We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worse Stay Ever !!!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lubbock

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lubbock
Ranked #10 of 64 Hotels in Lubbock
Certificate of Excellence
Fritch, Texas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Worse Stay Ever !!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

The room stank, the pool was not heated as advertised and was not even close to clean and the jacuzzi was also dirty and did not even work..We tried to get our money back and leave but they would not refund our money...Never again !!!!

Room Tip: Don't choose any room, go somewhere else....
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rickytside41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

406 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    228
    97
    46
    20
    15
See reviews for
174
66
18
93
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Waxahachie, Texas
Level Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2013

The facilities are satisfactory for the price paid -- comfortable, uncrowded, satisfactory but otherwise "standard" continental breakfast included in the room price. Parking is good.

Watch, however, your invoice upon checkout! I booked the room online, got a confirmation of reservation and price in my email (fortunately!), and upon checkout I was charged $20 more than the price quoted when the reservation was made. Good news: the reservation portal contacted the hotel after my trip and they refunded the $20 plus the 13 percent tax. Bad news: I shouldn't have had to make the call to get this refund.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank William M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

My husband and I came to lubbock to relax and spend time together and thought the country inn looked very clean and respectable. we were wrong. The first thing we noticed was the beds. The bed had dark black hair behind the pillows and when we pulled the covers back there was a yellow urine stain. Breakfast ran about an hour late and we had to go back. The last straw was during breakfast. I got some orange juice from a glass and it was amazing until I put my mouth around a lip stick stain that was hardened on the glass. Very unsanitary

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank asinfueg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2013

Service was great . Curtains being hung that day caused the manager to up grade room! Appreciate that much. Pool & hot lovely. Breakfast wonderful service & server lady was absolutely most accommodating . A little dirty @ the front door ... Clean it up &. I will b back!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dcfeed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

Won't re-hash previous review but first time we were in Lubbock I booked the wrong Holiday Inn Express and was not pleased. Holiday weekend and pool out of order. On our return trip this weekend I specifically made sure not to book that hotel - decided to try Country Inn & Suites, as my sister works for them.

We walk in and I'm thinking "this looks very familiar". Would have never thought to CHECK IF THE ADDRESSES WERE THE SAME! Turns out CI&S BOUGHT the Holiday Inn Express!! My fault but talk about terrible luck :( It was the same hotel - and pool/hot tub STILL not working. Ugh. So frustrating. Memorial Day weekend and no one even in there attempting to fix it. There's a sign indicating you can swim in the cold water if you want. Fun.

If pool is not of importance to you, then honestly this hotel is ok. I can tell Carlson has made some improvement to the rooms and other interiors, and I really had no other complaints. BUT if you are looking to stay somewhere specifically with a pool/hot tub for you and/or your kids, do not stay here. I'm sure the pool issues have more to do with existing issues on Holiday Inn's end than Country Inn & Suites, but there doesn't seem to be a real urgency to get it fixed. I wish they would tell you this before you book, I really don't feel I should have to call a hotel and run down a list of amenities with them to see if they are working. Especially when it is a holiday weekend and lots of people are traveling. Just put a note on the website that the pool is currently out of order.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank dreamnofnyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2013

I changed my reservations from another hotel to Country inn and suites so my to kids could use the heated in door pool that they advertise. I had made the reservation a few month in advance and when we got there we found out the pool was broken and had been for more than a week. We were there for 3 nights and it never was fixed. We also had to wait for there breakfast bar every morning for 20 minutes or more, they were very slow to refill the bar. We were in a no smoking room but the mattress cover on the bed had a hole burned through it and when I told them at the front desk they said they would make a note on my account but made no offer to change it. I asked to speak to the GM but he was not there so I left my contact info, It been 3 days and I haven't heard from them.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Norman C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
31 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2013 via mobile

All I can say is the place is nice but housekeeping needs some help! Found Cheetos crumbs and a shot glass on the floor! Was not ours! No one was ever at front desk as guests and perhaps uninvited guests entered/exited!

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Terry K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lubbock hotels
5.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lubbock West
5.7 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#2 of 64 in Lubbock
4.5 of 5 bubbles 645 reviews
5.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Lubbock Southwest
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Lubbock
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Lubbock Windsor Inn
4.5 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Lubbock
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lubbock? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lubbock

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lubbock
Address: 5806 Interstate 27, Lubbock, TX 79404-5100 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lubbock)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Lubbock
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Lubbock
#4 Romantic Hotel in Lubbock
#6 Family Hotel in Lubbock
#7 Business Hotel in Lubbock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lubbock 2.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Country Inn & Suites of Lubbock offers all the comforts of home and we are here to provide you with a quality stay whether you are on your Lubbock vacation or if you are visiting Lubbock on business. Lubbock, the home of Buddy Holly and Texas Tech University, has plenty to do including watching Pat Knight's basketball team. If you want a flashback of history and innovative ideas, let us show you about the Buddy Holly Museum and walk of fame, the OmniMax or Science Spectrum Theater, Silent Wings Museum, or the American Wind Power Center is just a short hop & skip away. If you're into fantastic wine tasting during your stay at the Country Inn & Suites take time out to visit the Llano Estacado, Caprock or Pheasant Ridge Winery. If you are in town to see Mike Leach's football team play in the SBC Jones Stadium or Pat Knight playing basketball at the United Spirit Arena you will have an exciting treat in store for you. Lubbock is home of the Renegades, which is Lubbock's Professional Arena Football Team. Whether enjoying sports or Lubbock's fine arts and museums, make your Lubbock vacation smart and stay at the Country Inn & Suites Lubbock. Lubbock isn't just about West Texas BBQ, we have an exciting list of restaurants that will make your taste buds come back for more of our flavorful offerings. Remember you don't have to be Mike Leach or Buddy Holly, but you can stay revived at the Country Inn & Suites Lubbock. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lubbock reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Lubbock
Holiday Inn Lubbock
Holiday Inn Express Lubbock
Lubbock Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing