We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the best Days Inn I've stayed in!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Days Inn Lubbock- Texas Tech University- 4th Street
Ranked #54 of 68 Hotels in Lubbock
Berkshire
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Not the best Days Inn I've stayed in!”
Reviewed September 18, 2012 via mobile

We hadn't booked and just arrived. The guy on reception was really unwelcoming and although he booked us in ( room 115) he gave us no info for the area, times for breakfast, where to park etc The room was meant to be an accessible room (not that we requested one or needed one) but it was a very strange setup and I certainly wouldnt want to try and manoeuvre a wheelchair around it! The bed was large with clean sheets. However, the carpet was dirty, the ceiling was disgusting and the pillowcases and towels looked grubby (I wouldn't go as far as dirty but they weren't far off). The wifi dropped out every 2 minutes and the curtains didn't shut properly. Our room was also right at the front of the building so the road noise all night was awful. I also asked specifically if there was a train line nearby when I booked in and was told catagorically No! Funny then that we were woken at 5am by a hooter happy frieght train - not happy!!!
Certainly wouldn't recommend

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 68sf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    45
    52
    47
    66
See reviews for
114
32
27
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Richardson, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2012

Typical of Days Inn you can expect the same decor down to the yellow and white striped shower curtain and red, green and black wallpaper border and carpeting. For an older hotel, located right across the street from Texas Tech's Red Raiders Football Stadium, you couldn't be more centrally located no matter which direction you are heading in town. A 7/11 convenience store sits next door for those items you forgot or for a late night snack. You can even heat it up as each room has a microwave and mini-fridge. If you are seeking something more substantial, because this location (4th and University) is right next to the Texas Tech campus (runs from 4th to 19th and University), there are tons of off campus eateries lined up for your pleasure and lots of nightlife. In the morning, the hotel serves its continental buffet consisting of your choice of cereal, toast, bagels, pastries, juice, coffee, or pancakes and it is next to the Marsha Sharp Freeway (Hwy 82) for a fast getaway. Although it is definitely an older hotel, it is well-maintained and the staff is friendly. Definitely nice enough for a one or two night stay.

Room Tip: This is a 3-story building but there is an elevator to each floor so no lugging baggage up and down...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Seva L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed August 27, 2012

Staff was very polite on directions an housekeeping also an the people front desk miss valerie thanks for directions!!!! An Virginia helped out in the mornings for my places an restaurants an if i choose when i visit lubbock again ill go back to days inn texas tech thanks to staff an housekeeping!! :-)

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bobosk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed August 23, 2012

I came to lubbock because my cousins baby was born a month early and needed to stay in the hospital for 3 weeks the manager Virginia was so kind and understanding she helped lighten the situation.We didnt have alot of money and Valerie the young lady at the front counter let us know of a rate they give families that have loved one in the hospital. Free breakfest and clean rooms and just down the road from the hospital. At times we were with out a car but there are 20+ fast food places walking distance from the hotel so getting a bite to eat wasnt a problom.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LMorin1122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed August 18, 2012

After a long day of traveling, we were looking forward to a night of rest. Unfortunately, booking through Expedia did not work to our advantage. We were booked two rooms for two nights, but the rooms were smoking rooms. My son and husband are asthmatics. Melissa at the front desk was amazing and helped us with our booking issues and the canceling of our second night stay with no problems and with a great, helpful smile throughout the whole ordeal! Customer service is a rare jewel these days, but Melissa shined! :o)

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LisaLine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed August 13, 2012

We came into your hotel after Quality Inn gave our room away and the employee at the front desk was very helpful. We had been driving around for hours looking for another place to stay and the only room you had was a smoking room(we are non-smokers) he told me if I did not want to take the room we were welcome to come in a sit and rest up. We ended up taking the room and staying but it was nice to know that there is at least one hotel chain out there that puts people first!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jcwillia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2012

Stayed there one night in July. Check in was fast, although some 'shady' people was hanging around inside the lobby. Looked like friends of the clerk. The room smelled like 'stinky feet'. Turned on the AC and it helped with the smell. When we returned to the hotel around 11pm, some of the guests (looked like long-term residents) were having a party on the 1st floor walkway. Not good for hotel appearance. Breakfast was as expected - bagels, toast ... continental. Nothing to really write about. Check out was fast too.
I would rather pay a bit more and stay in a better location and get a better breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SpokieTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Lubbock hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lubbock hotels
1.0 mi away
Staybridge Suites Lubbock
Staybridge Suites Lubbock
#34 of 68 in Lubbock
120 reviews
0.9 mi away
MCM Elegante Hotel & Suites
0.3 mi away
Courtyard Lubbock Downtown/University Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Guesthouse Inn & Extended Stay Suites
2.7 mi away
Studio 6 Lubbock Medical Center
3.3 mi away
Comfort Suites University
Comfort Suites University
#25 of 68 in Lubbock
12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn Lubbock- Texas Tech University- 4th Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Lubbock- Texas Tech University- 4th Street

Property: Days Inn Lubbock- Texas Tech University- 4th Street
Address: 2401 Marsha Sharp Fwy, 4th & University, Lubbock, TX 79415-3523
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Lubbock
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 68 Hotels in Lubbock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn Lubbock- Texas Tech University- 4th Street 2*
Number of rooms: 94
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Days Inn Lubbock- Texas Tech University- 4th Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lubbock-Days Inn Texas Tech University Hotel Lubbock
Days Inn Lubbock

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing