We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a delightful surprise!”

National Ranching Heritage Center
Ranked #1 of 53 things to do in Lubbock
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Open daily from 10 a.m. to 5 p.m. except Sunday from 1 to 5 p.m. Although the museum closes at 5 p.m., the 19-acre historical park closes at 4 p.m. It takes 45 to 90 minutes to see the ranch structures and walk the 1.5 mile pathway. Visitors should plan to visit the outdoor park early enough to complete their tour by 4 p.m.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Wheelchair access
Albuquerque, NM
Level Contributor
54 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“What a delightful surprise!”
Reviewed March 30, 2012

We've been visiting Lubbock for years while our kids went to Texas Tech and only now made time for this museum. What a gem for West Texas! The homes they have transported from all over Texas date from the 1700s to the 1900s. There are barns, windmills, tombstones...

Right now through Oct 2012 there is an amazing collection onloan from the owner of the Minnesota Vikings... Incredible weapons including Meriwether Lewis's rifle, old Bowie knives and a civil war gattling gun. They have a document signed by George Washington, and a box used by a Wells Fargo wagon.

This is a really well-done museum. Please donate (there is no charge), I hope it has a long history itself!

It would get very hot in the summer walking through the ranch houses. Try to go in the morning hours.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Shannon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

326 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    259
    65
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Big Spring, TX
Level Contributor
124 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Great, as usual!”
Reviewed March 19, 2012

This is our 3rd time to visit the National Ranching Heritage Center. It's a must-see, especially combined with the Museum of Texas Tech (which is right next door). In addition to a lot of interesting things to look at, both are free! This has a variety of older homes, ranching buildings, train, school house, and then there's even a family of hares that tend to live on the grounds (we see them every time we are there). The only complaint is that the 2 story Victorian house isn't open except for special events and my daughter really wants to see inside it. They have recently remodeled their main building and now have new indoor exhibits as well.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Janet79720
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lubbock, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Love it”
Reviewed March 6, 2012

Love this museum so fun and has a lot of cool information

Helpful?
Thank Texas_TechN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
O Brien, Texas
Level Contributor
121 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great Museum and I dont really like this kind of stuff”
Reviewed March 5, 2012

My cowboy hubby loves Texas history and cowboy stuff so he could stay here for hours.. I on the other hand don't really like museums but this one is a good one. Worth the time to stop

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank RafterGRanch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Ranching Heritage Center”
Reviewed December 23, 2011

If you like Ranching History, then the Heritage Center is an excellent example of what life was like. They do a Christmas at the Ranch every year with people dressed in period costumes and participating in different Christmas type events. Very popular attraction for the holidays.

Helpful?
1 Thank wbfog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed National Ranching Heritage Center also viewed

 

Been to National Ranching Heritage Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing