We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New Owners - Big Improvement”
Review of Fortune Cookie

Fortune Cookie
Ranked #17 of 19 Dessert in Lubbock
Restaurant details
Lubbock, Texas, United States
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“New Owners - Big Improvement”
Reviewed July 12, 2014

We quit going to the Fortune Cookie a few years ago solely for the reason of being charged for drink refills. We returned last week because I had bought a Groupon and I was surprised and happy to learn they were under new management. The food was very fresh and delicious, staff extremely friendly and helpful.....and the refills are free! I am so glad we went back.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    4
    2
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lubbock, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Once was good. Now..it's gross”
Reviewed June 14, 2014 via mobile

My family has been going to Fortune Cookie for years. The original owners recently sold the restaurant. The original owner stayed around for a few weeks to help the transition. I ate there during the transition and twice after. Each time the food was worse. I even ordered different menu items each time to make sure I gave the new owners a fair chance. This last visit was last week. I ordered Hunan beef. The girl at the cash register didn't even know that was on the menu. She isn't new. She has been there since the sell several months ago. I was less than impressed. My Hunan beef tasted like pot roast. It had absolutely no seasoning. My fried wontons were soggy. I tried my kids dishes and was even more disgusted. My kids always order the kids chicken and noodles. Basically teriyaki chicken with noodles. Since the change of owners they started putting a sweet sauce on the noodles. The chicken was steamed and not seared. I tried to give them (the new owners) a fair chance but this was strike three. I feel sorry for the original owners who worked hard for 20+ years to have their restaurant reputation destroyed in less than 3 months.

Helpful?
1 Thank medsdis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lubbock, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“particles”
Reviewed April 23, 2014

For the second time in the last 3 months I have a gotten steel wool string in my meal.

the new orange beef has no breading, but is very thin and the breading has been replaced with rice chips, coated with the artificial orange sauce of which I am NOT a fan.

the new chicken n snow peas, has no more water chestnuts no baby corn, no bamboo slivers any longer.

the egg rolls had a faint fishy flavor

so long cookie

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dinerdan66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Not the Best”
Reviewed January 25, 2014 via mobile

Visited on a week night at 7:00 and we were the only people in the restaurant. I had the General Tso chicken, a house specialty and was disappointed. It was deep fried and the breading was crunchy. Also, there are no waiters so be prepared to order at the counter. Despite the name, fortune cookies cost extra, you get two for 25 cents!

Helpful?
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“New Special is awesome!”
Reviewed December 10, 2013 via mobile

Just tried the new soup on the special board- it was AMAZING!!! A giant bowl of clear soup with rice noodles, beef, chicken, shrimp, broccoli, mushrooms, and green onions. It filled me up and kept me warm on this cold winter's day.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chineyhiney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fortune Cookie also viewed

 

Been to Fortune Cookie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing