We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel, Close access to TTU, but away from the hustel and bustle”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lubbock
Ranked #10 of 68 Hotels in Lubbock
Certificate of Excellence
San Antonio, Texas
1 review
“Good Hotel, Close access to TTU, but away from the hustel and bustle”
Reviewed October 29, 2011

Great hotel for the money. Very large room, with fridge and microwave. Bed was a bit firm for my liking but it felt very new. HUGE(at least 42") flat screen TV, Wireless internet worked flawlessly. Staff very friendly and knowledgeable. Easy access to Highways and to TTU. Room was very clean. Good (free)breakfast in the morning

Room Tip: Try and get a room on the backside of the building if highway noise bothers you. AC/Heater makes the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

438 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    247
    103
    50
    20
    18
See reviews for
198
68
20
95
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2011

Stopped here after a very long day of driving. The staff got me right into a room despite not having a reservation. The room is large with refrigerator and microwave. The TV is not flat-screen. Wireless internet works great, even on the second floor. The room has a few cleanliness zings - dusty drapes, sticky spots on the carpet, stained grout in the bathroom. Otherwise very comfortable bed and chairs. Overall fine room.
Biggest negative is there are no restaurants within walking distance. After a long day of driving I did not want to get back into my car to drive to dinner.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lauriefoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amarillo, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed September 12, 2011

The hotel is nice and right off the highway. However, the surrounding neighborhood is not the best as I saw police arresting someone In the adjacent parking lot. I asked for a non-smoking room, but it was located on a smoking floor. Once out of the hallway and in my room the smell went away.

The room was very clean and the breakfast was great.

I would stay there again just not on the third floor.

Room Tip: If you are a non-smoker stay away from the third floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChinnTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingwood, Texas, USA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 20, 2011

At 7:00pm after a busy day moving our son into Texas Tech the room still had not been made up from that morning. Rather than apologize and take care of the problem the staff refused, and said that we had been in the room all day with the "Do Not Disturb" sign on the door...funny, the sign was not on the door when we opened it to go in for the first time since breakfast. Guess they don't teach customer relations in this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mom7134
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level 6 Contributor
245 reviews
160 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 268 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2011

Stayed here one night while in town on business. The location is good if you are looking for something away from the campus, on the Interstate and near downtown. Most restaurants and shopping are a few miles away. This is a typical Holiday Inn Express – you will get what you expect. The staff was very friendly – check-in went smoothly.

The room was spacious and everything was clean and in good working order, including the bathroom. The wireless internet worked very well and the tv had a good selection of channels. The bed and pillows were comfortable and provided a good night’s sleep.

The breakfast was typical – those pre-made omelets that look like tacos (I have finally come to a point where I can eat them if they are really hot!). The sausage links left a lot to be desired; the hard-boiled eggs saved the day from a protein perspective. Biscuits and gravy were average.

There is a small indoor pool that felt cool to the touch and a tiny hot tub that seemed somewhere between warm and hot – didn’t use either one.

If I could find a little nicer place at the same rate next time, I would likely stay somewhere else. However, you can’t go wrong here – this is a good Holiday Inn Express.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank toomuchtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
China Spring, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2011

Like being at home + more. Very very clean. Modern new decor and the warm choc chip cookies at ckin were yummmm. Thks Holiday Inn for the company facelift. Priority Club Member & Orange Lake owner. Congrats....

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lchatfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forney, Texas
1 review
Reviewed August 5, 2011

Upon arrival, the guy at the front desk was rude and abrupt - no social skills at all. The pool and hot tub were green and when asked if it was going to be cleaned, the answer by the rude guy was - the pool company put something in there to make it green! Hot tub quickly became roped off and out of order. Pools are supposed to be BLUE!!!!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tjbarger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lubbock hotels
5.7 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#3 of 68 in Lubbock
680 reviews
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Lubbock Windsor Inn & Suites
5.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Lubbock Southwest
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lubbock West
4.1 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Lubbock
3.6 mi away
Overton Hotel and Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lubbock? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lubbock

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lubbock
Address: 5806 Interstate 27, Lubbock, TX 79404-5100 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lubbock)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Lubbock
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Lubbock
#4 Romantic Hotel in Lubbock
#6 Family Hotel in Lubbock
#7 Business Hotel in Lubbock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lubbock 2.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Country Inn & Suites of Lubbock offers all the comforts of home and we are here to provide you with a quality stay whether you are on your Lubbock vacation or if you are visiting Lubbock on business. Lubbock, the home of Buddy Holly and Texas Tech University, has plenty to do including watching Pat Knight's basketball team. If you want a flashback of history and innovative ideas, let us show you about the Buddy Holly Museum and walk of fame, the OmniMax or Science Spectrum Theater, Silent Wings Museum, or the American Wind Power Center is just a short hop & skip away. If you're into fantastic wine tasting during your stay at the Country Inn & Suites take time out to visit the Llano Estacado, Caprock or Pheasant Ridge Winery. If you are in town to see Mike Leach's football team play in the SBC Jones Stadium or Pat Knight playing basketball at the United Spirit Arena you will have an exciting treat in store for you. Lubbock is home of the Renegades, which is Lubbock's Professional Arena Football Team. Whether enjoying sports or Lubbock's fine arts and museums, make your Lubbock vacation smart and stay at the Country Inn & Suites Lubbock. Lubbock isn't just about West Texas BBQ, we have an exciting list of restaurants that will make your taste buds come back for more of our flavorful offerings. Remember you don't have to be Mike Leach or Buddy Holly, but you can stay revived at the Country Inn & Suites Lubbock. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Carlson, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lubbock reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Lubbock
Holiday Inn Lubbock
Holiday Inn Express Lubbock
Lubbock Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing