel. If ever one our our guest are not satisfied, we will make every effort to fix it.
Did you report any problems to the Desk or Manager? Please call me so we can discuss it. We have a Watchman on duty at night to take care of any problems.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2012

Shuttle service available. Various restruants and shopping within walking distance. Inside is a breathtaking view for a botinest.
Only complaint is no room service or valet.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Driverbarry7855
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gibi G, Manager at Koko Inn, responded to this reviewResponded February 1, 2012

Thanks for the great review. We are really working hard to up grade this property. Our Employees can not be beat, and our Guests are wonderful!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2011

Arrived in Lubbock on Friday night with a $30ish voucher for this place only to find that the local college football teams were playing this weekend and that the rate had been trebled.
Probably good when it was built in the 50s or 60s but old and weary now with it's inward facing rooms overlooking the inside garden borders,decking and pool giving the outside/inside feel.
Room was clean enough and bed comfortable but very off putting to lay in bed the next morning and hear somebody using the toilet immediately over you head in the room above.
Front desk man by the name of Andy was very friendly and helpful so for him alone would probably use again at the right price.
Good security on external back doors

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank calimagna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gibi G, Manager at Koko Inn, responded to this reviewResponded December 7, 2011

First of all, thank you for staying at the Koko Inn. I am so sorry about us not taking the coupon over a football weekend. We only take them Sunday through Thursday nights. Our rates do go up on special event weekends, but we try to still keep our rates in line. I hope next time you are in town you will come see us again. We have just brought our new in room a.c / heater units up, and are making improvements everyday.
Sincerely,
Phyllis Crable
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2011

Yes, it might only be $40 a night but this place is seriously awful. Thin grey sheets, thin yellow towels, dirty carpet, dirty bedspreads, smelly, lots of pubic hairs in the bathroom. YUCK. This is the kind of place you really need to check for bedbugs. Not sure why we didn't just leave and find somewhere better. It was rated well in Lonely Planet but I imagine the reviewer didn't even set foot in the place. Rude staff. Lots of residents and truckers and hookers and god knows what else. AVOID AT ALL COSTS.

Room Tip: Avoid staying here
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank FamilyofthreeSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gibi G, Manager at Koko Inn, responded to this reviewResponded December 7, 2011

First of all I have a hard time responding to this, because it does not sound like our hotel. I can not imagine staying 5 min. in the place you described. Did you report this to the front desk or ask for a Manager? There is no way we would not have sent someone to check that room. The least we would have done is moved you with a discount, or a full refund if you did not want to stay. We do have trucking crews that stay at our property and they are the nicest, cleanest guest we could ask for. I have no idea why you would put them in the same sentence with a Hooker. We strive to give good service and anytime we do not, we have failed in our duties. Please anytime you have a problem in a hotel let the desk know, if you do not get the responce you want ask for the Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2011

Gross! smells awful (crack or b.o...prob. both)most of the guests appear to fall into 2 categories..hookers or lookers. words do not describe the smell, and not kidding when I say its hard to tell if its comin from staff

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Crosscntrylivin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gibi G, General Manager at Koko Inn, responded to this reviewResponded December 8, 2011

This statement does not deserve a responce.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lubbock hotels
1.1 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn-Lubbock East
1.2 mi away
WoodSpring Suites Lubbock South
0.5 mi away
Econo Lodge I-27
Econo Lodge I-27
#44 of 69 in Lubbock
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Red Roof Inn & Conference Center Lubbock
5.2 mi away
Sleep Inn And Suites Lubbock
1.0 mi away
Super 8 Lubbock TX
Super 8 Lubbock TX
#33 of 69 in Lubbock
580 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Koko Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Koko Inn

Address: 5201 Avenue Q, Lubbock, TX 79412
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Lubbock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 69 Hotels in Lubbock
Price Range: $50 - $84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Koko Inn 1.5*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Koko Inn Lubbock TexasTruly Texas Friendly! Come enjoy our tropical atrium with heated pool, come relax on our redwood deck, read a book or just watch the kids play in the pool.We offer free shuttle service to and from the airport, morning coffee in the lobby, work station,free wifi, 50 tv channels with HBO & Showtime & 3 ESPN channels. The Staff and Management look forward to serving you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Koko Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Koko Hotel Lubbock

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing