We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Tex Mex in the Hub city”
Review of Abuelo's

Abuelo's
Ranked #2 of 591 Restaurants in Lubbock
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican, Seafood, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Real Mexican food is a feast for the senses. From colorful peppers to the sounds of sizzling fajitas all the way to that incredible flavor. Each mouthful is just as much a result of the freshest ingredients as it is a result of the chef's expertise. Abuelo's offers diners the opportunity to experience real Mexican food, combining authentic, made from scratch classic dishes with the rich, subtle flavors of coastal and interior Mexican cuisine. Our executive Chef Luis Sanchez has spent decades perfecting our menu, and we boast a wide selection of wood-grilled fajitas, enchiladas, tacos, chile rellenos or Abuelo's unique House Specialties (depending on your location). To compliment your meal, our expert bartenders are masters at crafting signature favorites, including a wide variety of margaritas and swirls. Whatever the occasion, we'll stop at nothing to make your time at Abuelo's a memorable dining experience.
Lubbock, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Tex Mex in the Hub city”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

This is some of the best Tex Mex in Lubbock! Service is always efficient and polite, good atmosphere and a very good value for the money. Enchilada are excellent and the choice of sauces is very good and you can customize to your on liking.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SilverRhino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

477 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    269
    131
    56
    11
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lubbock, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A Lubbock tradition”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

A great place to eat but sometimes the wait is too long. We have now figured out a plate that the two of us can split and not leave hungry. We have had a couple of not so good meals there but not for a while now. The outdoor patio in the summer is a lot of fun, wish it was bigger and wasn't so hard to get some service.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank drgibson1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wimberley, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Love the fajitas!”
Reviewed February 19, 2014 via mobile

We treated our family to Abuelos for helping us move and we had a great time. We went on a Friday night about 6pm so the wait was about 45 minutes. The band was wonderful everyone enjoyed having drinks on the
patio and listening to the band. Our waiter was wonderful very accommodating to my two small children. Our food was delivered promptly and our drinks were never empty. I recommend the chicken fajitas absolutely delicious!

Helpful?
Thank Mrspitts08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lubbock, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good Food-Good Atmosphere”
Reviewed January 9, 2014

What strikes one about Abuelo's is simply the quality of the food. I personally like hot food hot and cold food cold. They definitely deliver on the hot food delivered to the table. I have eaten here many times and they never disappoint.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lubbock, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Always great!”
Reviewed January 7, 2014

Abuelo's is always great. The food is the best Tex-mex of any I've had. Very large plates and portions. Great atmosphere, but always a wait in the evenings.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Wischkaemper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Abuelo's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing