We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply wonderful!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Arbor Inn and Suites
Ranked #15 of 68 Hotels in Lubbock
Certificate of Excellence
San Antonio
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Simply wonderful!”
Reviewed March 10, 2008

Holy cow, what a hotel! The hotel is located just off of 289 behind a few other hotels. This hotel is truly a hidden gem.

Check-in was a breeze. The owner was at the front desk and was extremely genuine in his kindness and hospitality. He even prepared a little gift for me and my girlfriend's anniversary. Extremely classy! The entire staff was about as friendly of a hotel staff as I have ever experienced.

I booked a two-room suite with a full kitchen. From the full-sized refrigerator to the marble counter bathroom, everything was just spotless. There were two TVs, one in the bedroom and one in the living room. Both have DVD players so bring your movies! The toilet was separate from the rest of the bathroom, which was a smart move. The toilet was VERY loud but it didn't really bother me. The bed was extremely comfortable. Check your closet if you need an extra pillow or blanket. The closet also holds a safe to keep any belongings locked up.

Breakfast was delicious. You'll find cereal, assorted pastries, and biscuits with gravy. During the evening hours, you'll find fresh cookies with iced tea and lemonade. There is also a large stainless steel ice chest in the breakfast area that holds little bottles of water, which is available 24/7.

It is no secret why this hotel is so popular: Tons of freebies, great environment, a very nice room, and the price just cannot be beat! Most of all, the staff here is top notch. This hotel epitomizes what a hotel experience should be. I consider myself very privileged to have stayed here and I will continue to look up The Arbor Inn and Suites whenever I am in Lubbock.

  • Liked — An overall fantastic experience!
  • Disliked — Loud toilet.
  • Stayed March 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Danpod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    164
    56
    19
    3
    12
See reviews for
99
50
9
54
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dartmouth, MA
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2008

This hotel is a subtle surprise. While it is clustered near other chain hotels, it's the little details that standout from the typical experience. The rooms are well layed out, tastefully decorated and comfortable with two TV's which is nice. Bath and Bodyworks toiletries adds an unexpected detail. The waterfall and beautiful landscaping seals the deal, making it much more than another chain hotel off the highway.

In many ways, Arbor Inn offers the best of both worlds. It has the well managed efficiency and amenities of the chain hotels, while possessing the thoughtful details and excellent personal service one would expect from a locally owned landmark.

I expect to return to Lubbock later in the Spring. No doubt I'll be staying at Arbor Inn again.

  • Liked — Room layout and amenities, landscaped pool area.
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank bostnwhalr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tyler texas
1 review
Reviewed January 15, 2008

we have been staying at the Arbor Inn and Suites for the past 2 years. We have stayed there probably over 30 nights and have enjoyed each stay. The staff is friendly and always willing to help in any way possible. I highly recommend this hotel to anyone who is looking for high quality at a reasonable rate.

  • Liked — large size of the rooms
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank goldbrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rob M, Owner at Arbor Inn and Suites, responded to this review, November 8, 2011
Thank you so much for your lovely review. I’m so glad that your stays with us have been so pleasant for you. Customer service is our number one priority, so I’m glad the staff has been attentive and friendly. We love hearing from our happy customers and can’t wait to welcome you back again!

Thanks,
Rob Meyer, Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, FL
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 3, 2008

My wife, two sons, age 10 and 14, and I traveled from Tampa, Florida to the Southwest this past summer. We stayed in 11 different hotels in Florida, Louisiana, Texas, Tennessee, North Carolina, and Georgia, which included most of the big chains. We stayed for one night at the Arbor Inn and Suites on July 2, and then again on July 8. Not belonging to a chain, we did not know what to expect. I have to say that the Arbor Inn and Suites was the nicest hotel we stayed at on our trip, and one of the least expensive! The hotel and the grounds were beautiful. We were so surprised when we stepped in to the lobby. It was gorgeous! We stayed in a family suite that was huge and spotless! Our sons had their own bedroom with bunk beds, which they loved. Our room was across from the laundry room, which was FREE. Being on a three week road trip, that was very much appreciated. All the other hotels we stayed at either had no laundry facilities or there was a charge. In the morning, we had the free breakfast, which was delicious, as we sat outside by the pool. It was so much fun! I wish we could have stayed longer. The staff was extremely warm, welcoming, and accommodating! We will definitely stay at Arbor Inn and Suites if we travel west, again. I highly recommend it to everyone.

  • Liked — Cleanliness and value
  • Disliked — N/A
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank AlienTraveler2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2007

This is a newer hotel and relatively nice. The good items first: The hotel is easy access, the rooms are larger than expected and the layout reduced any hallway noise (if there were any). It was cool went we visited so we did not use the pool, although the pool area looked very nice. The not so good items: There were stains on the sofa and bench. There was something black splattered all around the sink area on the walls. The morning breakfast was not stocked when we visited at 7:30. The morning front desk employee spent the entire time we were in the breakfast area on the phone arguing with her boyfriend (I learned too much about her personal life during that 15 minutes), the plants in the front lobby area were dead and the weather plate listed the weather for 5 days prior (little attention to the details here).

I would probably not stay here again. I would try another location. But, I do not travel to Lubbock often and this could just have been a fluke weekend for this property.

  • Liked — size of room
  • Disliked — cleanliness
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rzr632
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston Texas
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2007

We could hear every television show and conversation in the suite next to our room, even at low levels--the most sound migration that my wife and I have ever experienced in a hotel. If you seek a quiet night, this is not the place, unless you are lucky enough to have no adjacent neighbors. When we made coffee in our room, the first morning, we found that the pot 1/2 full of coffee from the prior occupant and when the maid cleaned our room she did not clean the pot. The in-room safe was not operable because the battery was low. There was no luggage stand. Breakfast was mediocre at best. My wife and I travel to Lubbock on a regular basis and were disappointed, based on the prior reviews--there are several hotels (Quality Inn, Holiday Inn) that we preferred.

Stayed November 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank ita7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RemrockLubbock_Texas, Owner at Arbor Inn and Suites, responded to this review, December 8, 2007
Arbor Inn and Suites, a true independent hotel, has had 24 reviews, 19 of them excellent. I understand ita7 being disappointed in her stay at the Arbor from her comments. What I do not understand is why she did not say anything to me or my staff. If we have any noise complaints we address them at the time. A luggage stand has been ordered for that room which had been broken previously. The other issues are housekeeping and have been addressed. I will admit sometimes we will miss items, however with 19 excellent ratings it does not happen often. I will close with this thought, Ms ita7 checked in November 21 and checked out on November 24. She rated us a 1 which is "terrible" according to tripadvisor's rating system. Would you stay 3 nights in a terrible hotel? Good because the Arbor Inn and Suites has 19 excellent ratings in 24 reviews and held the number one spot in Lubbock for over 2 years. I invite you to come see for yourself.

Thank you,
Rob Meyer
Owner Operator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, TX
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2007

Cosmically loud toilet. Clean room. A/C unit worked well, although blows directly on bed. Small toilet-tank leak. OK Continental breakfast -- bagels, waffles, fruit, muffins. Friendly staff. Easily available luggage carts. Prominent sign in parking lot disclaims liability. Might return.

Stayed September 2007
Helpful?
Thank sz99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lubbock hotels
1.1 mi away
Arbor Hotel & Conference Center
0.6 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Lubbock
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lubbock West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Lubbock Southwest
1.0 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Lubbock
0.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Lubbock
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arbor Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arbor Inn and Suites

Property: Arbor Inn and Suites
Address: 5310 Englewood Ave, Lubbock, TX 79424-1163
Location: United States > Texas > Lubbock
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Lubbock
#10 Business Hotel in Lubbock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Arbor Inn and Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The largest, most comfortable rooms in Lubbock happen to be at the Arbor Inn and Suites, a family owned hotel that is sure to guarantee the luxury, comfort and enjoyments that you've been hoping for. Whether you are in town to visit your Red Raider, on a college visit, or just here to enjoy the panhandle, be assured that you will receive comfort, convenience and value with our hotel rooms with an average of over 450 square feet. Extended stay guests of Lubbock are welcome to stay in our rooms equipped with full kitchens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, TravelClick and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Arbor Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arbor Hotel Lubbock

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing