We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“RUDE Service!!”

Montelongo's Mexican Restaurant
Ranked #110 of 591 Restaurants in Lubbock
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“RUDE Service!!”
Reviewed July 16, 2014

My family and I have been going to this place for years (almost every week) The owner has never asked our names, the service is HORRIBLE and the last time we went the hostess sat 2 families ahead of ours when we had been there WAY longer. Food can be a hit or a miss. I would rather go to Jalisco's or Picantes than ever be treated so horrible again!!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Amy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    23
    5
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fort Worth, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great neighborhood dive”
Reviewed June 23, 2014

We went on the recommendation of locals. Easy to find from our hotel, fast services and great prices. Delicious salsa to start the meal. Excellent food, totally homemade taste. Can't wait to go back.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Pamelita7117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lubbock, Texas, United States
2 reviews
“NOT the best.”
Reviewed November 15, 2013

I was not expecting the best when I went, but from the reviews I read I thought that it was going to be good. I was wrong.
The tortillas were homemade and delicious. The beans tasted canned. The carne guisada had good flavor but meat was tough and fatty. I had a lot of fat in my burrito I got and it grossed me out. It cost me about $8 dollars for these two burritos and they were super small. NOT WORTH the price.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Food was disgusting!! I had to throw food away!! Never again!!”
Reviewed July 28, 2013

I ordered food from Montelongo. Barbacoa had little meat in it, it had more fat in it than meat. Gross!! My wife ordered fajitas and she said it was too tough to eat. I'll never eat from this restaurant again,disgusting!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank armyof1fa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midland, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best Tex-Mex in the Panhandle”
Reviewed July 12, 2013

If you want really good Tex-Mex you have to go to Montelongo's Yes the location is not the best(far north side of town on the Clovis Highway) and the building is dated on the outside think 60's diner, it's what is inside that makes it worth the trip. Absolutely the best Tex-Mex short of El Paso and I eat a lot of Tex-Mex. You order coming in the door and if you aren't sure about what to order, they make it easy(pictures on the wall). Took out of town family there during Tech Graduation weekend and they could say enough good things about the food. The staff worked with us to get enough tables together for us and kept the chips and salsa coming and the glasses full. This is a family owned business that I hope never goes out of business. We will be back

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ghs72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Montelongo's Mexican Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing