We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Three strikes and you're out!!!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of BJ's Restaurant & Brewhouse

BJ's Restaurant & Brewhouse
Ranked #77 of 584 Restaurants in Lubbock
Cuisines: American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Bar scene, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Vancouver, Washington
Level Contributor
35 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Three strikes and you're out!!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2014

Had dinner with friends early Friday evening when the restaurant was not busy yet. We all had some variation of their salmon choices and sad to say, they all were overcooked, dry, and absolutely terrible!! One person ever specifically asked that her salmon be cooked no more than "medium", but that did not help. When we complained to our waiter, his response was that he was sorry. The vegetables were also dry and tasteless. This was our third time to try the salmon here and it will be our last. We cut them some slack during the holidays, but the restaurant was not busy this time, so we will not be back!!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank pjhinton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    36
    23
    15
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cedar Park, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Nice chain for a beer and burger!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2014

Met family there for lunch and had a beer and a burger which were both very good! Would go back if I couldn't find a local joint to dine at.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jody V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lubbock, Texas
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“B”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2014

Mediocre food...slow service...."hot" dishes are cold by the time they are served...perhaps worst of all is the "atmosphere" -- it is so incredibly LOUD in the restaurant area that you cannot possibly have a conversation without screaming across the table...and if you choose the bar area you are faced with the absurdity of the national FOX news channel spouting it's usual hate-speech and incredible conspiracy theories on the only one of the 4 large screen monitors not devoted to "sports " channels...the corporate offices of this national chain restaurant might rethink whether the majority of customers really want to endure such unpleasant political nonsense when choosing where to spend their entertainment dollars (regardless of political affiliation)....it does NOT make for an enjoyable or relaxing dining experience to say the least...the only good thing about the place is the nicely designed high-end look of the interiors.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank T C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lubbock, Texas
Level Contributor
66 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great chain restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2014

While this is a chain restaurant, it is a comfortable and enjoyable one. The food is good and varied. The beers they make are made well and also varied and they have a large menu of drinks too. Atmosphere is comfortable yet clean and welcoming. This is our go to place for a drink after work, or on one of our days off for lunch or dinner. The pizza is very good too.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank E_Albertstein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Level Contributor
314 reviews
143 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
“Not just your usual hamburger”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2014

We were passing through Lubbock, Texas and needed to get dinner. Our hotel was just down the road, so we took the opportunity to take a bit of a walk. We ended up at BJ's totally by accident - and what a good accident it was!
The home brew was pronounced excellent and the Happy Hour wine was a good price and good flavour for the meal.
My hamburger was delicious.....
I would recommend this place for anyone. Located in a strip mall easily accessible by highway, lots of parking and a beer menu which will meet anyones needs. Staff is friendly (not particularly speedy, it must be said) but the delicious food is worth the wait.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank canadiancraftsman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed BJ's Restaurant & Brewhouse also viewed

 

Been to BJ's Restaurant & Brewhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing