We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Historical Museum”

Silent Wings Museum
Ranked #3 of 53 things to do in Lubbock
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This museum tells the story of gliders that were used during World War II.
Texas
Level Contributor
133 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Amazing Historical Museum”
Reviewed January 5, 2012

My kids, 9 and 11 at the time, were so interested in the museum and its exhibits. You can learn so much about the World War II glider program. They offer tours for both schools and groups of 10 or more.

Visited February 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank redt2play
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    127
    27
    4
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Highland Village, Texas
Level Contributor
87 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Amazingly interesting for any American”
Reviewed August 26, 2011

My son is the history buff in the family but I enjoyed this museum as much as he did! Awesome pieces of American history.

Helpful?
2 Thank MrandMrs_KH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Round Rock, Texas
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great museum for aviation and history buffs. Great value when combined with Buddy Holly Museum.”
Reviewed August 24, 2011

I went to the Silent Wings Museum after visiting the Buddy Holly Museum. With the paid admission to the Buddy Holly Museum you get in free ... what a value!!

I wasn't too exposed to the glider history during the wars and beyond, but this museum packed a lot in! Unfortunately I didn't have lots of time to go through it, but did have a chance to appreciate all that it had to offer. There was a short video that gave an overview of the glider squadrons in the war and then everything from war memoribilia, to documented timelines of events, to diorama's to life size scenes, and finally several gliders in a large auditorium.

I've been to many museums in large and small towns. The quality of this musuem was comparable to what I would expect to find in a larger town that had a large arts program. Extremely well done!

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank brs0173
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lubbock, TX
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic look into the past”
Reviewed August 13, 2011

We live in town and had never visited the Silent Wings Museum. We had some family come in town and took them (2 60+ adults, 1 40 year adult, 15 year old, 12 year old and 9 year old). There was something for everyone. We enjoyed the "preview" film that gave you a general idea of the role the glider planes played and were amazed at the extent of the displays and memorabilia. What a rich heritage. Truly a treasure in Lubbock, TX!

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank d5lewis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A must see museum for people interested in aviation or military history.”
Reviewed August 13, 2011

The 30 minute movie was amazing and really opened my eyes to what these forgotten glider pilots accomplished in WWII. Also, the static display gliders were in great condition and really cool to see in person.

Visited November 2010
Helpful?
1 Thank Johnie4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Silent Wings Museum also viewed

 

Been to Silent Wings Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing