We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Please stay somewhere else”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Super 8 Lubbock Civic Center North
Ranked #55 of 69 Hotels in Lubbock
Reviewed December 28, 2011

We arrived and initially saw what we expected, a dated construction that could benefit from some TLC, but not a problem. Then entered the small reception/breakfast area to check in, there was an overpowering smell of stale curry which was extremely strong, and I love Indian food, coming from the UK its our new national dish. The lady that checked us in was efficient, but not overly polite, there was no hello, please, thank you or have a nice day/stay etc.. and her appearance was rather shabby, more later. At this point we would have usually gone else where, but we had pre-booked and already paid.
We then entered our room, on opening the door we were met with a stale, damp, smoke smell, the previous occupants had obviously smoked and this was a non-smoking establishment, we left the door open for a while but it seemed to stay around.
The condition of the room and furniture was old and well used and whilst it was superficially clean it was in need of a thorough deep clean, the carpets had been vacuumed but were matted and sticky.
The good news was that the bed sheets had been washed and were clean (hence 2 stars rather than 1!), but they had several holes in and had passed their useful life and needed replacing.
'Free Breakfast' - well you get what you pay for - we entered the reception/breakfast area, and the curry stench remained which was not at all pleasant first thing in the morning, there were 2 tables with a total of 6 chairs, good job we were here relatively early we thought!
Yes and the coffee should be hot, but was luke warm at best, looked for a member of staff to ask for hot coffee, but no one around.....
What else was there, well 2 bagels and 3 muffins that had been cut in half, all looked rather stale so we passed on these, selection of 2 cereals and about an inch of milk left in the jug, still no one around to ask for more milk...
Orange juice was on tap so no problem here, until it tasted very sour and fizzy and was not drinkable.
Quickly gave up on breakfast and headed out, when we saw the member of staff that had checked us in the night before, she did not acknowledge us in any way and looked like a tramp, the oversized wooly jumper had a series of large holes down the front, it was difficult to comprehend why she would put this on to represent Super 8.
The good points, sheets were clean, room in the car park/lot and obviously the price, but do yourself a favour and check into as Best Western of similar, which we did on our return for similar price and totally different experience, professional & polite staff, very clean clean room, decent furniture, fresh breakfast, the manager just cared and had some pride!

Room Tip: Use another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Samantha J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
super8civic, Manager at Super 8 Lubbock Civic Center North, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2012

Hello samj58: We apologize that your stay was less than satisfactory. We appreciate your comments and will build on them striving to provide the best customer experience and value that we can offer. Please give us another opportunity to serve your lodging needs.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (125)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

112 - 118 of 125 reviews

Reviewed September 10, 2011

I stayed here with my mother for one night driving through Lubbock. The room was clean, very fresh, no smell to speak of, very pleasant. The TV and Wifi worked well and there was a nice little fridge. This may not be the newest motel in Lubbock but we had nothing to complain about. Very nice and comfortable. I would definitely go back and would recommend this Super 8 to a friend. Breakfast was pretty skimpy, just cereal and bagels, but that's what you get for $49.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jamie s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2011

They were so kind. They let us check in early in order to prepare for a wedding. The next morning before 6:30 breakfast time, they gave us muffins to take along! It was a very clean room and the mattresses were great. Plenty of towels. The location was perfect for us to attend our wedding at the civic center. Right on the street of main things needed. We definitely recommend it as a good place to stay at a good price!

Room Tip: It was a very quiet room. Ask for #111.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oteka81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2011

Just Average Super 8, close to a busy part of Lubbock.
Pros: Cheap, around 50$. Clean. OK part of town, close to walmart and restaurants. Micro/fridge in room. More of a Motel than a Hotel, so I could park @ my door.
Cons: spotty internet connection. Small room. No ironing board. Just sort of depressing, and non friendly check in guy.

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank drivesquare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2011

We stayed here while attending a graduation at Texas Tech. We had 2 nights booked but the hotel was so bad that we left a day early! As we had an unrefundable rate we had to eat the cost of the second night. Even at that I believe we came out ahead. The room was filthy. The towels were threadbare and there weren't enough to go around. The bathroom light fixtures didn't have any covers on them and dust and dirt was hanging out of them. jThe bed was uncomfortable and the pillows were flat. There weren't enough parking spots in the hotel parking lot and we ended up parking on a side street. I will never book another Super 8 because of this stay!

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank redwingrider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2009

For $50 including tax this hotel is great value for travelers on a budget. I am sitting in a clean and comfortable room with multi channet TV and free wi-fi internet access. The bathroom is spotless. Some of the equipment is not new but what do we expect at this price? There are restaurants across the street and I had a great catfish dinner for $7 plus tax and a free drink as a welcome to Lubbock. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chris_stern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2008

This is the Super 8 located near the Civic Center. It was the nastiest, filthiest motel I have ever stayed in. When we first walked in the smell of mold coming from the air conditioner was enough to make us vomit, but that was not the end of it: there was a used Q-tip in the desk drawer, dried urine on the side of the tub, brown crusty crap on the blankets, stains on the carpets. The lamps on the wall between the beds did not work, the lamp on the wall behind the TV was missing a bulb. The coffee maker had a rusty hot plate. And this was not the end of it: breakfast that morning was awful to say the least! Stale cereal, warm milk, no juice, and harder than rocks bagels! If your looking to stay at a motel near the Civic, I suggest that you steer very clear of this one!!

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LBKlilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lubbock hotels
4.5 mi away
Studio 6 Lubbock TX
Studio 6 Lubbock TX
#28 of 69 in Lubbock
218 reviews
4.2 mi away
WoodSpring Suites Lubbock South
3.9 mi away
Super 8 Lubbock TX
Super 8 Lubbock TX
#36 of 69 in Lubbock
591 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
My Place Hotel - Lubbock, TX
3.1 mi away
Howard Johnson Lubbock TX
Howard Johnson Lubbock TX
#46 of 69 in Lubbock
591 reviews
3.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Lubbock, TX
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Lubbock Civic Center North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Lubbock Civic Center North

Address: 501 Avenue Q, Lubbock, TX 79401-2611
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Lubbock
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 69 Hotels in Lubbock
Price Range: $55 - $73 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Lubbock Civic Center North 2*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Priceline, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Super 8 Lubbock Civic Center North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Lubbock
Super Eight Lubbock

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing