We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Meh...”
Review of El Chico Cafe

El Chico Cafe
Ranked #278 of 602 Restaurants in Lubbock
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Lubbock, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Meh...”
Reviewed January 31, 2014 via mobile

Over priced. The food was decent but not worth what they are charging. For a extra special occasion I'd still pick somewhere else.

Helpful?
Thank Beverly R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    8
    9
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lubbock, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Best Margarita's in town”
Reviewed October 10, 2013

Love the Taco Salad or fajita's, with hand shaken Margarita's. Friendly wait staff with a Tex-Mex flair. They have take out too.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 209gracea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lubbock, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Arriba, El Chico!”
Reviewed October 5, 2013

I love eating at El Chico's! I love their food! Their salsa is very good. And, be sure and ask for a relish dish with lightly pickled carrots, jalapenos and onions. (You have to ask for it.) Muy delicioso!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank RJ1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Always A Treat”
Reviewed September 21, 2013

I grew up eating at El Chico Mexican Food in Ft. Worth, so whenever I have a chance, I always come back for more. The food is consistently good and the service is too also the Owners in Lubbock have been there for many years, that could explain why everyone is friendly and welcoming there. My memories of El Chico's food was and is of really good Tex-Mex and I'm never disappointed, the Chips are crisp the Salsa is spicy but too hot and don't forget to try the Relish, best Pickled Pepper, Carrots and Onions I've ever had. If your in Lubbock, give El Chico a try, it's Really Good Food and Really Good Service, I think you'll really like it.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KARO48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lubbock, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Not of the Texas chain of El Chico restaurants”
Reviewed July 13, 2013

We thought it was like the El Chico chain we had eaten at in the Dallas area. We were told it was at one point but no more. (Not sure how they keep the name if not, but oh well.) The food was not very good. We even tried it again when family came into town and it was their favorite place to eat in Dallas. After ordering queso, our guests said it was NOT the same and was terrible. We paid for the queso and soft drinks and left. If you are expecting El Chico quality food you are accustomed to from the restaurant chain, you will be sorely disappointed.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Becky B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to El Chico Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing