We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Inside”
Review of Clarion Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Clarion Hotel
Ranked #44 of 66 Hotels in Lubbock
Deming, New Mexico
1 review
“Beautiful Inside”
Reviewed March 26, 2013

My purpose for staying at the Holiday Inn on Hwy 289 /Indiana was to have a place to stay during a family crisis. I did not apprciate the management's attitude toward the crisis in that I was told I could utilize the Hotel shuttle service at anytime that was reasonable during the day to visit the family member at the UMC Burn Center. I was told I could get a ride there but would have to call a taxi to return to the Hotel. Fortunately for me Polland Friendly Ford was working on my car and offered unlimited trips anywhere in their shuttle. My wife and I were so pleased with the service and true compassion for our family that we bought a new Escape from Pollard. You cannot beat that type of customer relations!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johncpo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian Scott A, General Manager at Clarion Hotel, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
We, at the Holiday Inn Park Plaza, would like to thank you for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor and apologize for the experience you had with our shuttle service. We are not sure as to the circumstances of the situation you experienced, but can assure you this is not normal. Our shuttle's main purpose is for Airport traffic, but in general has no issues taking people to and from the medical centers in Lubbock, TX. Whoever the employee was that you dealt with apparently did a poor job explaining how our shuttle operates, and we will look into this matter with due diligence. Especially under the circumstances of your situation the entire hotel wishes you the best and hopes that you will give us another chance in the future to make it up to you, hopefully under better circumstances
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    50
    47
    33
    38
See reviews for
88
29
13
48
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Odessa, TX
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at this hotel very much. The price was right, the rooms were great. My granddaughter enjoyed the indoor pool even though saturday afternoon it was so crowded you could hardly get around. They went in sunday morning when it first opened and it was much better. We had breakfast in the hotel restaurant, the buffet, and it was amazing. The woman on duty was busy, busy but was great. The food was GREAT!!! Will stay there again for sure.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nickicf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian Scott A, General Manager at Clarion Hotel, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay with us. We apreciate all comments and suggestions, and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2013

We were in Lubbock for Law School event for one night. This hotel has been in business for a very long time and still looks great. They have an indoor pool and a beautiful plant area around the pool. Our room was average size, clean, quiet and comfortable. We had an "indoor" room wich means the window looks out on the pool area. Other rooms have an outside view mostly of the parking lot. We didn't take the kid, but it seems like a very child friendsly hotel. They also have breakfast. Overall a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amarige
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian Scott A, General Manager at Clarion Hotel, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
We thank you for staying with us and for your comments. We truly appreciate such nice comments and hope to see you again soon. Without comments like yours we would not have the opportunity to improve upon our services, and the feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to celebrate service and show appreciation to our staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monticello, Minnesota
Level Contributor
104 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

This is a very nice older Holiday Inn. Great Pool area with ok bar area. They do not have a hot tub. I love hot tubs so that was a bit of a let down. The rooms are very large for a holiday inn of this vintage. Very large clean comfy and well kept. Brick construction seem to help a lot with keep the rooms Quite. My room the first week I stayed had a bit of an order but the room the second week was good. The beds are just right for me soft but very supportive. If working in the area again will say here.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ScottyTravels1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian Scott A, General Manager at Clarion Hotel, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
We thank you for staying with us and for your comments. We truly appreciate wonderful comments like yours and hope to see you again soon. Comments like yours allows us the opportunity to improve upon our services, and the feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to celebrate service and show appreciation to our staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marble, Minnesota, United States
Level Contributor
43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2013

We had our gang startup week here. The breakfast buffet and the lunches were really nice. And the food was delicious. The accommodations were very roomy and the rooms are huge. Housekeeping was so very nice!!! Loved it here. The beds were so comfortable I had no problem sleeping till the alarm went off.

Room Tip: The poolside rooms were very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ted N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian Scott A, General Manager at Clarion Hotel, responded to this review, January 19, 2013
We thank you for staying with us and for your comments. We truly appreciate such nice comments and hope to see you again soon. Without comments like yours we would not have the opportunity to improve upon our services, and the feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to celebrate service and show appreciation to our staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Missouri, United States
1 review
Reviewed December 27, 2012

We stay every Christmas at this hotel, at least for the last 8 or so years, this is an older hotel but has always been taken care of. During this stay we were upgraded and usually are but this time In in room 143 we found roaches, German roaches, medication and candy that was left behind several pieces of furniture, we notified the front desk and a maintenance man came around but we were not quite ready to leave for the day and he left us a can of raid so "we could spray ourselves". The parlor room was very dusty and a cleaning lady came and wiped the heating unit but this room needs the doors re-sealed. We were moved into another parlor suite, "we are treated well at this location", in our new room we requested a couple of softer pillows and an extra blanket in the morning to the front desk clerks, two of them, when we returned about 10:30 pm, still no pillows or blanket! And the room had been made up but the towels were all just tossed on the coffee table. We normally receive breakfast voutchers here being priority platinum but not this trip.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian Scott A, General Manager at Clarion Hotel, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
We thank you for staying with us and for your comments. We are deeply sorry that you found some aspects of the Holiday Inn Park Plaza less than satisfactory, but we do in fact have monthly pest control services by EcoLab. The Engineer that visited your room should never have left any kind of spray with you, but instead should have asked you for a convenient time to come back to look at the situation. We will be looking into these issues as well as the issues with Housekeeping. Without comments like yours we would not have the opportunity to improve upon our services, and the feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas, in this instance it appears you had a problem with housekeeping, maintenance and pest control. We welcome all opportunities to improve, and definitely apologize for the issues you discussed above; we will look into them. We are striving to improve our services and our product, so issues like yours do not occur for our future guests. Thank you for your comments, we hope we can serve you again, and give you a better experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plano, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 21, 2012

Clean room. All of what we expected it to be. We, like some of the others, were both puzzled as well as disappointed to find that breakfast was not included. We would stay here again, provided the dust stays away or at a minimum.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KaJBorg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian Scott A, General Manager at Clarion Hotel, responded to this review, December 24, 2012
Thank you for staying with us and leaving such a detailed review. I am deeply sorry you found some aspects of our hotel less than satisfactory. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas. We welcome any opportunity to improve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lubbock hotels
4.2 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#2 of 66 in Lubbock
4.5 of 5 bubbles 669 reviews
2.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Lubbock Windsor Inn
2.2 mi away
Red Roof Inn & Conference Center Lubbock
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lubbock
0.5 mi away
Studio 6 Lubbock TX
Studio 6 Lubbock TX
#26 of 66 in Lubbock
3.5 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
1.0 mi away
Ashmore Inn and Suites
Ashmore Inn and Suites
#29 of 66 in Lubbock
3.5 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Hotel

Property: Clarion Hotel
Address: 3201 S Loop 289, Lubbock, TX 79423-1320 (Formerly Holiday Inn Lubbock Park Plaza)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Lubbock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 66 Hotels in Lubbock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Clarion Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 203
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Clarion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Lubbock Park Plaza Hotel Lubbock
Park Plaza Lubbock
Lubbock Park Plaza
Lubbock Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing