We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food, atmosphere” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Caprock Cafe

Caprock Cafe
Ranked #227 of 584 Restaurants in Lubbock
Price range: $6 - $15
Cuisines: American, Bar, Mexican, Grill, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Drinks, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: "Cold Beer,Big Burgers,Hot Music"! Caprock Cafe opened in 1997, and is a fun and casual cafe with friendly service, great Texas atmosphere, and an enclosed patio. The menu features char-broiled burgers, Tex-Mex, and lots of spicy appetizers. Caprock Cafe at 34th & Indiana is close to Texas Tech and the United Spirit Arena, and is the perfect place to meet after games, concerts, and shows. Look for us under the big oak tree in the middle of the shopping center just west of Walgreen's Drug Store, next to Foot Tech. Caprock Cafe at 82nd & Slide is located in Rockridge Plaza (where Lowe's Supermarkets is and we are next to China Town Restaurant) in southwest Lubbock, and features plenty of parking. Look for the red windows under the tree on the west side of the parking lot.
Lubbock, Texas
Level Contributor
80 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great food, atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2013 via mobile

Caprock Cafe is one of our favorite spots in Lubbock. Atmosphere is great with a lot of TV 's to catch a game. Service is always great and management is always there. Burgers, green chili stew, and bottle caps are our favorites. And finally, great cold beer and the best Bloody Mary's in the panhandle. Don't miss either location.

Helpful?
Thank dehill35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loyd T, Owner at Caprock Cafe, responded to this review, September 4, 2015
Thanks so much for the kind words about Caprock Café! We appreciate your business very much! Loyd L. Turner, President, Caprock Restaurants, Inc.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    23
    9
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Amarillo
Level Contributor
143 reviews
135 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Good Green Chile Burger”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2013 via mobile

I love this burger. Don't waste your money on the quarter pounder though. Go with the half. Ate lunch on this visit and it was under staffed. All in all a good visit though.

Helpful?
Thank hoopsman86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
37 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Review for 34th street location:”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013 via mobile

I had never been here before but I got a coupon in the mail (for being a new resident) for a free entree up to 10.00. I thought that was pretty cool. I has read some good reviews about the green chili chicken enchiladas, so I tried those. I was surprised to see how much food came with it. Along with 3 of the enchiladas came rice, jalapeño bacon beans, lettuce, sour cream and chips and salsa. Pretty good for 9.50. The salsa is awesome, chips are ok but a little too thin for my personal liking. Beans and rice were really good. Rice wasn't dry and the beans were perfectly seasoned and not so spicy I couldn't eat them. The enchiladas were amazing. Yes they're just your basic simple enchiladas, but what makes them above the rest is that they didn't use random pieces of boiled chicken. It was all white meat and very flavorful thanks to the green chilis inside. They did get spicy after a few bites, but again it was the good spicy that makes you wanna eat more. That being said, I had a take out order so theres not much to say about service, except that all the waitresses were friendly and the gal that rang me up was very sweet. Decor is what you'd expect to see in a laid back Texas watering hole, belt buckles, horns and other typical memorabilia on the walls and sports on the big screen. Overall: I'd deffinatly go back. The menu is too interesting to only go once!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Spartacus22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin
Level Contributor
69 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“A burger place worth finding”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2013

They have a large-ish menu, but all you need to know is burger. Great taste, nice presentation, home made, hot, fresh cooked potato chips . Beer is cold and fresh, as well as local to Texas. Service is as good as it gets. Very pleasant and attentive staff.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Si3Austin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Del Rio, Texas
Level Contributor
96 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Fun hang-out with good food.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

The atmosphere at Cap Rock Cafe is definitely fun--think bottle caps, belt buckles, and the back-end of a pick-up truck infused into the interior. The place has the feel of a college hang-out, but our 40-something group (with several kids in tow) fit right in. The food ranges from burgers to enchiladas with beer, margaritas, etc. My husband and I both had enchiladas. He had the green sauce, while I had queso--yes you can have queso for your "sauce!" I thoroughly enjoyed the Tex-Mex enchiladas, which came with rice and beans. Others at our table had burgers and chicken fried steak. I didn't hear any complaints. My daughter asked for her burger plain, dry, and with no veggies. When it arrived with all the veggies loaded onto the top bun (open-face), the waitress gladly got her another ("uncontaminated") bun. Overall, everyone enjoyed this restaurant, and we would definitely go there again for a casual dining experience.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank katmcw85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Caprock Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing