We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't waste your money”

Buffalo Springs Lake
Ranked #18 of 53 things to do in Lubbock
Attraction details
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Don't waste your money”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2014

This place is horrible. It was covered in garbage, and clearly not maintained. We saw and reported an injured animal to the park, Texas Parks and Wildlife, and the wildlife center in lubbock in hopes someone would come catch and give it vet attention or at least end it's suffering. We also had my nephews in town, and when the 6 year old had to use the bathroom, the toilets in the picnic areas were so disgusting that he refused to go in so we drove him to the marina to use theirs. This was not the case of a picky kid- he opened the door and was basically swarmed by a thousand flies, I wouldn't have let him in there for sanitary reasons anyway. This place was disgusting and I reported the events of our 2 hours at the lake to the park and the parks department. Definitely was not representative of the way most other lakes or parks in Texas are kept up. We paid $18 for 4 of us to get in for 2 hours and it was a giant waste of money and time. If you have kids, take them to main event in town instead, nephews had more fun there and it was clean.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Shelley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    15
    13
    4
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“What a slice of a GARBAGE DUMP!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2014

My family and I moved to Lubbock a year ago with the Military. We have been trying to find recreation areas and came across Buffalo Springs Lake. WOW!!!!!!!! What a S.H.I.T.T. hole.
Garbage all over, picnic areas are dilapidated. This park doesn't seem to have anyone caring for it.
Their seems to be a huge infestation of FLIES. "DON'T TRY TO COOK AND EAT OUTSIDE" The flies will eat your food before you can. The picinic sites are so bad from neglect that it's unbelivable that there is a entrance fee. "What the hell are they doing with the monies from the entrance fees" . Certainly not reinvesting in the park or paying someone to pick up the garbage. We flew our childrens grand parents down from New York to visit and took them to Buffalo Springs Lake. What an embarrassing situation for us to take them there, but for Buffalo Springs, Lubbock and Texas for having such a disgusting place for their citizens to relax and have fun. I almost forgot to mention the garbage in the water ways and the camping equipment and other stuff that was abandoned and no one from the park ever piked up. HELLO BUFFALO SPRINGS LAKE, FIX THE PARK AND STOP DOING WHAT YOUR DOING WITH THE ADMISSION MONIES, BECAUSE IT'S NOT HELPING THE PARK! WE ARE VERY DISAPPOINTED AND WON'T BE BACK! We were there less than 2 hours and counldn't take the STENCH and FLIES.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Clifford S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Nature trail is nice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2014

This is a nice little oasis south of Lubbock. Nice place for locals for recreation. We took a hike on the nature trail. Saw some cool birds and great landscape!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lubbock, Texas
Level Contributor
92 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Coolest place in Lubbock Texas”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2014

There is a lake and lots of water In the panhandle of Texas . Buffalo springs lake just east of Lubbock on 50th st. They have a marina, swimming beaches and covered picnic areas .
Big enough for boats with RV hookups and tent camp grounds.
Fun for all the family.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
6 Thank Greg L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Buffalo Springs Lake also viewed

 

Been to Buffalo Springs Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing