We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Empty Hot Tub, Cold Indoor Pool, Smoky Room, Dirty Towels” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Baymont Inn & Suites Lubbock West

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Baymont Inn & Suites Lubbock West
Ranked #15 of 64 Hotels in Lubbock
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Empty Hot Tub, Cold Indoor Pool, Smoky Room, Dirty Towels”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2014

We booked this hotel using our mobile Priceline app and chose from a list of named Lubbock hotels.

The check-in was very friendly. However, upon entering our room, 314, we were greeted with a very strong air freshener smell and cigarette smoke smell. I returned to the front desk and received an upgraded room, 315. This room didn’t smell, and had a couch, fireplace, and kitchen. This room would be a nice set-up for an extended stay. It even had a little two seat dining table.

The bathroom was bright, modern, and well maintained. I was a little grossed out though when I found a dirty bath towel hanging on the back of the door that appeared to have blood spots on it.
The bed was a little weird, almost like it was an aerobed pillow top or something, but my husband and I agreed that we both sleep very well on it.

In the morning when we went down for breakfast, the whole third floor hallway smelled like cigarette smoke. The booking web site said that this is an all non-smoking hotel, but they are kidding everyone. When we returned from breakfast, the hall smelled less smoky, but the elevator smelled very strong from air freshener, much like the first room had the night before.

The free breakfast included my favorite Malted Waffles, and the Texas shaped waffle-maker. My husband ate the biscuits and gravy and my 6-year-old had fruit loops. Any hotel that offers breakfast and coffee gets points with me.

After breakfast we took my daughter to swim, and I was disappointed to find that the hot tub was empty with an out-of-service sign on it. My daughter said the pool was also too cold and she only swam for about 15 minutes.

Overall, we booked this hotel for the rate, pool, name recognition, and free breakfast. I would probably not return unless I were assured that the hot tub was in working order, the pool was heated adequately, and the hotel was truly 100% smoke free.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kittytraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

403 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    163
    86
    74
    50
    30
See reviews for
201
63
27
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wheeler, TX., United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2013

We had a great stay. Our oldest granddaughter spent the second night with us and she slept great. She really liked the selection of breakfast products as did my husband and I. Thanks for a wonderful Christmas stay the second year in a row.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank M. J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missouri City, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2013

The Embassy Suites seems to be pricing themselves out of consideration. The Best Wester PLUS Palms Hotel and Suites in Lubbock is in the same general area, more convenient to Texas Tech and equally convenient to local amenities. Save yourself $50/night and stay here when you need a kitchen and the sleeping capacity of two queens and a pull-out sofa bed.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank fnsimmons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Becket, Massachusetts, Usa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2013

By far the worst hotel we have ever stayed in. Dirty and in bad need of upgrade. No elevator to 2nd floor. Place smelled. Noise outside from people talking interfered with sleep. The place was so unkempt that we would not even think of eating the discusting looking breakfast. Thankfully we were only staying in the area one night. We visit the area at least once a year but will never stay there again.

Room Tip: Room door was hard to shut. Mold in bathroom, would not take a shower. Carpets dirty.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Lubbock hotels

Hamilton, Texas, Usa
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2013

this is my second review
no mini fridge
major confusion at time of check out, rooms already paid for but hotel charged the member of our party for his room, plus an additional night that we didn't even stay
still haven't credited his card back, real quick to get their money though

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Holly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haslet, United States
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2013

Ice machine broken. No snack machines. No snacks at front desk (as stated in room). No fridge. No extra blankets. Only ½ roll of toilet paper. Had to call day 1 and again on day 2. Coffee, but no tea in room. Sheet had a big rip. HEAVILY scented blankets. Seems to have gone downhill since we stayed there a year ago. They now have a waffle machine, which was good. The rest of the breakfast food was okay. Could be better.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Donald C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aransas Pass, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013

The room was very clean and a quiet environment. Friendly staff. the breakfast was hot and satisfying. The cook even told me to wait for my biscuit since fresh ones were coming out. Did not use pool or sauna. Weight room was sufficient for getting an satisfactory workout completed. Will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank B Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lubbock hotels
0.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lubbock West
0.6 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#3 of 64 in Lubbock
4.5 of 5 bubbles 641 reviews
5.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lubbock
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Lubbock
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Lubbock Southwest
0.8 mi away
Sleep Inn And Suites Lubbock
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baymont Inn & Suites Lubbock West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baymont Inn & Suites Lubbock West

Property: Baymont Inn & Suites Lubbock West
Address: 6015 45th Street, Off West Loop 289 & Marsha Sharp Freeway, Lubbock, TX 79407-3705 (Formerly The Palms Hotel & Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Lubbock
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 64 Hotels in Lubbock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Baymont Inn & Suites Lubbock West 2.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the new Baymont Inn & Suites Lubbock West! Everything's bigger in Texas, including the Southern Hospitality that has made our Lubbock hotel a guest favorite. From the South Plains Fair Grounds and Mackenzie Park to the Civic Center and United Spirit Arena, special events are always happening near our Lubbock hotel. Whether you need to quickly get to Texas Tech University, Lubbock Christian University, Covenant Medical Center, or The Heart Institute, our great location makes for a fast and easy commute. When you stay at our Lubbock hotel, you are right next to the Canyon West Shopping Center and just minutes from the South Plains Mall for some great shopping. Close to West Texas's best shopping, dining, and entertainment, our newly renovated hotel offers everything you need for a great vacation or productive business trip. Our friendly staff is happy to give you tips and recommendations on must see attractions, the best boutiques, and fine dining options, or give you easy and quick directions to get you on your way to the next stop. While staying at our modern and highly rated hotel, enjoy our complimentary hot breakfast buffet to get your day started on the right foot and stop off at our beautiful indoor heated pool, hot tub and dry sauna for a relaxing end to your busy day. There's plenty of free parking available for large vehicles and trailers, and we are set just enough off the highway that there's never road noise to interfere with your restful night's sleep. Our spacious rooms and huge suites are great for larger groups, families, and longer stays, and our lightning fast free hi speed internet can accommodate even the most demanding needs for business or play. Whether you are here for a day, a long weekend, or a semester, depend on us at the new Baymont Inn & Suites Lubbock West to provide you with the best service and quality you've come to expect from the Wyndham family of hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Baymont Inn & Suites Lubbock West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Palms Hotel Lubbock
Best Western Plus Palms Hotel And Suites
Best Western Palms Hotel
Best Western Lubbock
Lubbock Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing