We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible experience. Owner is a very rude man. Had difficulty with a refund. Stay away.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Arbor Inn and Suites
Ranked #12 of 69 Hotels in Lubbock
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 30, 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed here on 4-10-13. The hotel had both of our cards on file. When checking out, I personally told the owner not to charge my card and to charge my girlfriend's work card instead. He said that he would not charge my card. He had previously told my girlfriend the same thing. Turns out he did charge my card, and he charged my girlfriend's card for the same night.

I called and spoke to the owner to get the situation straightened out. The owner was unbelievably rude, insulting, and condescending. I explained that he had charged my card after telling me to my face that he wouldn't, and he responded that "I don't even know that I talked to you." He told me that it was "impossible" that he double charged us without making inquiry into the problem. He told me that I should sue him instead of offering the type of assistance that a normal business owner would typically give to his customers. He made several disparaging remarks to me and essentially called me a liar. He did claim to refund my card (it remains to be seen if that will happen), but then he proceeded to charge my girlfriend's card again. Betting that we'll have to get all of this sorted out with the card companies.

I can't imagine why anyone would want to support this jerk's business. The place is nice enough, that's true. But don't expect any service if anything gets complicated. Best to stay away.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Hal N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RemrockLubbock_Texas, Owner at Arbor Inn and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2013

This forum is designed to RATE hotels not BERATE their staff and management; Since you have used this forum for personal attacks against me, please let me respond. Once again let me explain to you it is impossible to charge the same room twice. We DID charge your card on April 11, 2013. You signed for it at check out acknowledging the charge. On April 29, 2013 at approximately 10 AM your girlfriend's assistant called and explained that she wanted to put the charge onto her card. At that time we refunded your card and charged her card. THIS IS THE ONLY TIME HER CARD HAS BEEN CHARGED FOR THIS STAY. You then called at approximately 4 PM on the same day upset about the charge on your card. I tried in various ways to explain to you that we had already refunded your card and charged your girlfriend's card. I told you to expect to see the credit within 48 hours. You seemed adamant that we had charged both credit cards, yours and hers but this was not the case. I can prove all the claims in my above statement. That is why I thought the court room was the best place to proceed, and just so happens you're an attorney. But since you did not have any proof to support your claims you opted to slander my character and tried to hurt my business. According to the first amendment you have the right to your opinion. I was happy to see your girlfriend did not share your opinion of me since she stayed here just last week.

Rob Meyer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (273)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

153 - 159 of 273 reviews

Reviewed April 3, 2013

The room is large and very clean, towels are large enough so that you only need one, not like some places. The staff is very helpful and breakfast is ample. I have a little trouble getting to the Arbor Inn, but maybe I should put more trust in the GPS.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bill R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rob M, Manager at Arbor Inn and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2013

Bill,

It is incredibly rewarding to hear that you have always felt at home with us. Thank you so much for taking the time to share your kind words. Let us know next time you're headed our way—we'll be happy to help with directions!

Thanks,
Rob Meyer, Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2013

I was pleasantly surprised with the quality of service received from the staff and Rob (Owner).
The rooms are spacious with ceiling fans. There is a varity of food available during breakfast. I liked the 24/7 complimentary cold bottles of water. I enjoyed ending my day with Chocolate chip cookies, lemonade, and/or tea every evening.

The Arbor Inn & Suites is in a nice and safe location to jog/walk before and/or after work.

Room Tip: Request the 2nd or 3rd floor over-looking the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank J K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rob M, Manager at Arbor Inn and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2013

It's always nice to have a sweet treat in the afternoon! We're glad to hear that you've always felt at home with us. Thank you for sharing your kind words. We'll see you next time you're in Lubbock!

Thanks,
Rob Meyer, Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2013

We love to stay at Arbor Inn, it is like seeing extended family, we are ALWAYS greeted warmly by the whole staff and the owners too. The rooms are spacious, especially the suites (which we always pick). There is COLD water for guests and in the evening, fresh baked cookies, with tea/lemonade too. Location is easy for all the shopping that we need to do, and just a hop onto the loop if we need something at the other end of town.
We ARE members of the chain type hotels (Marriott, Hilton etc.) but when we are in Lubbock, we chose this family owned hotel. Good value too!

Room Tip: They have all kinds of rooms, we have had adjoining ones when the grandparents came....just call and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sewbusy65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rob M, Manager at Arbor Inn and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2013

It's such a compliment to know that we've made you feel like family. It is always a pleasure to welcome you to Lubbock, and it was truly a joy to read your kind words. Thank you for your support over the years. We look forward to seeing you again!

Thanks,
Rob Meyer, Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

We stay at the Arbor Inn and Suites everytime we make a trip to Lubbock. Rob (Owner) and his staff are always very helpful and friendly. The rooms are very clean and the breakfast has a little bit of everything! Highly recommend this hotel!

Room Tip: Be sure to ask for a Suite. They have regular rooms available also.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TXAGGIE_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rob M, Manager at Arbor Inn and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2013

It's our pleasure to welcome you to Lubbock. Thank you for the high recommendations! We'll see you next time you're in town.

Thanks,
Rob

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2013

I use this hotel for business and family trips. I have always had a clean room, with a great mattress. Almost feels like home. The staff is always friendly and efficient. I look forward to bringing my family in the summer and trying out the pool.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elaine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rob M, Manager at Arbor Inn and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2013

We're proud to be your home away from home, Elaine! Thank you for taking the time to review us. We'll see you this summer, and we'll have that pool ready!

Thanks,
Rob Meyer, Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2013

Think of a room that's sparkling clean, and large enough to fit even 4 queen size beds. Unbelieveable! That is Arbor Inn conveniently located on the loop in Lubbock. This is my new hotel of choice in Lubbock.
On the freeway-- you have to enter from behind and find the little street between Lowes home center and the Arbor Inn. A little tricky but worth it.

Room Tip: Some have balconies-- that's rare in modern motels. The room I had was gigantic and the desk cl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SavySally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rob M, Manager at Arbor Inn and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2013

Great tip, Sally! That should definitely make it easier for folks to find us. We're proud to be your new home away from home in Lubbock. Thank you! We look forward to welcoming you back.

Thanks,
Rob Meyer, Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lubbock hotels
0.6 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Lubbock
1.2 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#3 of 69 in Lubbock
691 reviews
1 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Lubbock
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Sleep Inn And Suites Lubbock
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Lubbock Southwest
3.7 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Lubbock
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arbor Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arbor Inn and Suites

Address: 5310 Englewood Ave, Lubbock, TX 79424-1163
Location: United States > Texas > Lubbock
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Lubbock
#10 Business Hotel in Lubbock
Price Range: $106 - $126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Arbor Inn and Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The largest, most comfortable rooms in Lubbock happen to be at the Arbor Inn and Suites, a family owned hotel that is sure to guarantee the luxury, comfort and enjoyments that you've been hoping for. Whether you are in town to visit your Red Raider, on a college visit, or just here to enjoy the panhandle, be assured that you will receive comfort, convenience and value with our hotel rooms with an average of over 450 square feet. Extended stay guests of Lubbock are welcome to stay in our rooms equipped with full kitchens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and TravelClick so you can book your Arbor Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arbor Hotel Lubbock

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing