We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could be a Gem if...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lubbock
Ranked #10 of 68 Hotels in Lubbock
Certificate of Excellence
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
80 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Could be a Gem if...”
Reviewed February 23, 2014

Pros:
Easy location on/off I-27 and back and forth to Tx Tech.
Nice lobby and entrance area.
Decent breakfast, need better choices for food though. Nice eating area.
Very wonderful night clerks.
Good parking, although situated next to a rather sketchy set of apartments.

Cons:
Worst beds ever! Like sleeping on concrete. Did not get much rest they were so hard. Back still hurts.
Was put into a handicapped room (?) on 1st floor. AWFUL!
Filthy bathroom, cheap, filthy, scratchy, abrasive and SUPER dirty towels and bathroom linen.
Bathroom has rust, patches in wall, tub/shower was dirty, rusted and moldy.
No toilet paper (?).
1 shampoo and 1 conditioner and 1 bar of soap for 2 people.
Super small tub, could not even fit in it.
Nice pool/hot tub area except hot tub was very dirty (READ: YUK.. CLEAN IT OUT ONCE A WEEK!).
Cobwebs all over the ceiling (cleaning lady apparently doesn't know how to clean and also very rude.)

COMPLETE TBE RENOVATIONS WITHIN THE ROOMS. ATTENTION TO DETAIL MAKES ALL THE DIFFERENCE IN THE WORLD! GET SOME NICER QUALITY TOWELS AND WASHCLOTHES. Supply rooms with adequate soap/shampoo/conditioner and TOILET PAPER. Better yet, HIRE SOME CLEANING STAFF WHO ACTUALLY CLEAN and then this place would move up the ranking quickly.


  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank txan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

430 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    242
    102
    50
    20
    16
See reviews for
191
68
20
94
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Alpine, Texas
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2014

I have tried several other places on I-27 in Lubbock, but since I tried the Country Inn and Suites, there's no point in going any place else. The service is always consistently good and pleasant. The rooms are always clean and well-stocked. Beds are comfy, breakfast is good. Lots of wall plugs for all our laptops and stuff! Have stayed here four times since August and will continue to stay here each time I visit my doctors in Lubbock.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gellaoui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocala, Florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2014

We stayed there with friends on New Year's Eve and we were very pleased. They made sure to give us rooms neighboring each other. Rooms were clean, beds were comfortable and the stay was overall great!

Room Tip: King Studio Suite is awesome and affordable!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GSDLVR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
1 review
Reviewed December 11, 2013

The hotels along the access road look pretty rough - all except the Country Inn and Suites. I felt it was a step above the other hotels in the area and the lobby and breakfast room definitely felt more elegant than the hotels nearby. Good pick - Alecia, the night desk clerk, was a sweetheart to a very tired traveler -- was sympathetic and provided me a great room near the desk and lobby (I was a woman traveling alone). I can't say enough about how much this hotel was appreciated!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sonja H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2013

We were greeted by the sweetest young lady Friday afternoon. She is a big plus. This hotel is very overpriced for our stay. Our beds were made shabbily when we walked in, we had a room that had doors to adjoining rooms. We were not informed this would be the case. We could hear the people and their TV's from our room. We could here people in the halls talking, closing doors all evening. We could hear a lot of outside noise including the football game at Lowery Field. My son wanted to swim but unfortunately the water was very cloudy and dirty looking so we went back to our room. Really disappointed especially for the price.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Honeydoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roshan B, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lubbock, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
I'm very sorry your stay didn't go so well this time, however I do rest assure that the walls are very well insulated. Our staff is knowledgeable in moving guests to other rooms if they do not find it accommodating. Yes, Lowery does get pretty loud when we have amazing football games coming into down. Next time your in town please give me a call and I can personally be responsible for your stay and I can assure you it will be alot more pleasant.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2013

Stayed here for a couple of weeks of work in Lubbock. It's not really near much, but its a small town so the distance didn't bother me, but wish it were closer to the college night life. Breakfast was ok, but didn't really change much and grew old really quickly. Eggs and meats were of dubious quality, so I stuck with the oatmeal, which ranged in taste daily. Room was fine, cleaned well, but nothing exciting. View of parking lot.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jlaformab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roshan B, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lubbock, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
I'm glad you enjoyed your stay with us for a couple weeks, we are actually in the stages of revamping our breakfast selection which we do every year to keep it up to date so next time your here it should be a lot better with more healthier options. Hope to see you again next time and thanks for staying!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lubbock hotels
5.7 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#3 of 68 in Lubbock
676 reviews
5.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lubbock West
5.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Lubbock Southwest
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Lubbock
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Lubbock Windsor Inn & Suites
3.6 mi away
Overton Hotel and Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lubbock? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lubbock

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lubbock
Address: 5806 Interstate 27, Lubbock, TX 79404-5100 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lubbock)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Lubbock
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Lubbock
#6 Family Hotel in Lubbock
#6 Best Value Hotel in Lubbock
#7 Business Hotel in Lubbock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lubbock 2.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Country Inn & Suites of Lubbock offers all the comforts of home and we are here to provide you with a quality stay whether you are on your Lubbock vacation or if you are visiting Lubbock on business. Lubbock, the home of Buddy Holly and Texas Tech University, has plenty to do including watching Pat Knight's basketball team. If you want a flashback of history and innovative ideas, let us show you about the Buddy Holly Museum and walk of fame, the OmniMax or Science Spectrum Theater, Silent Wings Museum, or the American Wind Power Center is just a short hop & skip away. If you're into fantastic wine tasting during your stay at the Country Inn & Suites take time out to visit the Llano Estacado, Caprock or Pheasant Ridge Winery. If you are in town to see Mike Leach's football team play in the SBC Jones Stadium or Pat Knight playing basketball at the United Spirit Arena you will have an exciting treat in store for you. Lubbock is home of the Renegades, which is Lubbock's Professional Arena Football Team. Whether enjoying sports or Lubbock's fine arts and museums, make your Lubbock vacation smart and stay at the Country Inn & Suites Lubbock. Lubbock isn't just about West Texas BBQ, we have an exciting list of restaurants that will make your taste buds come back for more of our flavorful offerings. Remember you don't have to be Mike Leach or Buddy Holly, but you can stay revived at the Country Inn & Suites Lubbock. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Carlson, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lubbock reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Lubbock
Holiday Inn Lubbock
Holiday Inn Express Lubbock
Lubbock Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing