We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“smOKed potatoes are better than OK”

Rudy's Country Store and Bar-B-Q
Ranked #14 of 587 Restaurants in Lubbock
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Large groups, Families with children, Kids, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Television, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Just north of San Antonio, at the edge of the Texas Hill Country, sits the small community of Leon Springs. Founded in the 1800s by Max Aue, Leon Spring's cityscape changed when Max's son, Rudolph, opened a one-stop gas station, garage, and grocery store. Bar-B-Q was added to the operation in 1989, and Rudy's "Country Store" and Bar-B-Q has been serving up tasty food ever since. The same original recipes that built Rudy's Leon Springs' reputation are now available throughout the Southwest. Our pits are 100% wood fired with oak, a slower burning wood than the mesquite used by others. Along with time and oak, we cook with a dry spice that ensures each plate of Rudy's Bar-B-Q is perfectly ready for you. Apply some of our famous "Sause" and dinner is served.
Lubbock, Texas
Level Contributor
171 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“smOKed potatoes are better than OK”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

We love Rudy's, but recently we tried the smoked potatoes (baked in the smoker for incredible flavor) topped with chopped brisket. The potato is huge and the meat goes great on top of all the traditional baked potato fixins. Several people stopped us to ask how it was and said they were going to get one on their next visit. We liked it so much we ordered a dozen of them for a small gathering we were hosting. They went over fantastic.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank bear7711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    58
    16
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Texas
Level Contributor
105 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great Texas BBQ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2013

While in Lubbock last week, I stopped in at Rudy's again and what a treat, the Moist Brisket and Ribs are really good, but for some reason they seemed even better this time around. The Sides are good too, but they ain't what you go to a BBQ Joint for, let's face it sometimes you just want some really great meat that has been slow smoked and is fall off the bone good, that's when you need a Rudy's Fix my friends. For my money Rudy's is the real deal Texas BBQ and now that they have locations all over the State, there's no excuse to miss out on some of Texas' best Q, give 'em a try.... You can thank me later!!!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KARO48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vernon, Texas
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Man thats good.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

Our first time visiting and my wife and I were both impressed by the staff and the food. The BBQ was excellent they cut to order in front of you. The staff were handing out free samples, try the smoked turkey! The sides bar was packed and the loaf of bread they gave us was unexpected, yeah they gave us an entire loaf of bread. My brisket was delicious with the spicy bbq sauce. We will go back.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Glen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amarillo
Level Contributor
145 reviews
137 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great Brisket”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013

The brisket was very good on this visit. Not too dry and not too fat. Sometimes this is a problem at Rudy's. We also had some chicken that was very good and the green chile stew was amazing.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hoopsman86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fishers, IN
Level Contributor
53 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Excellent BBQ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

The food at Rudy's BBQ is what makes this place really good. I loved the variety of glass bottle pop in the tubs full of ice. The beef brisket was excellent and the sides were large and tasty. The eating area is a large open space and is a great place to take kids.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MikeTK421
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rudy's Country Store and Bar-B-Q also viewed

 

Been to Rudy's Country Store and Bar-B-Q? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing