We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad, a little dated”
Review of Clarion Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Clarion Hotel
Ranked #48 of 69 Hotels in Lubbock
Reviewed November 1, 2012

This Holiday Inn follows a theme of some others I've stayed at in recnet months - a large attrium area for weddings and such, with the rooms facing inwards to the attrium. Didn't try the pool, the air temperature seemed too cold for swimming. The exercise room is small; a couple of treadmills, a bike and a stairmaster.
Probably the biggest disappointment was being ignored at breakfast - once the waitress saw I had a vouchure for breakfast, she never came back - no catsup that morning!
I thing I'll try somewhere else next time.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HEF2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian Scott A, General Manager at Clarion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2012

We thank you for staying with us and for your comments. We are deeply sorry that you found some aspects of the Holiday Inn Park Plaza less than satisfactory. Without comments like yours we would not have the opportunity to improve upon our services, and the feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas. We welcome all opportunities to improve, and definitely apologize for the issues you discussed above; we will look into them. We are striving to improve our services and our product, so issues like yours do not occur for our future guests. Thank you for your comments, we hope we can serve you again, and give you a better experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (232)
There are newer reviews for Clarion Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

163 - 169 of 232 reviews

Reviewed October 19, 2012

Angela Howard is a great asset for this hotel. The made sure that what we had was great. I will definitely stay here again because of her. Breakfast is the most important part of my day so it was good to get it off to a great start with a great customer experience!

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MelissaAtkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian Scott A, General Manager at Clarion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2012

We want to thank you for your wonderful comments about your experience with us here at the Holiday Inn Park Plaza. It is always wonderful to hear how our efforts are effecting our guests and how they feel about our services. We are very excited that you enjoyed your stay and the services provided by our staff, specifically in the Cafe'. Your comments will be shared with our staff, so that we may build upon this success. Again thank you for your comments, we hope we can serve you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2012

We had breakfast at the hotel every morning of our stay! The hostess Angela Howard was great! She always had a smile on her face and remembered who you were and if you drank coffee or not. She is always taking plates up and asking if you are ok! The food was great and if you are wanting a clean great experience I would highly recommend staying here and eating breakfast because Angela sure knows how to take care of you! There should be more Angela's everywhere. The rooms were nice and cleaned every day and overall a great atmosphere! Pricing is very good as well!

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pvalenz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian Scott A, General Manager at Clarion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2012

We want to thank you for your wonderful comments about your experience with us here at the Holiday Inn Park Plaza. It is always wonderful to hear how our efforts are effecting our guests and how they feel about our services. We are very excited that you enjoyed your stay and the services provided by our staff, specifically in our Cafe'. Your comments will be shared with our staff, so that we may build upon this success. Again thank you for your comments, we hope we can serve you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

We had booked rooms for business travel at another hotel - that wouldn't let us check in when we arrived. I called all over Lubbock before finding the Holiday Inn- the desk staff was wonderful, & we were checked in within minutes. They went above and beyond to get my technicians taken care of!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Service
Thank KCJ2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian Scott A, General Manager at Clarion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2012

We want to thank you for your wonderful comments about your experience with us here at the Holiday Inn Park Plaza. It is always wonderful to hear how our efforts are effecting our guests and how they feel about our services. We are very excited that you enjoyed your stay and the services provided by our staff, specifically at the front desk. Your comments will be shared with our staff, so that we may build upon this success. Again thank you for your comments, we hope we can serve you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2012

I like how nice the Holiday Inns are around the country, but don't like how they have stopped offering a free breakfast with your room. At least the ones I have stayed at. The indoor pool at this location and the nice trees, and plants makes it nice. Easy to get to from anywhere in Lubbock.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian Scott A, General Manager at Clarion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2012

We, at the Holiday Inn Park Plaza, would like to thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay with us. We are striving to improve all of our services and do appreciate and value the time you took to let us know how well we are doing and where we can improve. Again, thank you for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2012

I was here for a family reunion and my expectations based on the street view were not very high. The guy working the front desk was very slow speaking which bothered me, the rooms were very odd - no natural light and the wall with the entrance was all glass and faced the inside of the hotel...which was a hallway, so people could see your room if opened. The carpet looked like it belonged in an old casino and they didn't even bother to take the plants in the planters out of their original plastic pots. Needs some updates for sure!

The breakfast was $8 for a continental breakfast and $11 for a hot breakfast, both buffets.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelmiamor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2012

Dear travelmiamor,

Thank you for staying with us and leaving such a detailed review. I am deeply sorry you found some aspects of our hotel less than satisfactory. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas. We welcome any opportunity to improve.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Jaime W
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2012

This is by no doubt an older property that has gone through many updates. Rooms were clean and the facility itself is very large. Indoor pool looked inviting for families and I would guess nice to be inside out of the heat & wind.
This hotel it appears has been modified over the years to handle the large football weekends at TT I am guessing. A tad on the expensive side for what & where it is ($179 with tax).

Room Tip: I would definitely ask to have an inside room. Downstairs if you have issues climbing stairs. Not ov...
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dfwsig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian Scott A, General Manager at Clarion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2012

We want to thank you for staying with us and for your comments. We appreciate your honesty and how we compare to properties internationally. We are sorry you found us to be a little pricey, but it appears you stayed with us on a high demand weekend where prices at all hotels were at a premium in Lubbock. Again, we appreciate your comments and hope we can serve you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lubbock hotels
2.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lubbock
2.1 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#23 of 69 in Lubbock
114 reviews
1.0 mi away
Ashmore Inn and Suites
Ashmore Inn and Suites
#32 of 69 in Lubbock
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Econo Lodge I-27
Econo Lodge I-27
#44 of 69 in Lubbock
91 reviews
2.2 mi away
Red Roof Inn & Conference Center Lubbock
4.2 mi away
Sleep Inn And Suites Lubbock
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Hotel

Address: 3201 S Loop 289, Lubbock, TX 79423-1320 (Formerly Holiday Inn Lubbock Park Plaza)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Lubbock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 69 Hotels in Lubbock
Price Range: $71 - $147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Clarion Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 203
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Clarion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Lubbock Park Plaza Hotel Lubbock
Park Plaza Lubbock
Lubbock Park Plaza
Lubbock Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing