We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rooms not very nice but great indoor pool”
Review of Clarion Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Clarion Hotel
Ranked #46 of 68 Hotels in Lubbock
Houston, TX
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Rooms not very nice but great indoor pool”
Reviewed June 30, 2010

Rooms are dated, musty, in need of renovation. Was rated 3 stars but should be 2.5. Initially gave us a smoking room despite checking via phone after reservation made and asking again at front desk upon check in. They do have a really nice atrium with indoor pool that seems out of place compared to the rest of the hotel and room quality.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ron_L_64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KristinMurray, General Manager at Clarion Hotel, responded to this review, July 8, 2010
Thank you for taking the time to complete a Trip Advisor review. We appreciate all feedback that will make your next stay in Lubbock more enjoyable. I apologize that you experienced problems with the guest room you were pre-assigned and I hope that we were able to correct the issue for you. If you need anything please do not hesitate to let us know.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    51
    48
    34
    40
See reviews for
93
29
13
47
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
wilson
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 6, 2010

After a long day it was nice to be able to check in with no hassle, as we were greeted with a smile and knowledgable staff. The room was very clean and we loved the indoor pool.The hotel is a perfect match for everybody who wants to combine family environment with an excellent accomodation. Our family will stay here again for future family vacations!!!!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank piwonka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KristinMurray, General Manager at Clarion Hotel, responded to this review, April 8, 2010
Thank you for taking the time to complete a review. It is always exciting to hear from our guests. We look forward to serving you again the next time your travel needs bring you to Lubbock.

Sincerely,

Kristin Murray
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Braunfels, TX
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 1, 2010

Since my husband and I got married back in 1994, we've gone to Lubbock at least once a year to visit family and we've always stayed at the Holiday Inn Lubbock Park Plaza. As our family has grown to having 4 kids, we've upgraded to staying in one of the suites and it makes for a much less stressful visit with the extra room. Our boys love the indoor pool and the open atrium area and we all enjoy eating breakfast downstairs in the restaurant. The beds are VERY comfortable, too. My husband likes to exercise in the guest work-out room in the mornings. The hotel is located on the Loop which makes it easy to get around town if you want to visit some of the local attractions - Texas Tech University, the Science Spectrum, numerous parks, etc. The staff is friendly and helpful, too. I can't remember ever having a bad experience there. Looking forward to the next time!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GraceHopperNB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KristinMurray, General Manager at Clarion Hotel, responded to this review, April 8, 2010
Thank you for your wonderful review. It is exciting to hear that we have been able to continue to be a part of your traveling tradition to the Lubbock area. We look forward to serving you for many years to come.

Sincerely,

Kristin Murray
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lubbock, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2010

I spent two nights at the Holiday Inn Park Plaza in early March for a family reunion. The staff was awsome. The front desk people went out of their way to make sure our stay great. Our family reunion was so nice because this place is so nice. The atrium is spectacular. It is filled with all sorts of tropical plants and the fountain was beautiful. The space is huge so there is room for everybody to have their own space and not feel crowded by other guests. The bar area was nice and cozy and not too loud. I had an omlette in the Cafe that was delicious. Over all I would recommend this hotel for good service, clean rooms and great location.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank texaschik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KristinMurray, General Manager at Clarion Hotel, responded to this review, April 8, 2010
Thank you for taking the time to complete a review on the Holiday Inn Park Plaza. I am excited to hear that your family used our facilities for the reunion. We hope to continue to be a part of your family tradition.

Sincerely,

Kristin Murray
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south carolina
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed February 19, 2010

The room was very large and clean, however the bathroom needs to be remodeled. The caulk is old and it is a bit dingy. To be fair to the hotel, we did not see the courtyard or use any of the extras (pool, restaurant, exercise room), so they may have been quite nice. The staff was polite, and the location is pretty good. The beds were very comfortable.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank cjtristin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KristinMurray, General Manager at Clarion Hotel, responded to this review, April 8, 2010
Thank you for taking the time to complete a survey. We appreciate your feed back. I hope the next time you are in Lubbock you will get the opportunity to stay with us and experience our indoor pool and atrium area.

Sincerely,

Kristin Murray
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2010

I stayed at this hotel while driving cross country in Nov 2009. Texas is a huge state, so we had no choice but to spend a night in Lubbock. We arrived late at night, and our check in was quick and easy. The girl who checked us in was cheerful and helpful.
We were given a room on the inside of the second level. No elevators, so we had to drag our luggage up the stairs. The hotel itself could use a little updating. Our room was large, clean and basic - just what we wanted for an overnight stay. You need your room key to access the inside level, which is always a plus in terms of safety. They also had free internet in the rooms. I would recommend this hotel if you're looking for a comfortable night's rest.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DH2770
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KristinMurray, Manager at Clarion Hotel, responded to this review, February 1, 2010
Thank you for taking the time to complete a survey. We hope the next time your travel plans bring you to West Texas you will once again select the Holiday Inn Park Plaza for your lodging needs.

Sincerely,


Kristin Murray
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, NM
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2010

This was the 2nd stay at this date. The rooms are huge, clean, and I love the covered courtyard. I didn't eat in the attached restaurant, but my room had a microwave and I made my own food. The staff was very friendly, and there was cable and wi-fi. I liked having a covered courtyard for visiting with others or swimming in the pool. My only suggestion to the owners would be to have the pool closed to youths earlier; they tend to be a bit noisy for guests after 9, and they run around yelling a lot. Other than that, I love this place, and won't stay anywhere else when I'm in lubbock. Three of our times we made our reservations online, and once by phone as we were driving into town.

  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynnsdaughter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KristinMurray, Manager at Clarion Hotel, responded to this review, February 1, 2010
Thank you for taking the time to complete a Trip Advisor survey! We appreciate your feedback and your business. We hope to see you on your next trip to Lubbock.

Thank you for your business,

Kristin Murray
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lubbock hotels
2.1 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#24 of 68 in Lubbock
109 reviews
2.2 mi away
Red Roof Inn & Conference Center Lubbock
2.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lubbock
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Ashmore Inn and Suites
Ashmore Inn and Suites
#31 of 68 in Lubbock
179 reviews
0.5 mi away
Studio 6 Lubbock TX
Studio 6 Lubbock TX
#25 of 68 in Lubbock
207 reviews
2.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Lubbock Windsor Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Hotel

Property: Clarion Hotel
Address: 3201 S Loop 289, Lubbock, TX 79423-1320 (Formerly Holiday Inn Lubbock Park Plaza)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Lubbock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 68 Hotels in Lubbock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Clarion Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 203
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Choice Hotels, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Clarion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Lubbock Park Plaza Hotel Lubbock
Park Plaza Lubbock
Lubbock Park Plaza
Lubbock Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing