We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“t'was the weekend before Christmas ...”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Clarion Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Clarion Hotel
Ranked #40 of 65 Hotels in Lubbock
Plano, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“t'was the weekend before Christmas ...”
Reviewed December 21, 2012

Clean room. All of what we expected it to be. We, like some of the others, were both puzzled as well as disappointed to find that breakfast was not included. We would stay here again, provided the dust stays away or at a minimum.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KaJBorg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian Scott A, General Manager at Clarion Hotel, responded to this review, December 24, 2012
Thank you for staying with us and leaving such a detailed review. I am deeply sorry you found some aspects of our hotel less than satisfactory. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas. We welcome any opportunity to improve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    50
    47
    31
    35
See reviews for
86
29
13
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Abilene, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 4, 2012

Was not greeted as a Priority Club Member.
Wasn not told about breakfast or any of the other things the hotel might offer, There were two people on the front desk on arrival, one was on the phone (personal call) you could tell by the way she was talking, the one that checked me in was not friendly, or informative about the hotel. The young lady that checked me out was very friendly, Also the maid service knocked on our door before 9:00 am wanting to clean the room, WHY!!!!! Check out is Noon..

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debora B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian Scott A, General Manager at Clarion Hotel, responded to this review, December 24, 2012
We thank you for staying with us and for your comments. We are deeply sorry that you found some aspects of the Holiday Inn Park Plaza less than satisfactory. Without comments like yours we would not have the opportunity to improve upon our services, and the feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas. We welcome all opportunities to improve, and definitely apologize for the issues you discussed above; we will look into them. We are striving to improve our services and our product, so issues like yours do not occur for our future guests. Thank you for your comments, we hope we can serve you again, and give you a better experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruidoso, New Mexico
Level Contributor
56 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2012

First I want to tell why we will never again stay here. I booked our room for 2 queen beds, smoking room for Nov. 21 for one night. My husband and I were traveling for Thanksgiving and we always book our room here for the night. When we arrived from New Mexico, we were tired and looking forward to getting into our room. I had my printout of my confirmation that had been emailed to me. The young man at the front desk told us our reservation had been cancelled by Holiday Inn central reservations and did not know why. We were, to say the least, we were not happy. I had the confirmation number in front of him. I booked the room by calling Lubbock, not central reservations. I assured him that we did not cancel our reservation. Why would we, when we had traveled all day and were tired. He did find us a room, but it was 2 double beds, smoking. Fine, we just outside to smoke. The room was on the backside and was a little dated, but we had a room. I would like to have some response from the manager or CEO as to why we were cancelled. I believe our room should be comped! The front desk man did give us $8.00 off...WOW! We will find somewhere else next time and would not recommend to friends.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank motorcycle15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian Scott A, General Manager at Clarion Hotel, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
We want to apologies for the issues you experienced with your reservation, and let you know we are looking into the situation. I have attempted to contact you by telephone and email, but was unable to reach you. We would like to discuss this situation with you further, so that we might find a solution to what occurred. Again, we apologize that this happened and hope you will reconsider letting it cause you to take your business elsewhere.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmond
Level Contributor
155 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2012

This Holiday Inn follows a theme of some others I've stayed at in recnet months - a large attrium area for weddings and such, with the rooms facing inwards to the attrium. Didn't try the pool, the air temperature seemed too cold for swimming. The exercise room is small; a couple of treadmills, a bike and a stairmaster.
Probably the biggest disappointment was being ignored at breakfast - once the waitress saw I had a vouchure for breakfast, she never came back - no catsup that morning!
I thing I'll try somewhere else next time.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HEF2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian Scott A, General Manager at Clarion Hotel, responded to this review, November 3, 2012
We thank you for staying with us and for your comments. We are deeply sorry that you found some aspects of the Holiday Inn Park Plaza less than satisfactory. Without comments like yours we would not have the opportunity to improve upon our services, and the feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas. We welcome all opportunities to improve, and definitely apologize for the issues you discussed above; we will look into them. We are striving to improve our services and our product, so issues like yours do not occur for our future guests. Thank you for your comments, we hope we can serve you again, and give you a better experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed October 19, 2012

Angela Howard is a great asset for this hotel. The made sure that what we had was great. I will definitely stay here again because of her. Breakfast is the most important part of my day so it was good to get it off to a great start with a great customer experience!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MelissaAtkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian Scott A, General Manager at Clarion Hotel, responded to this review, October 21, 2012
We want to thank you for your wonderful comments about your experience with us here at the Holiday Inn Park Plaza. It is always wonderful to hear how our efforts are effecting our guests and how they feel about our services. We are very excited that you enjoyed your stay and the services provided by our staff, specifically in the Cafe'. Your comments will be shared with our staff, so that we may build upon this success. Again thank you for your comments, we hope we can serve you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed October 19, 2012

We had breakfast at the hotel every morning of our stay! The hostess Angela Howard was great! She always had a smile on her face and remembered who you were and if you drank coffee or not. She is always taking plates up and asking if you are ok! The food was great and if you are wanting a clean great experience I would highly recommend staying here and eating breakfast because Angela sure knows how to take care of you! There should be more Angela's everywhere. The rooms were nice and cleaned every day and overall a great atmosphere! Pricing is very good as well!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pvalenz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian Scott A, General Manager at Clarion Hotel, responded to this review, October 21, 2012
We want to thank you for your wonderful comments about your experience with us here at the Holiday Inn Park Plaza. It is always wonderful to hear how our efforts are effecting our guests and how they feel about our services. We are very excited that you enjoyed your stay and the services provided by our staff, specifically in our Cafe'. Your comments will be shared with our staff, so that we may build upon this success. Again thank you for your comments, we hope we can serve you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City
Level Contributor
87 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2012

We had booked rooms for business travel at another hotel - that wouldn't let us check in when we arrived. I called all over Lubbock before finding the Holiday Inn- the desk staff was wonderful, & we were checked in within minutes. They went above and beyond to get my technicians taken care of!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KCJ2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian Scott A, General Manager at Clarion Hotel, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
We want to thank you for your wonderful comments about your experience with us here at the Holiday Inn Park Plaza. It is always wonderful to hear how our efforts are effecting our guests and how they feel about our services. We are very excited that you enjoyed your stay and the services provided by our staff, specifically at the front desk. Your comments will be shared with our staff, so that we may build upon this success. Again thank you for your comments, we hope we can serve you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lubbock hotels
2.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Lubbock Windsor Inn
4.2 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#2 of 65 in Lubbock
665 reviews
2.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lubbock
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Red Roof Inn & Conference Center Lubbock
0.5 mi away
Studio 6 Lubbock TX
Studio 6 Lubbock TX
#26 of 65 in Lubbock
193 reviews
3.9 mi away
My Place Hotel - Lubbock, TX
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Hotel

Property: Clarion Hotel
Address: 3201 S Loop 289, Lubbock, TX 79423-1320 (Formerly Holiday Inn Lubbock Park Plaza)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Lubbock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 65 Hotels in Lubbock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Clarion Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 203
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Clarion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Lubbock Park Plaza Hotel Lubbock
Park Plaza Lubbock
Lubbock Park Plaza
Lubbock Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing